The interest rate for CPF Special, MediSave and Retirement accounts will

The interest rate for CPF Special, MediSave and Retirement accounts will rise from 4.05% to 4.08% in Q3 this year.

The Ordinary Account rate will remain the same: https://cna.asia/4aGpNo8

lol epf pays 6% on total balance since donkey yrs

they just started akaun 3 aka akaun flesibel - can withraw daily, up to 30k

That's wierd.

That is still very low

(29-05-2024, 07:15 PM)Bigiron Wrote:  The interest rate for CPF Special, MediSave and Retirement accounts will rise from 4.05% to 4.08% in Q3 this year.

I thought recently they said excess SA goes to OA

Meaning this only benefits those below 54 years old

The rest of those elderly can vote PAP OUT

(29-05-2024, 07:15 PM)Bigiron Wrote:  The interest rate for CPF Special, MediSave and Retirement accounts will rise from 4.05% to 4.08% in Q3 this year.

With govt’s efforts to boost retirement savings for CPF members, members will continue to earn extra interest on their CPF savings. Those below 55 years old will earn an extra 1% interest on first S$60k (US$44,460) of their combined balances. This interest is capped at S$20,000 for OA.

Members 55 & above will receive extra 2% interest on first S$30k of their combined balances, capped at S$20,000 for the OA, and an extra 1% on the next S$30,000. Big Grin

What happen to the CPF special account arhh?. They see want to close?.

If those above 55 have combined of OA and SA more than $70,000? Nothing?

(29-05-2024, 07:31 PM)SoundofSilence Wrote:  lol epf pays 6% on total balance since donkey yrs

they just started akaun 3 aka akaun flesibel - can withraw daily, up to 30k

It is not the percentage game it is how much the currency can buy goods and services for the same dollar. EPF is Msia MYR cannot F now one economic rice depends where you live easily MYR 8 - 10. So what if you got 6% can the increase buy more? If cannot then in a way you rugi more. But argue with ppl got face as 6 is bigger than 4.08 and those no brains cannot think further will agree.

(30-05-2024, 07:08 PM)Ola Wrote:  I thought recently they said excess SA goes to OA

Meaning this only benefits those below 54 years old

The rest of those elderly can vote PAP OUT

It's not excess SA. SA will be closed for those above 55

(31-05-2024, 11:38 PM)sgh Wrote:  It is not the percentage game it is how much the currency can buy goods and services for the same dollar. EPF is Msia MYR cannot F now one economic rice depends where you live easily MYR 8 - 10. So what if you got 6% can the increase buy more? If cannot then in a way you rugi more. But argue with ppl got face as 6 is bigger than 4.08 and those no brains cannot think further will agree.

The return of 6% has to be compared with inflation in Malaysia.

If there is zero inflation, 6% is very good ....if there is 7% inflation 6% is very bad.

Malaysia inflation rate is 2.49% in 2023.
Singapore inflation rate is 4.8% in 2023.

That 6% is good  vs 4% we get because it beats inflation there  more.

As for fall of MYR vs SGD. The currency exchange is only relevant when people travel across borders to spend. 
If you are a Malaysian spending your MYR in Malaysia you are affected only by inflation rate in Malaysia.

Now what...

Inflation last Yr 4.8%

They give you 4.0% ....

Do you realise it is a negative real return and your money has shrunk.

The most logical economic decision is to take this money and spend in Malaysia.

(31-05-2024, 11:38 PM)sgh Wrote:  It is not the percentage game it is how much the currency can buy goods and services for the same dollar. EPF is Msia MYR cannot F now one economic rice depends where you live easily MYR 8 - 10. So what if you got 6% can the increase buy more? If cannot then in a way you rugi more. But argue with ppl got face as 6 is bigger than 4.08 and those no brains cannot think further will agree.

u know why sinkies go jb buy things??

Vote them out!

(01-06-2024, 02:48 PM)SoundofSilence Wrote:  u know why sinkies go jb buy things??

Becuz SGD big MYR small so spend until very shiok. Who ask MYR cannot F ? From last time bigger than SGD when Spore kena kicked out till now lose so much MYR really cannot F so alot JHK come here dig SGD gp back spend MYR and they are Msian becuz they smart

(01-06-2024, 07:16 AM)sgbuffett Wrote:  The return of 6% has to be compared with inflation in Malaysia.

If there is zero inflation, 6% is very good ....if there is 7% inflation 6% is very bad.

Malaysia inflation rate is 2.49% in 2023.
Singapore inflation rate is 4.8% in 2023.

That 6% is good  vs 4% we get because it beats inflation there  more.

As for fall of MYR vs SGD. The currency exchange is only relevant when people travel across borders to spend. 
If you are a Malaysian spending your MYR in Malaysia you are affected only by inflation rate in Malaysia.

You talk a lot using official numbers but you are not at the ground level to understand the situation. My wife a former Msian now back in Msia to help out. Don't tell me official numbers come and post when you got Msian relatives or someone close to tell you their stories happening to them in Msia.

(02-06-2024, 12:35 AM)sgh Wrote:  Becuz SGD big MYR small so spend until very shiok. Who ask MYR cannot F ? From last time bigger than SGD when Spore kena kicked out till now lose so much MYR really cannot F so alot JHK come here dig SGD gp back spend MYR and they are Msian becuz they smart

its callled purchasing power parity

(02-06-2024, 12:41 AM)sgh Wrote:  You talk a lot using official numbers but you are not at the ground level to understand the situation. My wife a former Msian now back in Msia to help out. Don't tell me official numbers come and post when you got Msian relatives or someone close to tell you their stories happening to them in Msia.

The problem experienced by Malaysians is their income did not rise as fast as in Singapore.

There are many issues here we shouldnt mix every thing when we have a discussion....the buying power of money in a country is eroded by inflation. As the discussion is about EPF returns of 6% ...this return is higher than inflation in Malaysia. Whereas the 4+% received by Skngaporeans is below Singapore inflation. So the 6% return is far better than what we get.

Malaysia is a developing country and inckem there is lower....and grew slower than in Singapore.

As for official numbers...Singapore experience 4.8% inflation. For some

EPF Historical Rates

The last decade has seen fluctuating yet commendable performance from the EPF, with the highest dividend rates recorded in 2017 (6.9%) and 2014 (6.75%), attributed to favorable market conditions. 
Despite the impact of global and domestic market uncertainties on investment returns, EPF is still able to generate returns above 5.0% for the past decade.

Year Syariah Dividend Conventional Dividend
2023 5.40% 5.50%
2022 4.75% 5.35%
2021 5.65% 6.10%
2020 4.90% 5.20%
2019 5.00% 5.45%
2018 5.90% 6.15%

EPF is not fix at 6%. Fluctuating between 5.5 plus minus.
With the decades of unpredictable ringgit depreciation rate, it pulled down the 5.5% interest rate.

Definitely for long term retirement plan, CPF RA 4.05 plus % is a much reliable investment.

(02-06-2024, 10:35 AM)SoundofSilence Wrote:  its callled purchasing power parity

My English not very good now I learnt something new thanks for sharing

(31-05-2024, 01:04 PM)Tee tiong huat Wrote:  With govt’s efforts to boost retirement savings for CPF members, members will continue to earn extra interest on their CPF savings. Those below 55 years old will earn an extra 1% interest on first S$60k (US$44,460) of their combined balances. This interest is capped at S$20,000 for OA.

Members 55 & above will receive extra 2% interest on first S$30k of their combined balances, capped at S$20,000 for the OA, and an extra 1% on the next S$30,000. Big Grin

What happen to the CPF special account arhh?. They see want to close?.

This the CPF or the govt going to close the special account si-bo?...cannot pretend arhh.

https://youtube.com/shorts/vPEPFZ7TsJ4?s...JU70lQUl1r

(01-06-2024, 09:03 AM)FangFang Wrote:  Now what...

Govt may think is for abit to help ("but combined of OA & SA")... Bey hi-hay, me, only in hundred only, after all those $ is all gone into retirement account lahh, lehh. Rotfl

(02-06-2024, 02:32 PM)sgh Wrote:  My English not very good now I learnt something new thanks for sharing

lol not only ur england fail but also ur general knowledge

u cant even tell the diff between cost of living n interest rate

i doubt u even hv a basic grasp of compound interest

sinkie kgness n huris is nonpareil

but then again whats new??
yet hv the temerity to label others as no brain Rotfl  Rotfl

(02-06-2024, 12:17 PM)moonrab Wrote:  EPF Historical Rates

The last decade has seen fluctuating yet commendable performance from the EPF, with the highest dividend rates recorded in 2017 (6.9%) and 2014 (6.75%), attributed to favorable market conditions. 
Despite the impact of global and domestic market uncertainties on investment returns, EPF is still able to generate returns above 5.0% for the past decade.

Year Syariah Dividend Conventional Dividend
2023 5.40% 5.50%
2022 4.75% 5.35%
2021 5.65% 6.10%
2020 4.90% 5.20%
2019 5.00% 5.45%
2018 5.90% 6.15%

EPF is not fix at 6%. Fluctuating between 5.5 plus minus.
With the decades of unpredictable ringgit depreciation rate, it pulled down the 5.5% interest rate.

Definitely for long term retirement plan, CPF RA 4.05 plus % is a much reliable investment.

they hv 2 types of a/c conventional n shariah

shariah interest is usually slightly lower
[+] 1 user Likes SoundofSilence's post