Any SGTALKER KOR KOR REMEMBER THIS PLACE?

[Image: Tofu-street.jpg]

Oppo hong lim complex lah, doufu street or something like that

(10-07-2023, 02:23 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote:  [Image: Tofu-street.jpg]

(10-07-2023, 02:38 PM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote:  Oppo hong lim complex lah, doufu street or something like that

Not GuChiaChwee meh?  Thinking

(10-07-2023, 02:40 PM)cheekopekman Wrote:  Not GuChiaChwee meh?  Thinking

About 200m away from chinatown mrt lah

(10-07-2023, 02:38 PM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote:  Oppo hong lim complex lah, doufu street or something like that

last time you at Tofu street do what?

Por dway.

(10-07-2023, 02:47 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote:  last time you at Tofu street do what?

My great aunt owned a few shop houses nearby. She's a pioneer in airbnb at that time.

In the early days most immigrants from china would settle at either 小坡 or 大坡 areas for weeks to months before moving on to other parts of the island. So these shop houses became their temporary accommodations.

(10-07-2023, 02:55 PM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote:  My great aunt owned a few shop houses nearby. She's a pioneer in airbnb at that time.

wow your great aunt so rich , now her kids also rich lor.

my grandparents live in a house now a shophouse. haha

(10-07-2023, 03:12 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote:  wow your great aunt so rich , now her kids also rich lor.

In f&b biz, factory owners, properties and a few academia. Overall doing ok

(10-07-2023, 03:12 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote:  wow your great aunt so rich , now her kids also rich lor.
Ultra rich aunt ok. .... Big Grin

(10-07-2023, 03:13 PM)XiXiPee Wrote:  my grandparents live in a house now a shophouse. haha

(10-07-2023, 04:18 PM)Huliwang Wrote:  Ultra rich aunt ok. .... Big Grin

he already mention the kids all rich also thanks to their parents.

You are right! Beancurd Street according to this NAS page.
Upper Chin Chew Street is now part of the Hong Lim Complex.

Do you know what is that tall shophouse further down on the right side of this street?
Think it should be 5-storey tall which is quite unusual for pre-war Chinatown shophouses.

https://www.nas.gov.sg/archivesonline/ph...50568939ad

(10-07-2023, 10:14 PM)sgxin Wrote:  You are right! Beancurd Street according to this NAS page.
Upper Chin Chew Street is now part of the Hong Lim Complex.

Do you know what is that tall shophouse further down on the right side of this street?
Think it should be 5-storey tall which is quite unusual for pre-war Chinatown shophouses.

https://www.nas.gov.sg/archivesonline/ph...50568939ad

[Image: Screenshot-20230710-232641-Chrome.jpg]

[Image: Screenshot-20230710-232546-Chrome.jpg]

You mean that white building? Looked like the now-defunct oub bank. Even the bus and traffic light poles looked the same

During that time only banks could afford to build such a building

I always thought uncle Sotong was the oldest forumer here. Looks like I’m wrong  Big Grin

(10-07-2023, 11:59 PM)TalkingRabbit Wrote:  I always thought uncle Sotong was the oldest forumer here. Looks like I’m wrong  Big Grin

The redevelopment of that area took place in the early 80s. So uncle quite old already. Were you still a xmm in secondary or primary sch then?

It will still be there if we are still part of Malaysia.

(11-07-2023, 10:02 AM)Alice Alicia Wrote:  It will still be there if we are still part of Malaysia.

It should be left untouched lah! Big Grin

(10-07-2023, 11:31 PM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote:  You mean that white building? Looked like the now-defunct oub bank. Even the bus and traffic light poles looked the same

During that time only banks could afford to build such a building

No. Your first pic was the view from Cross St looking towards South Bridge Rd junc n Peoples Park.

Pic 2 was viewing from the Cross St-South Bridge Rd junction itself towards North Bridge Rd with the OUB Bank at the corner (likely built in the 1930s).

The tall 5-storey shop house was at the Upp Chin Chew St-South Bridge Rd corner and can be seen in the 1920s postcard (below).
It has semi-circle shaped windows.

Was it your aunt's airbnb hotel? Smile

[Image: 1950s-NAS-OUB-Building.jpg]

[Image: 1920est-South-Bridge-Road-Mosque2.jpg]https://www.ebay.com/itm/256127724755

(11-07-2023, 12:24 PM)sgxin Wrote:  No. Your first pic was the view from Cross St looking towards South Bridge Rd junc n Peoples Park.

Pic 2 was viewing from the Cross St-South Bridge Rd junction itself towards North Bridge Rd with the OUB Bank at the corner (likely built in the 1930s).

The tall 5-storey shop house was at the Upp Chin Chew St-South Bridge Rd corner and can be seen in the 1920s postcard (below).
It has semi-circle shaped windows.

Was it your aunt's airbnb hotel? Smile

[Image: 1950s-NAS-OUB-Building.jpg]

[Image: 1920est-South-Bridge-Road-Mosque2.jpg]https://www.ebay.com/itm/256127724755

I think that entire row was redeveloped as hong lim complex. My grandaunt's shophouses were those 3 storey buildings, ground level were shops and upper levels for own stay and short term rental.