Why are people in S'pore generally so rude?

(27-08-2024, 11:15 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  I remember the day I was discharged from Mount Elizabeth Hospital after paying an arm and a leg for my gallbladder surgery. The doorman said: "Have a nice day, sir. Hope to see you again soon".  

Imagine a convict getting out of jail and the warden say that to him or her.

(28-08-2024, 02:04 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  I once held the heavy glass door open for an elderly woman walking a few paces behind me, when a teenager ran between us to sneak through the gap w/o a word of thanks. He even had a smirk on his ugly face; obviously pleased that he benefitted at my expense. He is likely to grow into a low SES adult one day.

School teach what is SES but not courtesy.

(28-08-2024, 03:37 PM)ArielCasper Wrote:  Imagine a convict getting out of jail and the warden say that to him or her.

Imagine a patient getting discharged from IMH and the psychiatrist saying to him: "I hope to see you again soon".

(28-08-2024, 02:04 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  I once held the heavy glass door open for an elderly woman walking a few paces behind me, when a teenager ran between us to sneak through the gap w/o a word of thanks. He even had a smirk on his ugly face; obviously pleased that he benefitted at my expense. He is likely to grow into a low SES adult one day.

I regret not slamming the heavy glass door in that teenager's face!

(27-08-2024, 09:20 PM)ArielCasper Wrote:  A doorman is paid or get tips, what did you pay the person who hold the door for you?

That's why I don't see the need to hold the door for the next person behind me lah! Big Grin He won't pay me lah! He may think that I kaypoh lah! Kindness can be abused and taken advantage of leh!

(29-08-2024, 05:58 AM)cheekopekman Wrote:  That's why I don't see the need to hold the door for the next person behind me lah! Big Grin He won't pay me lah! He may think that I kaypoh lah! Kindness can be abused and taken advantage of leh!

The other person thinking you either wanted to rob him or that you ve just been discharged from IMH.

He quickly hide his hand with gold Rolex watch in his pocket.

Often, the other person looking at you wanting to pick a fight - just like in jungle survivors.

That's why Confucius cannot live in Singapore

It's totally impossible for Confucianism to survive in such a high IQ money driven society

Example
Siblings fighting over late parents estate
Sick left to die alone in HDBs W/O care

worse is when one park in a valid parking lot but someone think they own it. they scratch your car. not just one side but on 2 doors so one got to polish or paint 2 and not 1 door.

also some sick people like to put screw into wheels in car park. put nails in some blue glue mass (so that screw sharp point up on the road for cars. and placing screw in rubbish chute area, pickup area etc.

singapore in deed got sick rude people. but are these just purely rude. may be the people in the industry at work to create more business?

wonder if there is a battery operated 360 camera that can be place in car to track these.

(29-08-2024, 07:55 AM)sclim Wrote:  worse is when one park in a valid parking lot but someone think they own it. they scratch your car. not just one side but on 2 doors so one got to polish or paint 2 and not 1 door. also some sick people like to put screw into wheels in car park.  put nails in some blue glue mass (so that screw sharp point up  on the road for cars. and placing screw in rubbish chute area, pickup area etc.singapore in deed got sick rude people. but are these just purely rude. may be the people in the industry at work to create more business?wonder if there is a battery operated 360 camera that can be place in car to track these.

As car ownership is limited to a mere 11% of the SG population, there will always be envious people around.

https://www.todayonline.com/singapore/ma...la-1939441

(29-08-2024, 09:35 AM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  As car ownership is limited to a mere 11% of the SG population, there will always be envious people around.

https://www.todayonline.com/singapore/ma...la-1939441

Reasons : The offender has a valid driving licence for donkey years but never driven a car b4

The Govt should abolish COE and free up the market so whether rich or poor can buy a car from car dealers at prices not artificially inflated..

It's fair that all citizens whether rich or poor must be given the rights..

All the rest to be fixed by politicians

(29-08-2024, 09:52 AM)Scythian Wrote:  Reasons : The offender has a valid driving licence for donkey years but never driven a car b4

I recall my days as a fresh graduate waiting at the bus stop 30 years ago. Whenever a luxurious car stopped to drop off a passenger, I would hear someone remark that the driver does not look anymore intelligent than him, so why does he deserve to own a car, while he (the guy at the bus stop) has to rely on public transport. The great divide between the "haves" and the "have nots" is clearly defined when it comes to car ownership in SG.     

(29-08-2024, 09:56 AM)Scythian Wrote:  The Govt should abolish COE and free up the market so whether rich or poor can buy a car from car dealers at prices not artificially inflated..
It's fair that all citizens whether rich or poor must be given the rights.. All the rest to be fixed by politicians

How about having more COE categories for 1.0, 1.3, 1.6, 2.0, 2.5, 3.0 and 3.5 litre and above? Then the PMEs on a tighter budget will compete with others in his class for the 1 - 1.6 litre category which the high SES would not be interested in.

try stepping in shopping at any unfairprice supermarket

the staff vendor supplier will just bulldoze their way while you looking through the shelves for your grocery shopping

excuse me/sorry is simply too expensive for them to open their golden cheesepie mouth to say

you are a customer and they are the employees

they jollywell can fuckup your day of grocery shopping while doing their work

how gracious can this society be?

singapoo's very own