Why are people in S'pore generally so rude?
27-08-2024, 05:57 PM
How often have you held the door open for the person walking immediately behind you, but did not even get a response such as "Thank you" for your considerate act? Most people simply look through you as if you are not even there.
27-08-2024, 06:18 PM
That’s true. After holding the door and waiting for them to go thru, I’ll say thank you, hv a good day
27-08-2024, 06:21 PM
(27-08-2024, 05:57 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote: How often have you held the door open for the person walking immediately behind you, but did not even get a response such as "Thank you" for your considerate act? Most people simply look through you as if you are not even there.
Why must you hold the door for the person behind you leh? You might be treated as a doorman lah! Must you thank the doorman leh? That's his job lah!
27-08-2024, 06:42 PM
Learning to be aggressive from politicians
Draw sword draw blood
Learning to be aggressive from politicians
Draw sword draw blood
27-08-2024, 06:48 PM
Walked into HDB lift in the morning and wish someone "good morning" he looked at you thinking you just discharged from IMH
And (body language ) moved away from you.
Walked into HDB lift in the morning and wish someone "good morning" he looked at you thinking you just discharged from IMH
And (body language ) moved away from you.
27-08-2024, 07:05 PM
At my block, most people thanked me when I held the lift's door for them. But at other places, most people will just walk on.
27-08-2024, 07:09 PM
27-08-2024, 07:11 PM
Follow the leaders.
27-08-2024, 07:14 PM
27-08-2024, 07:17 PM
(27-08-2024, 07:05 PM)Levin Wrote: At my block, most people thanked me when I held the lift's door for them. But at other places, most people will just walk on.
I share the same experience as you. At my condo, 9 out of 10 people will thank me for holding the door/gate open for them. At my office building, it drops to perhaps 6 in 10. Outside of these 2 places, I believe only 3 in 10 will say thanks, smile or nod at my kind gesture.
27-08-2024, 07:21 PM
(27-08-2024, 06:21 PM)cheekopekman Wrote: Why must you hold the door for the person behind you leh? You might be treated as a doorman lah! Must you thank the doorman leh? That's his job lah!
Any person in his right mind will know that I am not the doorman, so it is basic courtesy to say "Thank you". When the roles are reversed, I make it a point to thank the person holding the door open for me, and he/she either breaks into a smile or says "You are welcome". A basic gesture like that can make the other individual's day.
27-08-2024, 07:30 PM
Saying Thank you is not Chinese culture lah.
It is the most cheapskate way to return your gratefulness.
大恩不必言谢lah.
Never say thank you to your parents. They are not your waiter or waitress lah.
Many ppl don’t know the actual meaning of 谢谢 in Chinese.
It is the most cheapskate way to return your gratefulness.
大恩不必言谢lah.
Never say thank you to your parents. They are not your waiter or waitress lah.
Many ppl don’t know the actual meaning of 谢谢 in Chinese.
27-08-2024, 07:41 PM
27-08-2024, 08:43 PM
came to this fückedup nation without a choice
been putting others before anything else
til the day everyone started to climb all over
thats the day for paying back with accrued interest
do good for others in singapoo is a straight hell NO
akin to
voted for the wrong party as they shall will impose policies that gonna screw your life
even the nicest people have their limits
had met neighbours who were barbarians bullies when was just a kid
now am stronger and bigger
and
now they are old and frail
and watching them turning timid is way more fun then watching a comedy
so think twice before you gonna harm hurt rude to others for nothing and or for your own enjoyment
been putting others before anything else
til the day everyone started to climb all over
thats the day for paying back with accrued interest
do good for others in singapoo is a straight hell NO
akin to
voted for the wrong party as they shall will impose policies that gonna screw your life
even the nicest people have their limits
had met neighbours who were barbarians bullies when was just a kid
now am stronger and bigger
and
now they are old and frail
and watching them turning timid is way more fun then watching a comedy
so think twice before you gonna harm hurt rude to others for nothing and or for your own enjoyment
27-08-2024, 08:50 PM
27-08-2024, 08:54 PM
27-08-2024, 08:59 PM
(27-08-2024, 05:57 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote: How often have you held the door open for the person walking immediately behind you, but did not even get a response such as "Thank you" for your considerate act? Most people simply look through you as if you are not even there.I do experienced this scenario many times. So, next time, no need to be so kind. But, I do held the door to let people in or out and also give up seat to elderly. Not all people appreciate kind gesture that others gave.
27-08-2024, 09:20 PM
(27-08-2024, 06:21 PM)cheekopekman Wrote: Why must you hold the door for the person behind you leh? You might be treated as a doorman lah! Must you thank the doorman leh? That's his job lah!
A doorman is paid or get tips, what did you pay the person who hold the door for you?
27-08-2024, 09:21 PM
(27-08-2024, 06:42 PM)Niubee Wrote: Expect nothing when u serve others
Then hope you get someone who press the close button when you are entering the lift.. This one no one will expect you to do or say anything.
27-08-2024, 11:10 PM
(27-08-2024, 09:21 PM)ArielCasper Wrote: Then hope you get someone who press the close button when you are entering the lift.. This one no one will expect you to do or say anything.
Recently, I stepped out of a crowded lift to allow an elderly couple to exit. Before I could step back in, a middle aged man inside pressed the door close. I was really pissed off.
27-08-2024, 11:15 PM
(27-08-2024, 06:18 PM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote: That’s true. After holding the door and waiting for them to go thru, I’ll say thank you, hv a good day
I remember the day I was discharged from Mount Elizabeth Hospital after paying an arm and a leg for my gallbladder surgery. The doorman said: "Have a nice day, sir. Hope to see you again soon".
27-08-2024, 11:37 PM
need to restart?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZsqL5W-eRLo
28-08-2024, 01:26 AM
(27-08-2024, 11:37 PM)watchfirst9 Wrote: need to restart?
That was more than 50 years ago..
28-08-2024, 01:29 AM
Singaporean copied from one another
Monkey see monkey do
Reported World's Literacy Ranking dropped from 75 to 82 ranking.
Monkey see monkey do
Reported World's Literacy Ranking dropped from 75 to 82 ranking.
28-08-2024, 01:33 AM
Population growth from 3.5.mio to 5.9 mio people but not any wiser
Size doesn't matter
Population growth from 3.5.mio to 5.9 mio people but not any wiser
Size doesn't matter
28-08-2024, 04:45 AM
The New York Times
May 20 1982
"The Government of Prime Minister Lee Kuan Yew, disturbed by what it sees as a falling away from certain ancient moral values that are thought to be capable of protecting this modern city-state, has decided to revive the study of Confucianism.
Mr. Lee himself is believed to have inspired the plan. Once started in the schools, about two years from now, it would reassert values of filial piety, scholarly discipline, fraternity, decorum, integrity, a proper sense of shame and, perhaps, a moral obligation to enter government service so long as Confucianism prevailed in the state"
https://www.nytimes.com/1982/05/20/world...he%20state
May 20 1982
"The Government of Prime Minister Lee Kuan Yew, disturbed by what it sees as a falling away from certain ancient moral values that are thought to be capable of protecting this modern city-state, has decided to revive the study of Confucianism.
Mr. Lee himself is believed to have inspired the plan. Once started in the schools, about two years from now, it would reassert values of filial piety, scholarly discipline, fraternity, decorum, integrity, a proper sense of shame and, perhaps, a moral obligation to enter government service so long as Confucianism prevailed in the state"
https://www.nytimes.com/1982/05/20/world...he%20state
28-08-2024, 01:05 PM
28-08-2024, 02:00 PM
28-08-2024, 02:04 PM
I once held the heavy glass door open for an elderly woman walking a few paces behind me, when a teenager ran between us to sneak through the gap w/o a word of thanks. He even had a smirk on his ugly face; obviously pleased that he benefitted at my expense. He is likely to grow into a low SES adult one day.