Why is our garmen so sensitive of the term ah bu neh? Anything wrong?

My neighbour’s three yo son was enrolled in a certain garmen preschool child care
One day he and his wife were summoned urgently to see the school matron
Found out that the pre school is complaining that the son insisted on calling his Indian child care mate ah bu neh
When the teacher tries to correct him, the boy said at home his grandma refer to Indians ah bu neh
School matron wanted the parents to correct his son 
But my neighbour said, is nothing wrong
Ah bu neh means brother 
Besides what they did at home is none of school business
And besides how to tell his mother and all old folks not to refer to Indians as ABN
Few days later, he received an official letter telling him to ask his son to stop doing that or else he may have to leave the pre school
[+] 1 user Likes Bluebull's post

(15-10-2022, 02:23 PM)Bluebull Wrote:  My neighbour’s three yo son was enrolled in a certain garmen preschool child care
Found out that the pre school is complaining that the son insisted on calling his Indian child care mate ah bu neh
When the teacher tries to correct him, the boy said at home his grandma refer to Indians ah bu neh
Ah bu neh means brother 
And besides how to tell his mother and all old folks not to refer to Indians as ABN
Few days later, he received an official letter telling him to ask his son to stop doing that or else he may have to leave the pre school

I will say why so " sensitive " back in 50, 60s parents will say " hey if you don't behave Ah bu neh neh will come to catch u ' why that era never voice out your unhappiness?

Cannot call ABN then call ceca lor  Laughing

Orh Peh can or not ?

I think if you call kek leng kia should be ok Smile

(15-10-2022, 03:13 PM)p1acebo Wrote:  I think if you call kek leng kia should be ok Smile

Last time school day, I almost got into a fight for calling one kek leng

My grandma used to call them mangali

Actually ah neh comes from the word ‘annae' which means 'elder brother' in Tamil
But our hokkien old folks don't pronounce it properly
So becomes 'ah neh'
And because neh is same sound as neh neh pok (nipple)
So, eventually becomes ah pu neh neh
[+] 2 users Like Bluebull's post

(15-10-2022, 02:23 PM)Bluebull Wrote:  My neighbour’s three yo son was enrolled in a certain garmen preschool child care
Ah bu neh means brother 

Bullshit lah.. yr neighbor say ah bu neh mean brother..

https://youtu.be/yZTYFrb14WY
[+] 1 user Likes limpeh394's post

(15-10-2022, 04:17 PM)Bluebull Wrote:  Actually ah neh comes from the word ‘annae' which means 'elder brother' in Tamil
But our hokkien old folks don't pronounce it properly
So becomes 'ah neh'
And because neh is same sound as neh neh pok (nipple)
So, eventually becomes ah pu neh neh

So, we not only have ah neh or ah bu neh
There is also 
Mangali
Orh nan
Orh Puay
Kek leng
How to ban all?
Our old folks have been using these for ages
It’s the garmen that is racialising these words

(15-10-2022, 02:23 PM)Bluebull Wrote:  My neighbour’s three yo son was enrolled in a certain garmen preschool child careOne day he and his wife were summoned urgently to see the school matron
Found out that the pre school is complaining that the son insisted on calling his Indian child care mate ah bu nehWhen the teacher tries to correct him, the boy said at home his grandma refer to Indians ah bu neh School matron wanted the parents to correct his son But my neighbour said, is nothing wrong
Ah bu neh means brother Besides what they did at home is none of school businessAnd besides how to tell his mother and all old folks not to refer to Indians as ABN

[Image: ft3.png?strip=all&lossy=1&quality=92&ssl=1]

like that neh neh pok and wala neh shd be disallowed too

Ah bu neh means brother 

(15-10-2022, 02:30 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote:  I will say why so " sensitive " back in 50, 60s  parents will say " hey if you don't behave Ah bu neh neh will come to catch u ' why that era never voice out your unhappiness?

Abu NehNeh correct what!

(15-10-2022, 04:26 PM)limpeh394 Wrote:  https://youtu.be/yZTYFrb14WY

I've uploaded the same video but with a less offensive interpretation Big Grin

I just cal them ah- cha.

阿三kym?

I think the gov really gone nuts.
Reminds me of the time when delta came from India and for some reason the Entire Singapore cannot mention India and the place became "south asia"!
Perhaps next we need to change ang mo kio to something else. ang mo is insulting to the caucasians you know?
little india should be called little south asia!
[+] 2 users Like Truebluesg's post

SG is betting big on India.

Another China dream which will become Opasnie-25

ah pu neh neh sounds melodious
i like it.
https://youtu.be/-9qgXpEzWoo

I think if you call them pundek it will be ok Big Grin

(15-10-2022, 09:01 PM)p1acebo Wrote:  
This is hilarious. .... Rotfl

(15-10-2022, 03:13 PM)p1acebo Wrote:  I think if you call kek leng kia should be ok Smile

Try not to say this, it refers to Southern Indians, normally lower status in the chaste system. It may mean “slave son”

(16-10-2022, 07:17 AM)RiseofAsia Wrote:  Try not to say this, it refers to Southern Indians, normally lower status in the chaste system. It may mean “slave son”

Another version I heard was the name “Keling” came about because of conscript labour.  They were prisoners and because they were in chains, when they moved about hence the sound Kling Kling Big Grin

(16-10-2022, 02:03 AM)Niubee Wrote:  SG is betting big on India.

Another China dream which will become  Opasnie-25

Dont worry, this team will be kicked out 1 day. We need Global quality talents, not Global quantity trashes.

(16-10-2022, 01:38 AM)Truebluesg Wrote:  I think the gov really gone nuts.
Reminds me of the time when delta came from India and for some reason the Entire Singapore cannot mention India and the place became "south asia"! 
Perhaps next we need to change ang mo kio to something else. ang mo is insulting to the caucasians you know?
little india should be called little south asia!

But govt allow people to call Chinese like Chinaman, Ah Tiong, PRC, Ching Chong, 支拿人......

When we were younger we can make fun of all our races in sg without being politically correct Big Grin

A primary 6 schoolboy Ah Seng went home after school crying to his mother.  “What happened?” asked the mother.

“Today at school my classmates Ahmad, Ali, Roslee and me compare kkj in the toilet and all their kkjs were much longer than mine” sobbed Ah Seng.  “Is it my kkj very small?”

“No silly, of course not. It’s because they are all sixteen years old”.

Govt should look into the problems they made that eventually resulted in this unhappiness rather than evade it.
[+] 1 user Likes Wy:Nox's post

The problem is with ceca culture.  And the stuff about then coming and then later bringing their entire village along is true. I’ve a good ahneh friend (local) who is lucky enough to be trusted by them.  Or maybe they need his technical skills.  Any salary amount he asks for his projects he will get it.  Say like 16k upwards a month.  There are no local Chinese in his teams that he manages.  All ceca or tiongs only Big Grin