World Chess Championship.:Anyone going to RWS to watch?

The match starts at 5pm

Price abit steep. 

I thought if can approach one of the contenders to autograph my portable chess set will be worth the trip

[Image: glS7aaL.jpeg]

Live online

Chinese chess more interesting lah

Playing chess as a pastime and maybe can improve cognitive function, but what’s the purpose of becoming a master or to watch them play? Quite wasteful of time

Become IM then GM lor Big Grin

(11-12-2024, 08:11 PM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote:  Playing chess as a pastime and maybe can improve cognitive function, but what’s the purpose of becoming a master or to watch them play? Quite wasteful of time

Chess is not a "spectator sport" unless you are the parent of one of the players. It is marginally less boring than watching your steak marinate in sauces and spices for about 2 hours.

It is more exciting to play chest.

[Image: YdyNl8X.jpg]

What do you call chess players bragging about their exploits during rest breaks outside the hall at the World Chess Championship? Chess nuts boasting at an open foyer.

(11-12-2024, 10:07 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  It is more exciting to play chest.

you shd be the only player and always the loser

(11-12-2024, 10:13 PM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote:  you shd be the only player and always the loser

Even if I lose, I will still "win". LOL!

[Image: Booby-2.jpg]

13 game ended in a draw.
On 35th move Ding found the only move that did not result in a loss.

https://sportstar.thehindu.com/chess/guk...974350.ece

Sgbuffet I am a better chess player than you. What’s your FIDE rating? Big Grin

(12-12-2024, 07:22 AM)p1acebo Wrote:  Sgbuffet I am a better chess player than you.  What’s your FIDE rating? Big Grin

I have no rating only became interested during my NS days when nothing much to do.

(12-12-2024, 07:27 AM)sgbuffett Wrote:  I have no rating only became interested during my NS days when nothing much to do.

Hahaha I am also now unrated lah!  But during my young skooling days I reached 1700+ Big Grin

[+] 2 users Like p1acebo's post

(12-12-2024, 07:33 AM)p1acebo Wrote:  Hahaha I am also now unrated lah!  But during my young skooling days I reached 1700+ Big Grin

Impressive like this can beat ChessMaster 2000 at level 4.

My mum used to drive me around to participate in those CC tournaments. I won cash prices and trophies to her satisfaction. She was essentially a tiger mum too. Made us all learn the piano in case we did not excel academically. My dad more chill and borchup.

My sis went all the way to get obtain a LRSM and later a Masters in Business at NUS but it was all a waste much to the chagrin of my parents. She became a stay at home mum to educate her children. Another tiger mum! Big Grin

(12-12-2024, 07:43 AM)p1acebo Wrote:  My mum used to drive me around to participate in those CC tournaments.  I won cash prices and trophies to her satisfaction.  She was essentially a tiger mum too.  Made us all learn the piano in case we did not excel academically. My dad more chill and borchup.

My sis went all the way to get obtain a LRSM and later a Masters in Business at NUS but it was all a waste much to the chagrin of my parents.  She became a stay at home mum to educate her children.  Another tiger mum! Big Grin

Singapore now has 6 Grandmasters.

Chess is very much alive today in Singapore.

Used to be quite pathetic.

(12-12-2024, 07:48 AM)sgbuffett Wrote:  Singapore now has 6 Grandmasters.

Chess is very much alive today in Singapore.

Used to be quite pathetic.

I have played against Wong Meng Kong, Wong Meng Leong eons ago but lost Sad

The skool children of today are very much more advanced in chess openings and strategies.  My erstwhile chess kakis still play very Wednesday evening somewhere in the business district near shenton way Smile

(12-12-2024, 07:52 AM)p1acebo Wrote:  I have played against Wong Meng Kong, Wong Meng Leong eons ago but lost Sad

The skool children of today are very much more advanced in chess openings and strategies.  My erstwhile chess kakis still play very Wednesday evening somewhere in the business district near shenton way Smile

I remember this Beng Huat guy took over chess fed and lots of saga.

Not sure if you know him

(12-12-2024, 07:55 AM)sgbuffett Wrote:  I remember this Beng Huat guy took over chess fed and lots of saga.

Michael Siong Beng Huat.  He was gay and preyed on young skool boys in his younger days.  He was also SCF President at one point in time.  Passed away in 2019/2020. RIP.

(12-12-2024, 07:58 AM)p1acebo Wrote:  Michael Siong Beng Huat.  He was gay and preyed on young skool boys in his younger days.  He was also SCF President at one point in time.  Passed away in 2019/2020. RIP.
Yeah that's the guy. 

He was from this secondary  school called St Paul.

(12-12-2024, 08:01 AM)sgbuffett Wrote:  Yeah that's the guy. 

He was from this secondary  school called St Paul.

St Patrick’s lah Big Grin

Surprise surprise what are the odds of finding several chess enthusiasts in Sgtalk forum  Laughing

(12-12-2024, 08:02 AM)p1acebo Wrote:  St Patrick’s lah Big Grin

Thats the one.

You from that school also?

I ran the whole game 13 through Stockfish.

Most of the sme Ding was losing positionally.
He is very lucky to get a draw.

(12-12-2024, 08:14 AM)sgbuffett Wrote:  Thats the one.

You from that school also?

No lah!  And I am years younger than him hor Big Grin

Cannot say too much as the chess fraternity is small and can be easily ID’ed Laughing

(11-12-2024, 10:07 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  It is more exciting to play chest.

Nice titties Big Grin

(12-12-2024, 07:33 AM)p1acebo Wrote:  Hahaha I am also now unrated lah!  But during my young skooling days I reached 1700+ Big Grin

During my primary school days, I once finished 3rd in an inter-school chess competition, out of 4 players. LOL!

(12-12-2024, 09:10 AM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  During my primary school days, I once finished 3rd in an inter-school chess competition, out of 4 players. LOL!

Chess engines without openjng books respond to e4 using sicilian and french

[Image: Vky6hKu.jpeg]