Xi is seduced by a vision of greater isolation. A mistake that will make China poorer
25-10-2022, 09:50 AM
25-10-2022, 12:28 PM
25-10-2022, 12:36 PM
Very hard for a leader who surround himself with only his loyalist to embrace diversity...and to be open to alternative ideas..
25-10-2022, 12:37 PM
aiya some ppl like to open legs while some close legs, no need to kaypoh just let them be lah
25-10-2022, 12:40 PM
Anyhow use history ingredients to add into the stir. 
只知其一 不知其二。
Close door idea started from QianLong,
Why did he do that?

只知其一 不知其二。
Close door idea started from QianLong,
Why did he do that?
25-10-2022, 12:41 PM
if they want to be poorer that's aso their choice lah. why so many pdf want them to be rich?
25-10-2022, 12:44 PM
A line-up of world leaders going to meet him.
Vietnam no. 1 man going end of week.
Germany already booked.
25-10-2022, 12:45 PM
(25-10-2022, 12:36 PM)sgbuffett Wrote: Very hard for a leader who surround himself with only his loyalist to embrace diversity...and to be open to alternative ideas..
Was LKY sorrounded by his "loyalists"?
Did Biden pick his loyalists to serve in his team?
Is Sg having opposition MPs in the cabinets?
25-10-2022, 12:47 PM
Which party not surrounded by loyalist?
Stupid to think they are surrounded by oppies.
25-10-2022, 12:49 PM
25-10-2022, 12:53 PM
Ccp are the HJ of our era….history will show their arrogance greed and stupidity

25-10-2022, 01:03 PM
Isolation is not an option. BRI build infrastructure for others to connect to China. So what isolation are u talking..

25-10-2022, 01:06 PM
Toh Chin Chye, Goh Keng Swee and EW Barker dared to talk back against LKY when they felt they had a better solution or when they felt something not right. Nowdays all diam diam yes men only

Always fight lowball offers wherever you go, no matter what the weather, always bring your own sunshine

25-10-2022, 01:12 PM
丐帮帮主liao...
25-10-2022, 01:14 PM
(25-10-2022, 12:53 PM)pervertosan Wrote: Ccp are the HJ of our era….history will show their arrogance greed and stupidity
1 billion out of poverty. So what HJ scum like u talking about

25-10-2022, 01:19 PM
25-10-2022, 01:26 PM
25-10-2022, 01:31 PM
(25-10-2022, 01:19 PM)pervertosan Wrote: get a real job lah u ccp runner….keep posting all day wishing u are Winnie’s eunuch…winnie lift 1 b out of poverty?…keep having wet dreams
Facts is facts. U are spouting nonsense for the sake. Get a life..

25-10-2022, 01:43 PM
(25-10-2022, 12:45 PM)cityhantam Wrote: Was LKY sorrounded by his "loyalists"?That's why these people don't deserve respect! They simply nitpick but right in their backyard tonnes of skeletons buried!
Did Biden pick his loyalists to serve in his team?
Is Sg having opposition MPs in the cabinets?
Very well said - which country's leader will surround himself/herself with members of opposition parties!?
That's why these people The Talk Cock and Stooge gang and sgbuffet if you know NUTS please don't open your big foul mouth - instead of precious gems falling out, foul smelling garbage come spewing out!
Try to be smart alecky but becomes the biggest idiot in the room!
25-10-2022, 01:59 PM
Where's the proof that Xi is going for isolation?
25-10-2022, 02:02 PM
They don’t know China friends all are oil producing countries.
The west LL liao
25-10-2022, 02:06 PM
(25-10-2022, 12:44 PM)Migrant Wrote: A line-up of world leaders going to meet him.
Germany already booked.
Macron also going
[Image: https://i.gifer.com/7ZqO.gif]
25-10-2022, 02:43 PM
(25-10-2022, 09:50 AM)forum456 Wrote: https://sg.news.yahoo.com/xi-jinping-sed...33109.html
Rana Mitter is professor of the history and politics of modern China at Oxford University
For a writeup coming from a professor of a top global university, this is way below expectations.
Politics aside, I had expected a much deeper and holistic approach to describing what he termed as "greater isolation". Instead all we got were two opening paragraphs of History 101 summary followed by what is essentially a rant against the zero COVID policy for the rest of the piece.
The merits and costs of zero COVID are certainly open for discussion, but to just centre an entire argument around this idea that Chinese are no longer travelling outside due to zero COVID and therefore China is "isolated" from the world is lazy and sloppy.
The academia has long been prided as one of the most independent pillars of western society providing trusted thought leadership at a longer term strategic level as opposed to politicians and media reporters who tend to dramatize ad-hoc short term stuff. The fact that we are now seeing increasing politically charged gossip level pieces coming from the academia is a very bad sign of things to come.
25-10-2022, 03:17 PM
(25-10-2022, 01:06 PM)p1acebo Wrote: Toh Chin Chye, Goh Keng Swee and EW Barker dared to talk back against LKY when they felt they had a better solution or when they felt something not right. Nowdays all diam diam yes men only
I ALSO HEARD THAT ONLY DR GOH DARED TO ANSWERED BACK NEGATIVELY, DID NOT ACCEPT EVERYTHING WHAT LKY SAID
25-10-2022, 03:53 PM
Well, the new selection of winnie inner power circle do suggested that CCP has zero interest in developing AT land economy in coming decade, so the more worrying sign ish that he may be under the illusion that PLA ish indeed first world world class No3 most powerful (now maybe No2 liao since Russia army proven to sux) like little pink and war wolves are claiming, so will become overconfident and act irrationally like Putin did to start a war in the region to invade Taiwan.
Since their PLA already park themselves in SCS, if a war started we sinkie will be affected too, as their presence are already as good as just at the doorstep.
And to make matter worst, nao everyone around him ish consisted only of yesman but non-talented war wolves & paul lampard type so unlikely to give him genuine and wise advises.
So it may not be just close door to cut themselves off nia, if really so we should be celebrating and let AT die their own business. At least when Qing do so they are not aiming to dominate the world but ish really want to cut the world off. But in CCP case they maybe cutting themselves off to prepare for a war.
Since their PLA already park themselves in SCS, if a war started we sinkie will be affected too, as their presence are already as good as just at the doorstep.
And to make matter worst, nao everyone around him ish consisted only of yesman but non-talented war wolves & paul lampard type so unlikely to give him genuine and wise advises.
So it may not be just close door to cut themselves off nia, if really so we should be celebrating and let AT die their own business. At least when Qing do so they are not aiming to dominate the world but ish really want to cut the world off. But in CCP case they maybe cutting themselves off to prepare for a war.
25-10-2022, 04:41 PM
aiya whatever, it's still their problems their business lah.