Ya Kun Kaya Toast faces criticism after a 12.5% increase in the price of Set A

Ya Kun Kaya Toast faces criticism after a 12.5% increase in the price of Set A and allegedly up 31% from January 2021 as described by an unhappy Redditor commenter.

https://gutzy.asia/2023/12/08/ya-kun-kay...et-a-meal/
[+] 2 users Like Bigiron's post

You can don’t eat lah.
I am not a fan of Ya Kun.

The toast bread was totally different of what I ate when I was a little boy. The toast would have bread surface become slightly char tar.
Sometimes Yakun breads are very dry and do not have char tar at all.

Dont understand why so many ppl like to eat them.

[+] 3 users Like RiseofAsia's post

You all shd try Japanese toast bread if you come to Japan for holiday.
Thick and soft bread, with a small piece of butter is damn nice.
The taste of the bread was quite similar of what I ate during my childhood time.

[Image: IMG-2666.jpg]

How much Yakun charged ?.... Kopitiam $2.80 only
[+] 1 user Likes ysh02's post

Nevermind.
I don't eat there.

did YK point a gun at those ppl head force them to buy ?

For $6.30, I would rather have a proper meal with proteins and vegetables at the coffee shop.
[+] 1 user Likes Wy:Nox's post

Another greedy bastard....at 5.60 before the increase already so expensive. 
With the increase to 6.30 it is certainly blatant daylight robbery !!!

Avoid eating there, better still boycott the freaking chain.
[+] 2 users Like hansamu's post

Initially many kpkb but after some time, things will return to normal. Same for txxxxbox
[+] 2 users Like WhatDoYouThink!'s post

hope new competitor enter sg matket. price will determine these greedy people. boycott them.
[+] 1 user Likes jus4lucky's post

(09-12-2023, 06:21 AM)RiseofAsia Wrote:  You can don’t eat lah.

The toast bread was totally different of what I ate when I was a little boy. The toast would have bread surface become slightly char tar.

Am not a fan of Yakun and Toastbox.
[+] 2 users Like Gemstar's post

(09-12-2023, 09:53 AM)jus4lucky Wrote:  hope new competitor enter sg matket. price will determine there greedy people. boycott them.

Hawker centres and coffee shops selling such set at $2.90 to $3.

Seen at Ci Yuan HC.
[+] 1 user Likes hansamu's post

They can keep on increasing till they run out of biz. I have not patronized YK nor TB , not even once.🤣🤣🤣

[+] 1 user Likes surfer's post

(09-12-2023, 08:18 AM)Wy:Nox Wrote:  For $6.30, I would rather have a proper meal with proteins and vegetables at the coffee shop.

$6.30 is definitely not worth it. 

Time to skip YK for now and find alternative.

nudie

[+] 2 users Like Gstalk's post

They have a right to charge any price they want. Only poor people will complaint.

Why must yakun.
Normal coffi shops are equally good.
[+] 3 users Like Bigbluedot's post

(09-12-2023, 11:12 AM)mikotan Wrote:  They have a right to charge any price they want. Only poor people will complaint.

You mean we are poor people and rich people continue to eat there.....Poor people !

The only way to stop the increase is dun patronize them

There must be a nation wide concerted effort to boycott them.  If not, they will continue to be arrogant and adamant to keep increasing their prices. 

Seems like with social media still not effective?

For a start, one way perhaps to declare via social media...Sunday 10th December a "No  YK meal day".
[+] 1 user Likes hansamu's post

Simple meals, quite easy to make.

Coffee 0.2
Eggs 0.5
Bread 0.2
Butter 0.3
Kaya 0.2

Less than 1.50, at most 2.00. If troublesome, just ask siti or aminah make loh

(09-12-2023, 06:21 AM)RiseofAsia Wrote:  You can don’t eat lah.

Atas eating there.  Got class.
[+] 1 user Likes Goldmine's post

(09-12-2023, 06:54 AM)ysh02 Wrote:  How much Yakun charged ?.... Kopitiam $2.80 only

Ownself made even cheaper.

(09-12-2023, 10:10 AM)Gemstar Wrote:  Am not a fan of Yakun and Toastbox.

(09-12-2023, 10:21 AM)hansamu Wrote:  Hawker centres and coffee shops selling such set at $2.90 to $3.

Seen at Ci Yuan HC.
Actually, I don’t mind just drink only yakun coffee.

I don't eat at overpriced and hype up places like Yakun. Lousy taste also Big Grin

Toastbox beverages also increase 2 times already. No one talk?

Nowadays i drink from coffeeshop or hawker centre.
[+] 1 user Likes Sline's post

(09-12-2023, 10:31 AM)surfer Wrote:  They can keep on increasing till they run out of biz. I have not patronized YK nor TB , not even once.🤣🤣🤣

Me too
[+] 1 user Likes Ahnya's post

Actually those peepur who complain are the most bor liao.

Nobody force them at gun point to eat there. Want to eat there then don’t complain Big Grin

(09-12-2023, 06:16 AM)Bigiron Wrote:  Ya Kun Kaya Toast faces criticism after a 12.5% increase in the price of Set A and allegedly up 31% from January 2021 as described by an unhappy Redditor commenter.

https://gutzy.asia/2023/12/08/ya-kun-kay...et-a-meal/

Stop going there lah! Big Grin

toast box increased their coffee card too. now one cup 1.75 using their card. if 2 and beyond i think i will not drink le. either they up faster to stop going early or i decide to visit them in less frequent.

Heng my favorite breakfast meals are McDonald’s, mee siam and chee cheong fun.

And never ever bread butter kaya…. since skool days Laughing