You can't speak Good English or Mandarian in SG

I noticed IF seriously you want to speak Good English or Mandrian ,

either have to go oversea study , at USA , UK there and come Mandrain obviously at China.

I noticed those locals speak good english they used to stay at oversea taking their degree thus their spoken english is good.

LKY , etc you see they formerly study oversea , naturally their spoken english is good.

In order to speak good English or Mandarin you must not mix dialect, English, Malay and Mandarin in a single sentence…which is called language pollution
[+] 3 users Like lvlrsSTI's post

(04-12-2023, 01:11 PM)lvlrsSTI Wrote:  In order to speak good English or Mandarin you must not mix dialect, English, Malay and Mandarin in a single sentence…which is called language pollution

like that cousin of mine currently PR in Aust. Before he go Aust , spoken english not say good , tropical singlish english.
Ever since stay in Aust for years , now his spoken english like Aust , hey mate etc .

(04-12-2023, 01:04 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote:  I noticed IF seriously you want to speak Good English or Mandrian ,

either have to go oversea study , at USA , UK  there and come Mandrain obviously at China.

I noticed those locals speak good english they used to stay at oversea taking their degree thus their spoken english is good.

LKY , etc you see they formerly study oversea , naturally their spoken english is good.

I'm not from China cannot speak correct Chinese lah! Big Grin I also can't speak proper English because I'm not from England or America lah!

Once I tried to speak proper English when I was touring china.
Can tell some of the other members in the same group very piss off with me.
Probably thinking I very how lian.
So if we are with locals, singlish is OK.
If speaks like Angmo, they will say I eat too much kangtang.

(04-12-2023, 01:47 PM)Migrant Wrote:  Once I tried to speak proper English when I was touring china.

is all due to locals mindset. But irony , come PRC especially those from Beijing and Shanghai those educated ones. Their spoken English is better than us to be honest.

Why? Because their English teachers are from USA. This is why you see those PRC speak good english sound like American.
[+] 2 users Like [[ForeverAlone]]'s post

Why you want to spiak good english? Your clients wont do business with you because you cant spiak good english?

(04-12-2023, 02:05 PM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote:  Why you want to spiak good english? Your clients wont do business with you because you cant spiak good english?

Smile come ang mo clients have to speak like them mah, so got that " Bond "
just like come PRC clients , have to speak like PRC.

(04-12-2023, 01:11 PM)lvlrsSTI Wrote:  In order to speak good English or Mandarin you must not mix dialect, English, Malay and Mandarin in a single sentence…which is called language pollution

Hi Observer

Dialects
Notch dialect

Btw, Mandarin is also a dialect. It was chosen by the Chinese government to be the dialect to be spoken by all Chinese.

Cantonese lost to Mandarin by one point and that's because Sun Yat Sen said, buay yaokin, let's cast our votes in favour of Mandarin.

Otherwise all China will be using Cantonese to teech in schools, for government, for business, for social intercourse and sexual intercourse. Rolleyes

I am perfectly happy to speak Teochew. 
For the rest of my life in Singapore. 😊
[+] 1 user Likes moonrab's post

(04-12-2023, 01:47 PM)Migrant Wrote:  Once I tried to speak proper English when I was touring china.

If you can read Chinese, it's more fun touring China free and easy. It's very safe and the locals are very hospitable.

You can really take your own sweet time going here and there which I did. 

And you can take their public transportation like buses and metro (called MRT here), slow trains, express trains, HSR, domestic flights (I usually took China Eastern) and melt into the crowd, incognito, and nobody would give you even a first look because you look like them. 

The only place where you have to "own up" to not being a Chinese is at a Chinese airport.  Laughing

Why speak English when you touring in China? 🤣

[[ForeverAlone]] dateline='[url=tel:1701668458' Wrote:  1701668458[/url]']

like that cousin of mine currently PR in Aust. Before he go Aust , spoken english not say good , tropical singlish english.
Ever since stay in Aust for years , now his spoken english like Aust , hey mate etc .

I dunt think so, even for someone like Scythian who has been living in Australia for 10+ is still unable to construct a basic English correctly…for example,,he likes to say “they can’t able to do something”, this is totally wrong, only Ceca talk like that, he obviously failed his English for PSLE. You either say “they are unable to do something” or “they can’t do something”, NEVER EVER say “can’t able to do something”, correct? Rolleyes crying Laughing

(04-12-2023, 03:55 PM)lvlrsSTI Wrote:  I dunt think so, even for someone like Scythian who has been living in Australia for 10+ is still unable to construct a basic English correctly…for example,,he likes to say “they can’t able to do something”, this is totally wrong, only Ceca talk like that, he obviously failed his English for PSLE. You either say “they are unable to do something” or “they can’t do something”, NEVER EVER say “can’t able to do something”, correct? Rolleyes crying Laughing
Good English to FA is someone who can talk with angmo accent even with horrible grammar.    Big Grin

(04-12-2023, 02:23 PM)Oyk Wrote:  Laughing
sgtalk.net/User-Oyk loves CECA penïses

Thou shalt not take the name of the Lord-KILLjoy thy God in vain

(04-12-2023, 02:12 PM)Oyk Wrote:  Btw, Mandarin is also a dialect. It was chosen by the Chinese government to be the dialect to be spoken by all Chinese.

..... Rolleyes

Then Han leh? Is it a dialect?

(04-12-2023, 02:12 PM)Oyk Wrote:  Hi Observer

Dialects
Notch dialect

Btw, Mandarin is also a dialect. It was chosen by the Chinese government to be the dialect to be spoken by all Chinese.

Cantonese lost to Mandarin by one point and that's because Sun Yat Sen said, buay yaokin, let's cast our votes in favour of Mandarin.

Otherwise all China will be using Cantonese to teech in schools, for government, for business, for social intercourse and sexual intercourse. Rolleyes

In Singapore, dialects means Hokkien, Teochew, Cantonese, Hylam and Kek lah! Big Grin Only 5 types lah!

Ish true. I no speaking good engrish or mandarin. But I just show my sibei tokong kkj and get things done.

Sibei satki siboh Big Grin

(05-12-2023, 08:04 AM)p1acebo Wrote:  Ish true.  I no speaking good engrish or mandarin.  But I just show my sibei tokong kkj and get things done.

Sibei satki siboh Big Grin

Song Song Kau Jurong lah! Big Grin

(05-12-2023, 08:23 AM)cheekopekman Wrote:  Song Song Kau Jurong lah! Big Grin

My encik always say he take out his lancheow and knock us over the heads with it until concussion Big Grin

(05-12-2023, 08:27 AM)p1acebo Wrote:  My encik always say he take out his lancheow and knock us over the heads with it until concussion Big Grin

Did he ever or not leh? Thinking Just say only mah! Big Grin

(05-12-2023, 08:33 AM)cheekopekman Wrote:  Did he ever or not leh? Thinking Just say only mah! Big Grin

He damn jialat tarn chiak peng. When I ROD he refused to sign out my outpro documents until I buy he and his dept tea break ahhh Laughing

(05-12-2023, 07:47 AM)cheekopekman Wrote:  In Singapore, dialects means Hokkien, Teochew, Cantonese, Hylam and Kek lah! Big Grin Only 5 types lah!

I belong to a generation that heard my elders (now all dead) call Mandarin 国语。 They never considered Malay to be our national language. If the Republic of China called Mandarin 国语, they followed. Their conversations were always about Sun Yat Sen and Chiang Kai Shek, their heroes.

Btw, it's not five...there's also Shanghainese.  A very small community, so small that they didn't get noticed and so, not many peepur knew they were around.  My ex-neighbour was a Shanghainese family....not ex-neighbour as in someone who came a few years ago but over half a century ago.

Hokkien also has different sub-dialects, and the spoken forms are slightly different.  Like the high cholesterol dish "kway chap", some peepur pronounce it as ker chap.

Another ex-neighbour (more than 60 years ago) was a Foo Chow or Fuzhou migrant's descendent, and whenever he wasn't happy, or maybe it was his way of speaking, he would shout 七背 instead of 七拜.

PS:  Those Han characters don't make sense....I am only borrowing them to make the sound as spoken in the Fuzhou or Minan dialects, but basically, I am referring to Observer's daughter's abalone which he had been trying very hard to promote in his own forum here....with not much success due to its offensive smell.  Rotfl

Chap chye English plus mandarin plus dialects
Since it’s a multi racial country

Nice titties Big Grin

(05-12-2023, 09:41 AM)Oyk Wrote:  I belong to a generation that heard my elders (now all dead) call Mandarin 国语。 They never considered Malay to be our national language. If the Republic of China called Mandarin 国语, they followed.  Their conversations were always about Sun Yat Sen and Chiang Kai Shek, their heroes.

Btw, it's not five...there's also Shanghainese.  A very small community, so small that they didn't get noticed and so, not many peepur knew they were around.  My ex-neighbour was a Shanghainese family....not ex-neighbour as in someone who came a few years ago but over half a century ago.

Hokkien also has different sub-dialects, and the spoken forms are slightly different.  Like the high cholesterol dish "kway chap", some peepur pronounce it as ker chap.

Another ex-neighbour (more than 60 years ago) was a Foo Chow or Fuzhou migrant's descendent, and whenever he wasn't happy, or maybe it was his way of speaking, he would shout 七背 instead of 七拜.

PS:  Those Han characters don't make sense....I am only borrowing them to make the sound as spoken in the Fuzhou or Minan dialects, but basically, I am referring to Observer's daughter's abalone which he had been trying very hard to promote in his own forum here....with not much success due to its offensive smell.  Rotfl

OK lah thanks for your reply lah! Big Grin Now I know you better liao lah!

Proper English is OK.

I have a friend who went Australia for one year study and speak absolute Aussie accent with us. When we stare at him, he switch back to local.

Kiam tio pah his face.. Laughing

(05-12-2023, 10:15 AM)cheekopekman Wrote:  OK lah thanks for your reply lah! Big Grin Now I know you better liao lah!

So Waleneh, do you still want to speak good enlish to singkees especially old ppl? they may scold you lu kong simi lj, how?

(05-12-2023, 09:41 AM)Oyk Wrote:  Rotfl
sgtalk.net/User-Oyk的老婆人人骑