dont buy astrea 8 class A2 US$ denominated bonds

USD is dropping may go down to 1.30-1.32 u are now paying at 1.35
trump also in favour of lower interest rates

gold already took the Q rallying ystdy to >2400

Why, you want to be allotted more A2 issit? Laughing

(17-07-2024, 09:10 AM)p1acebo Wrote:  Why, you want to be allotted more A2 issit? Laughing

i m not buying A2

FYI CLOSING AT 12NOON  today NOT 9PM!!

Already closed. Want to buy also no chance. 

6% interest rate, where can you find such goodies in the market for the general public.

Buy more earn more

(17-07-2024, 12:11 PM)Stoki Wrote:  Already closed. Want to buy also no chance. 

6% interest rate, where can you find such goodies in the market for the general public.

Buy more earn more

(17-07-2024, 09:46 AM)talky Wrote:  i m not buying A2

Huat Ahhhh!!!!  Big Grin

I see it differently.  Since A1 and A2 and their risks rank the same ie pari passu, then the only concern for A2 is the currency risk, which I am willing to take.  

A1 at 4.35% not worth the extra risk.  But A2 at 6.35% more worth it. Re A1,  I would rather throw into Treasury Bills at 3.7% thereabouts than take the PE risks for paltry 0.65% more.  Chey… Not even another 1%  Big Grin

For A2, thrown in another 2% interest is more worth given the risks taken Laughing

(17-07-2024, 01:07 PM)p1acebo Wrote:  Huat Ahhhh!!!!  Big Grin

I see it differently.  Since A1 and A2 and their risks rank the same ie pari passu, then the only concern for A2 is the currency risk, which I am willing to take.  

A1 at 4.35% not worth the extra risk.  But A2 at 6.35% more worth it. Re A1,  I would rather throw into Treasury Bills at 3.7% thereabouts than take the PE risks for paltry 0.65% more.  Chey… Not even another 1%  Big Grin

For A2, thrown in another 2% interest is more worth given the risks taken Laughing

when us drop to 1.323 fr 1.35 will negate ryr extra 2%

i can slowly buy fr 1.32 to 1.30 in secondary market at  commission $8.80 from ifast or 0.08% or 0.06% from poems
u still get yr 6.35% interest

For those who still don't understand....

You get 2% extra for A2 right? Cos it's 6.35%.  Let's say for the 5 years holding period (actually A2 is 6yrs).  So 2% for 5 years is 10%.  So if even if you factor in about a 10% depreciation in the US dollar it will be about $1.215 thereabouts similar to the A1 payouts (cos you start from a higher base of 6.35%, and thus still got the 4.35% interests to play with).

Why I say it may be slightly better is because there is an extra 6th year for A2 (before redemption).  Of course can go up or down similar to 5yr period. That's the currency risk.  But remember, can go down, can also go up  Laughing Big Grin

Don't you think there is both default risk and currency risks?

Is it worth the 4%?

(17-07-2024, 06:32 PM)sgbuffett Wrote:  Don't you think there is both default risk and currency risks?

Is it worth the 4%?

The Astrea 8 A1 and A2 rank the same in the event of a default.  ie they rank pari passu.  So this time round for A2 there is the only added currency risk.  For me, it doesn't make sense to invest in A1 for a mere 4.35% when T bills is already giving 3.7%  For a paltry 0.65% to take on so much additional risk warrants a higher premium (interest rate).

If you then say T Bills is only 6 months duration, then I will ask you to look at the current SSBs or so, where the next 5 years about 3.19% interest.  Beri safe.  For so much additional risks re private equity funds, just a 1.16% premium is not worth the risk.  3.16% additional interest in worth the risk, but of course got currency risk lah.  No free lunch in this world Big Grin

(17-07-2024, 06:45 PM)K88 shu shu Wrote:  TS post with purpose: less competition so he can get what he wants.

That's what I thought too  Rotfl

Ok, back to my default slogan then.....

Nice titties! Big Grin

(17-07-2024, 06:45 PM)K88 shu shu Wrote:  TS post with purpose: less competition so he can get what he wants.

small fish like me how can i influence the application not even BB institutional investors

when interest rates drop is better to buy TTL to this astrea 2 as there is much more capital gain

If fifth year or sixth year they don't recall means your monies stuck and if sell at SGX not much volume or good price correct? This is 15 years bond no longer 10 years like previous tranche.

(17-07-2024, 08:40 PM)sgh Wrote:  If fifth year or sixth year they don't recall means your monies stuck and if sell at SGX not much volume or good price correct? This is 15 years bond no longer 10 years like previous tranche.

Keep in Astrea for 15 years at 6.35% is so much better than keep  for 30 years in cpf at 2.5%

tio boh

(17-07-2024, 08:58 PM)klat Wrote:  Keep in Astrea for 15 years at 6.35% is so much better than keep for keep for 30 years in cpf at 2.5%

tio boh

It depends now you how old. If say now you 50 five more years 55 liao still wanna stucked more than 5 years of buy Astrea 8 ?

(17-07-2024, 08:58 PM)klat Wrote:  Keep in Astrea for 15 years at 6.35% is so much better than keep  for 30 years in cpf at 2.5%

tio boh

And after the 6th year if they dont redeem the interest will be increased by 1% to 7.35%.

Huat ah

See lah, A2 super over subscribed. I only got 5 lots Sad

Folks know a good deal when they see one.

Those who got it, huat ah.

But then only for a few lots

Astrea 8 Pte Ltd received valid applications of over $763 million for the Class A-1 bonds and US$194 million for the Class A-2 bonds as at the close of offer at 12pm on July 17. This represents a subscription rate of 2.9 times for the Class A-1 bonds and about 3.9 times for the Class A-2 bonds. There were 27,287 applicants and 9,894 applicants for the Class A-1 and Class A-2 bonds respectively.

Warrau eh sinkies no stupid Laughing

(19-07-2024, 09:45 AM)Gstalk Wrote:  Those who got it, huat ah.

But then only for a few lots

I bid 25 lots A2 but only received 5 lots.  crying Rolleyes

(19-07-2024, 12:49 PM)p1acebo Wrote:  I bid 25 lots A2 but only received 5 lots.  crying Rolleyes

PATIENT!
when usd drop 2%  fr 1.35 to 1.323 in the next 6 mths u save ard sgd120 
moreover during this 6 mths u still dont get interest fr A2 BOND
maximize yr 1.35*400 = 5400sgd to put in other places to earn some interest elsewhere
u pay brokage commision of 8.80 to ifast  or ard 4sgd if buy fr poems

(19-07-2024, 02:19 PM)talky Wrote:  PATIENT!
when usd drop 2%  fr 1.35 to 1.323 in the next 6 mths u save ard sgd120 
moreover during this 6 mths u still dont get interest fr A2 BOND
maximize yr 1.35*400 = 5400sgd to put in other places to earn some interest elsewhere
u pay brokage commision of 8.80 to ifast  or ard 4sgd if buy fr poems

that swas the reason i did not buy a2 bonds

surprised so many follow kol/gurus recommendation to hook a2 bonds n complainig getting low allotment.

there must be a reason why astrea pay u 2%> instead of 1 to 1.5%>

(19-07-2024, 02:21 PM)talky Wrote:  that swas the reason i did not buy a2 bonds

surprised so many follow kol/gurus recommendation to hook a2 bonds n complainig getting low allotment.

during this 6 mths can already use 5.4k to but t bills or ssb not put in dbs at 0.05%!!!

Put into cpf only get 2.5%

WTF

(19-07-2024, 02:21 PM)talky Wrote:  that swas the reason i did not buy a2 bonds

See how you able to get it cheaperer as they are trading at a premium.  You prefer to pay open market price at $1.04cts instead of tikam more at $1 meh?  Rotfl

(22-07-2024, 09:39 AM)p1acebo Wrote:  See how you able to get it cheaperer as they are trading at a premium.  You prefer to pay open market price at $1.04cts instead of tikam more at $1 meh?  Rotfl

expected both 8a n 8b will appreciate 
question is 8b appreciate > but lose in ex rate
now is 1.34

(22-07-2024, 11:35 AM)talky Wrote:  expected both 8a n 8b will appreciate 
question is 8b appreciate > but lose in ex rate
now is 1.34

That is why it is better to get them at the start at $1. Now you need to pay a premium in the open market.  Premiums already can offset any differentials in ex rate.  Anyway, fluctuations are to be expected as long as they are traded in different currencies.  You got 6 years, can still go up or down Big Grin