geylang serai stall:We’re all losing money. Cannot cover costs,cannot even cover rent

Kebab seller Mr Hasan regrets taking up a stall at the bazaar. Pointing to the stalls next to his, he said, “We’re all losing money. (We) cannot cover costs, cannot even cover rent.”

Over at the neighbouring stall selling Ramly burgers, a worker echoed the same sentiment, “We regret taking it this year.” He said that it was okay in the previous years. Mr Hasan is paying S$25,000 in rent, while his neighbour is paying S$20,000.

Mr Muhd Ridzuan, who runs a stall selling burgers and fried snacks, said that at the 2019 bazaar, he saw snaking queues unlike this year.

Another kebab seller, Mr Essam Ezz, estimated that 85 per cent of his earnings will go towards paying rent. He is paying about S$30,000 –  three times what he would pay at other night markets, he said.

More at https://www.bannedsite.com/forum/chillin...ompetition
[+] 6 users Like pinkypanther's post

(08-04-2023, 10:21 PM)pinkypanther Wrote:  Kebab seller Mr Hasan regrets taking up a stall at the bazaar. Pointing to the stalls next to his, he said, “We’re all losing money. (We) cannot cover costs, cannot even cover rent.”

Over at the neighbouring stall selling Ramly burgers, a worker echoed the same sentiment, “We regret taking it this year.” He said that it was okay in the previous years. Mr Hasan is paying S$25,000 in rent, while his neighbour is paying S$20,000.

Mr Muhd Ridzuan, who runs a stall selling burgers and fried snacks, said that at the 2019 bazaar, he saw snaking queues unlike this year.

Another kebab seller, Mr Essam Ezz, estimated that 85 per cent of his earnings will go towards paying rent. He is paying about S$30,000 –  three times what he would pay at other night markets, he said.

The food vendors bid for the stalls, who to blame for their misfortune..................... Big Grin
[+] 2 users Like debono's post

they also quite pitiful lah

(08-04-2023, 10:30 PM)pinkypanther Wrote:  they also quite pitiful lah

The food vendors did not do their math...................... Big Grin

[Image: nudie.gif]

whereas ST report they profit back the rental price " so call some "

Things sold at pasar malam and tentage stalls are usually more expensive than supermarkets. Should avoid patronizing them, as the food sold are usually unhygienic due to the setup being temporary and are usually lacking in many aspect.
[+] 2 users Like Instinct's post

(08-04-2023, 10:21 PM)pinkypanther Wrote:  Kebab seller Mr Hasan regrets taking up a stall at the bazaar. Pointing to the stalls next to his, he said, “We’re all losing money. (We) cannot cover costs, cannot even cover rent.”

only when they personally suffer................then they feel the folly of voting for PAP's landlord mentality.............. Cool
[+] 1 user Likes Napoleon Porlumpar's post

(08-04-2023, 10:51 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote:  whereas ST report they profit back the rental price " so call some "

you believe the toilet times???

Organizeralready collected 600x10K average 6million liao. Lol..

When earning so well just pretend and diam diam.
Lol

i ate one chicken Kebab $5, just normal. Many Fusion food which are crappy and not good for health.

Frankly, the Geylang Serai stalls serve such pathetic Raya fare compared to what I had during past Ramadan food markets in KL.

They are greedy, hoping to make big bulks. Consumers are not stupid. They are already tightening their belts!

[+] 1 user Likes Fit's post

Whose fault leh?  Thinking Who did you vote for leh? Who is the MP there leh?

笨就是笨。 Better go look for the Mayor from Geylang Serai for help. The rental contract is tender out by the CCC there, then the top bidder rent to these people.

Who ask those muds to bid high high?

I thought some youtube interviewed was OK and cheaper.. so confusing

(09-04-2023, 12:11 AM)Sickwarfare Wrote:  you believe the toilet times???

ST=  Smelly Toilet? 

PAP Association collected Bid for the Geylang Serai Pasar Malam in year 2022

assuming for 2023 also

Does that piece of temporary use + renovation + maintenance cost $$6 Million??

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/c...stics-woes

[+] 2 users Like Ola's post

(09-04-2023, 08:55 AM)Ola Wrote:  ST=  Smelly Toilet? 

PAP Association collected Bid for the Geylang Serai Pasar Malam in year 2022

assuming for 2023 also

Does that piece of temporary use + renovation + maintenance cost $$6 Million??

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/c...stics-woes

That is their territory.

the malays not buying enough?

Mostly fried unhealthy food

(09-04-2023, 01:49 PM)p1acebo Wrote:  Mostly fried unhealthy food

Fried food cause cancer and people enjoy eating it all the time.

Do you know how often they change the oil? Never ever! No wonder the oil looks black black.

(09-04-2023, 01:58 PM)lvlrsSTI Wrote:  Fried food cause cancer and people enjoy eating it all the time.

Do you know how often they change the oil? Never ever! No wonder the oil looks black black.

And the food is not cheap too.  Yucks

(09-04-2023, 02:09 PM)p1acebo Wrote:  And the food is not cheap too.  Yucks

Yet they claim they are losing money. Rotfl

(09-04-2023, 07:48 AM)dynamite Wrote:  笨就是笨。 Better go look for the Mayor from Geylang Serai for help. The rental contract is tender out by the CCC there, then the top bidder rent to these people.

愚蠢就是愚蠢,不要试图表现得很聪明

I live around there

I also refuse to step in to walk- walk

because it is so warm, stuffy and unbearable

All out to make money by fleecing consumers. Good thing consumers wise up and hawkers learn a painful lessons. However Organizer still laughing all the way to the bank.
[+] 1 user Likes Instinct's post

Don't believe. Else no one will bid so high. Evading tax?

Who is evading taxes?