realized a large no of in their 30s
21-06-2023, 05:15 PM
gov wants no to increase GDP
21-06-2023, 05:20 PM
(21-06-2023, 01:01 PM)Tangsen Wrote: I am just curious why people do not wish to take personal responsibility instead of blaming others. If they are not capable, its their own fault, nothing to do with others.
Modi can replace our 50 Ministers easily
India starts IT Training in schools at 14 years old.
Tell us, how can 30,000 IT vacancies in Singapore compete?
This is PAP's fault
It is not the past 2 years we do not have enough IT
but for the past 15 years, we never once had enough
Can PAP really plan at all?
And please! IT in large companies and Mindef divided it into L1, L2 and L3
Surely, if planning was done 10 years ago
more L1 and L2 can be filled by us
21-06-2023, 06:28 PM
21-06-2023, 06:51 PM
(21-06-2023, 06:28 PM)Oyk Wrote: I agree many FT professionals are employed, while many sinkies like SgBuffet are not.
IT is a wide field. The problem with locals is not enough want to go into software development entire working life. Typically they only willing to do first few years then upgrade to do project mgmt or other work. Hence the software development role need to be filled and that is when FT like ceca come in to fill the void.
21-06-2023, 07:40 PM
(21-06-2023, 06:51 PM)sgh Wrote: IT is a wide field. The problem with locals is not enough want to go into software development entire working life. Typically they only willing to do first few years then upgrade to do project mgmt or other work. Hence the software development role need to be filled and that is when FT like ceca come in to fill the void.
You had just explained why we need all these foreigners. So it's not only the backbreaking work in construction, shipyard, roadworks or menial work like domestic help, cleaning which locals shun but also office based work in some IT sectors.
And the 39% pick on these and say CECA!
21-06-2023, 09:11 PM
I cannot comment too much as I was both in the commercial world and the institutional world. I can only say, SG now needs A LOT of AI and data scientist and every companies are scrambling for them like mad.
While the tech sector is retrenching, a company that contacted me also retrenching but they told me they are looking for at least 100 data scientists, AI experts, data analysts and data engineers for their expansion in SG. They have difficulty filling them up. And they are many of these companies across different industries.
Btw, these data scientists, AI experts, data analysts, and data engineers are mostly from PRC and they have multiple domains of knowledge like mathematicians, statistics with computer programming as well as data engineers. Many I know have dual or triple Masters or PHD or mix.
Singapore are not producing enough of them.
Btw, very little ganges sewage CECA baboons as they are only 1 dimensional so you see less of them.
While the tech sector is retrenching, a company that contacted me also retrenching but they told me they are looking for at least 100 data scientists, AI experts, data analysts and data engineers for their expansion in SG. They have difficulty filling them up. And they are many of these companies across different industries.
Btw, these data scientists, AI experts, data analysts, and data engineers are mostly from PRC and they have multiple domains of knowledge like mathematicians, statistics with computer programming as well as data engineers. Many I know have dual or triple Masters or PHD or mix.
Btw, very little ganges sewage CECA baboons as they are only 1 dimensional so you see less of them.
KTV妹妹说,香港人无义,台湾人无情,新加坂人无智
21-06-2023, 10:12 PM
(21-06-2023, 09:11 PM)Tangsen Wrote: I cannot comment too much as I was both in the commercial world and the institutional world. I can only say, SG now needs A LOT of AI and data scientist and every companies are scrambling for them like mad.
govt should not let these companies come to singapore because there no locals for them to employ.
they will end up employing foreigners/ceca.
we need companies to employ locals who can be trained and work in their companies.
we cannot have companies who cannot employ locals but want to employ foreigners/ceca.
the govt must fix this job problem which already happened since 20 years ago.
in other countries, companies cannot come and say no local talents and want to employ 90% foreigners/ceca.
21-06-2023, 11:13 PM
(21-06-2023, 10:12 PM)forum456 Wrote: govt should not let these companies come to singapore because there no locals for them to employ.
they will end up employing foreigners/ceca.
we need companies to employ locals who can be trained and work in their companies.
we cannot have companies who cannot employ locals but want to employ foreigners/ceca.
the govt must fix this job problem which already happened since 20 years ago.
in other countries, companies cannot come and say no local talents and want to employ 90% foreigners/ceca.
SG are not producing enough to these companies. So suggest what kind of companies or industries you want, what kind of jobs?
Dun just bitch whine and complain, suggest.
21-06-2023, 11:57 PM
(21-06-2023, 11:13 PM)Tangsen Wrote: SG are not producing enough to these companies. So suggest what kind of companies or industries you want, what kind of jobs?
Dun just bitch whine and complain, suggest.
you are on the right path.
this is a job for the govt and MOM.
if i need to tell them what to do, they should be sacked.
22-06-2023, 12:07 AM
(21-06-2023, 06:51 PM)sgh Wrote: IT is a wide field. The problem with locals is not enough want to go into software development entire working life. Typically they only willing to do first few years then upgrade to do project mgmt or other work. Hence the software development role need to be filled and that is when FT like ceca come in to fill the void.
It is because after 20 years of being a software developer, you are still a developer. Sinkie land is not like US when they value the experience of a seasoned developer.
20 years of software experience in Sinkie land, company will find you too expensive and bring in 2 or 3 CECA to replace you..
In fact, the same thing happened in most industries in Sinkie land, with the exception of civil service sector. That's why I am an advocate of outsourcing our civil service sector jobs so that fair to everyone. No one job is safe.
22-06-2023, 10:40 AM
(21-06-2023, 11:57 PM)forum456 Wrote: you are on the right path.
this is a job for the govt and MOM.
if i need to tell them what to do, they should be sacked.
Meaning .... you know fugg .....
Only KPKB ...whine whine complain complain ...ask come out solution ..... answer not my job
23-06-2023, 03:10 PM
(22-06-2023, 12:07 AM)ArielCasper Wrote: It is because after 20 years of being a software developer, you are still a developer. Sinkie land is not like US when they value the experience of a seasoned developer.
20 years of software experience in Sinkie land, company will find you too expensive and bring in 2 or 3 CECA to replace you..
In fact, the same thing happened in most industries in Sinkie land, with the exception of civil service sector. That's why I am a advocate of outsourcing our civil service sector jobs so that fair to everyone. No one job is safe.
A lot of ppl have the same exact thinking like you. But concern need to be flagged with the IT systems is meant to be used by SAF. Military IT system also outsourced give CECA do? They try locals but no one willing to do so in the end they outsourced to ST companies who in turn indirect can get non-locals to do subject to need to know basis.
Let's just say my current employer value old seasoned developer (lucky to find this employer) I agree. And also reason is legacy system maintenance work which new developers don't like to do as obsolete tech stack to learn no future prospects if they jump to next job.
23-06-2023, 10:30 PM
(23-06-2023, 03:10 PM)sgh Wrote: A lot of ppl have the same exact thinking like you. But concern need to be flagged with the IT systems is meant to be used by SAF. Military IT system also outsourced give CECA do? They try locals but no one willing to do so in the end they outsourced to ST companies who in turn indirect can get non-locals to do subject to need to know basis.
Let's just say my current employer value old seasoned developer (lucky to find this employer) I agree. And also reason is legacy system maintenance work which new developers don't like to do as obsolete tech stack to learn no future prospects if they jump to next job.
On yr first part, if you know this trade dun have prospect 10-15 yrs down the road, will you waste time in it. Of coz no. You got family to feed by then and the last thing you want is what I have described. Flagging of concerns, I am sure tons of ppl who have feedback, but does mom care. No.
If yes company value experience developer, good for you and that developers. Only when the young ppl see brighter prospects in the trade, then they will commit their career to it.
23-06-2023, 10:34 PM