Kiwi Fruits

Just bought 6 yellow kiwi for $6.95 at Sheng Siong.
Outside fruit stalls selling $2 each!

In China I bought 1kg nicely cut green kiwi for S$2 only! And it's not even sour but sweet. It's twice the size of those kiwis here.

Why the fark SG selling so expensive? Import from China is dirt cheap why get from NZ? Kiwis was introduced to NZ from China too.
[+] 1 user Likes Notdumb's post

(27-08-2022, 07:29 PM)Notdumb Wrote:  Just bought 6 yellow kiwi for $6.95 at Sheng Siong.

In China I bought 1kg nicely cut green kiwi for S$2 only! And it's not even sour but sweet. It's twice the size of those kiwis here.

Why the fark SG selling so expensive? Import from China is dirt cheap why get from NZ? Kiwis was introduced to NZ from China too.

For a period of time, NTUCFairprice imported kiwi fruits from China. Much cheaper than those from NZ

But they have stopped importing from China completely.

Wonder why???

(27-08-2022, 07:41 PM)cityhantam Wrote:  For a period of time, NTUCFairprice imported kiwi fruits from China. Much cheaper than those from NZ

But they have stopped importing from China completely.

Wonder why???

I recently discovered a new orange from Africa. It's slightly smaller than those Americans orange. Skin yellowish selling at 50c each. Not too sweet but I love it's taste! Much better than eating mandarin oranges.

[Image: IMG-20220827-200510.jpg]

image hoster
[+] 1 user Likes Notdumb's post

(27-08-2022, 07:29 PM)Notdumb Wrote:  Just bought 6 yellow kiwi for $6.95 at Sheng Siong.

The nz missionary took the seeds back then named it kiwi fruit
 Chao angmo always stealing and robbing people lands
[+] 1 user Likes Harry Lee's post

Maybe it is seasonal. Just checked and realised that it is harvest time now in China and there are many livestreamers selling this fruit.
And the large 120-140g "kiwis" are indeed bigger than those imported here.

Eg - https://live.douyin.com/63147963082
[Image: Screenshot-from-2022-08-27-22-24-01.png]

(27-08-2022, 10:00 PM)Harry Lee Wrote:  The nz missionary took the seeds back then named it kiwi fruit

really shameless. flgdogs never bark at this one

China KIWI ? please la....stupid...dunno got illegal pesticides or not

The nz missionary took the seeds back then named it kiwi fruit

(27-08-2022, 10:47 PM)Sharexchange Wrote:  China KIWI ? please la....stupid...dunno got illegal pesticides or not

I think cleaner than the leftover food u ate everyday lah.  Rotfl

(27-08-2022, 10:31 PM)sgxin Wrote:  Maybe it is seasonal. Just checked and realised that it is harvest time now in China and there are many livestreamers selling this fruit.
And the large 120-140g "kiwis" are indeed bigger than those imported here.

Eg - https://live.douyin.com/63147963082
[Image: Screenshot-from-2022-08-27-22-24-01.png]

When i was in Lijiang, around 5pm 1 farmer told me i can have a whole pail of mix fruits leftover from morning. Easily 10kg for rmb 10. He said he dont want to carry back the fruits.

I said i give him rmb 10 but only took the grapes. Balance find someone else.

why u ear kiwi
$1 one too ex

(27-08-2022, 11:16 PM)Talent Wrote:  why u ear kiwi
$1 one too ex

Do u know dinosaur eggs lagi expensive? 1 tiny fruit smaller than a kiwi is $2 each.

I saw china green grapes selling almost $9 for half a kg.

(27-08-2022, 11:09 PM)Notdumb Wrote:  When i was in Lijiang, around 5pm 1 farmer told me i can have a whole pail of mix fruits leftover from morning. Easily 10kg for rmb 10. He said he dont want to carry back the fruits.

I said i give him rmb 10 but only took the grapes. Balance find someone else.

Southern China has lots of fruits and prices should be the cheapest & taste nicest when they are in season.
Eg I find the Hainan longans to be very fragrant, something that I don't find in Thai longans that are sold here.
Hope China will reopen to foreign tourists by next Autumn.

great to have you back, bro............... Big Grin

i like green kiwi............i like sour fruits...........

i just do this for peach

[Image: peach-slap-butt-slap.gif]

(28-08-2022, 11:26 PM)Napoleon Porlumpar Wrote:  great to have you back, bro............... Big Grin

i like green kiwi............i like sour fruits...........

Last night ate 3....sour sweet, very nice.
Green ones too sour thats y cheaper.

KNN , China products!!.. You want to tio cancer??

(29-08-2022, 08:25 AM)ROFLMAO Wrote:  KNN , China products!!.. You want to tio cancer??

China people all died of cancer already?  Thinking  Rotfl

cheapskate DF….dont want pay for kiwi eat banana lah…kp what

(29-08-2022, 08:25 AM)ROFLMAO Wrote:  KNN , China products!!.. You want to tio cancer??

dun be too happy hor. those you ate hv residues of at least 6 types of pesticides

(29-08-2022, 09:23 AM)pervertosan Wrote:  cheapskate DF….dont want pay for kiwi eat banana lah…kp what

Aiyah everyone knows u suck angmo bananas lah. Rotfl

Have anyone tried Red Kiwi fruit before?

Most import are not so expensive. Supermarket want a cut, importer want a cut..... cut cut cut until so expensive.

8 red oranges at SS for $4.85
Wonder y got mixed with yellow flesh wan.

[Image: IMG20220829145311.jpg]

(29-08-2022, 02:55 PM)Notdumb Wrote:  8 red oranges at SS for $4.85
Wonder y got mixed with yellow flesh wan.

[Image: IMG20220829145311.jpg]

Verdict.
Red flesh tasted sweet but no orange taste.
Yellow wan quite sour.
So both not nice.

Those I bought at fruit stalls 1 for 50c are much better!

Same go to China Fuji Apple. Also not nice when you buy them in Sg.
Exported one always not so nice.
I think probably long traveling time and unable to maintain desire temperature for the apple to ripe properly.

those are blood oranges, orange hybrid with other citruses

In Sg, dont expect to eat nice fruits with reasonable price.

I ate strawberries in Japan and Taiwan were sweet. But normally you will eat sour strawberry in Sg.

https://www.zespri.com/en-SG/blogdetail/...-kiwifruit

I like to eat orange. I always dont eat them immediately after buying from the fruit stall. Will keep it in the fridge for 1 week before consumption. The longer you keep the orange in the fridge, the sweeter the orange it will be. But dont keep too long until the oranges become rotten.