How a Sub looks like when implodes under PRESSURE...

(23-06-2023, 05:58 PM)sgxin Wrote:  The glued carbon fibers may not totally disintegrate as can be seen with the oxygen tanks (below) that were tested to 1360 bars (1 bar = 1 atmospheric pressure).

https://dalmatianfire.com/fire-dog-blog/...-cylinder/

The hull is made with a combination of titanium and carbon fibre

Two disparate materials, a recipe for disaster

The fibre may disintegrate into strings, like vermicelli 

The titatium will be like shattered rocks and sand and pebbles of all sizes, I guess

(23-06-2023, 05:48 PM)Sentinel Wrote:  Did you even read what the experts say? 

Both links didn't claim to be "experts" leh.. In fact, both are clearly referring to the same US Navy report on its doomed nuclear sub Thresher which interestingly sunk with all crews lost from implosion 60 years ago in 1963... The closest reference to about the crew death is this claim - "implosion itself would have killed everyone within less than 20 milliseconds."

How do the US navy investigation conclude "20 milliseconds" claim  when none of the sub's sailor's bodies were ever recovered ?

https://www.usni.org/magazines/naval-his...d-thresher

(23-06-2023, 06:03 PM)Sentinel Wrote:  The hull is made with a combination of titanium and carbon fibre
Two disparate materials, a recipe for disaster The fibre may disintegrate into strings, like vermicelli 
The titatium will be like shattered rocks and sand and pebbles of all sizes, I guess

Doubt the titanium part got "shattered" according US Coats Guard official statement. Anyway, metals don't just break into tiny piece considering the spherial construct against external pressure...
..Five major fragments of the 22-foot (6.7-meter) Titan were located in the debris field left from its disintegration, including the vessel's tail cone and two sections of the pressure hull...

However there are question is raised about using carbon-fiber for its main cylindrical body - which is unique in submersible designs.

[Image: TITAN-Manned-submersible5.jpg?d=780x1109]

[+] 1 user Likes Manthink's post

(23-06-2023, 06:19 PM)Manthink Wrote:  Both links didn't claim to be "experts" leh.. In fact, both are clearly referring to the same US Navy report on its doomed nuclear sub Thresher which interestingly sunk with all crews lost from implosion 60 years ago in 1963... The closest reference to about the crew death is this claim - "implosion itself would have killed everyone within less than 20 milliseconds."

How do the US navy investigation conclude "20 milliseconds" claim  when none of the sub's sailor's bodies were ever recovered ?

https://www.usni.org/magazines/naval-his...d-thresher

You type the word and yet dun seem to understand its meaning : REPORT

In any case, their versions should be much much much much closer to the truth than what you posted

(23-06-2023, 05:51 PM)sgxin Wrote:  If the carbon fiber body didn't implode, sea water will gush in at super high speed (380 bar pressure).
As the lung collapses, temperature of the air within will rise rapidly like what happens in a diesel engine.
So the tissues around this compressed air pockets will be super heated even if they don't combust. This means a painful death if the collapse of the sinus air pockets on the front n bottom of the brain didn't send shock waves that liquefies it .

IMO, dying in the water will never be "instantaneous" - 60% of human bodies is water and all of us developed in bag of water before birth...

(23-06-2023, 06:33 PM)Sentinel Wrote:  You type the word and yet dun seem to understand its meaning : REPORT
In any case, their versions should be much much much much closer to the truth than what you posted

Errr...a REPORT based on zero-bodies recovered...

Anyway, you are entitled to your view as I am entitled to mind.

So why you got so triggered ?

(23-06-2023, 06:28 PM)Manthink Wrote:  Doubt the titanium part got "shattered" according US Coats Guard official statement. Anyway, metals don't just break into tiny piece considering the spherial construct against external pressure...
..Five major fragments of the 22-foot (6.7-meter) Titan were located in the debris field left from its disintegration, including the vessel's tail cone and two sections of the pressure hull...

I sincerely hope you type responsibly and make sure your vocab is up to the mark, or you would be misleading those who read you inadvertently, or is it deliberate?
So, tell me, how is the Oceangate Titan vessel spherical in construct?

[Image: TsGEPSs.png]

This is what we mean by Spherical, it does not look any bit like a Cylinder, like how the Oceangate Titan looks like

(23-06-2023, 06:43 PM)Manthink Wrote:  Errr...a REPORT based on zero-bodies recovered...

You claim that the 5 died suffering, a long-winded post that contradicts common sense and I supposed, meant to deceive? Yes? No?

You even talk about bodies to be recovered, which is pure nonsense

Listen, even without the catastrophic implosion, a human body cannot survive nor keep in form at a depth of 4000m because of the immense pressure 

Once released in such depth, it will be immediately compressed like a pancake, totally flattened and everything likely squashed and squished out, UNDERSTAND?

(23-06-2023, 06:43 PM)Manthink Wrote:  Errr...a REPORT based on zero-bodies recovered...

Dun twist and turn with me, I suffer no fools ok?

(23-06-2023, 06:44 PM)Sentinel Wrote:  I sincerely hope you type responsibly and make sure your vocab is up to the mark, or you would be misleading those who read you inadvertently, or is it deliberate?
So, tell me, how is the Oceangate Titan vessel spherical in construct?This is what we mean by Spherical, it does not look any bit like a Cylinder, like how the Oceangate Titan looks like

Simple - Titan has 2 hemispheric endings with a cylindrical non-metal has the main body.

The former is based on spherical structure - a common design for deep submersible.

Titan departs from that by splitting the spherical structure on both ends of the cylindrical main body

I supposed u missed the Titan diagI shared previously ? Rolleyes

Cannot imagine how they died, must be worst than final destination movie?

(23-06-2023, 06:58 PM)Manthink Wrote:  Simple - Titan has 2 hemispheric endings with a cylindrical non-metal has the main body.

The former is based on spherical structure - a common design for deep submersible.

Titan departs from that by splitting the spherical structure on both ends of the cylindrical main body

I supposed u missed the Titan diagI shared previously ? Rolleyes

And you still dare say the final design is spherical??

IAM farking glad you're NOT an engineer (I sincerely hope so, or many will die in your hands)

(23-06-2023, 06:55 PM)Sentinel Wrote:  Dun twist and turn with me, I suffer no fools ok?
Relax lah - your opinion is heard - So why would any one takes u as fool since u question my views ?
And in contrast to your emotional reaction, , I take your view  seriously - So much so I read up your "spherical" illustration which came from a research on a "structural design and analysis of a spherical steel submersible for three persons." This also hints the design of Titan maybe in question.
https://www.researchgate.net/figure/CAD-..._358541132

(23-06-2023, 07:02 PM)Sentinel Wrote:  And you still dare say the final design is spherical?? IAM farking glad you're NOT an engineer (I sincerely hope so, or many will die in your hands)
And I am glad you are not a psychotherapist Big Grin

(23-06-2023, 07:06 PM)Manthink Wrote:  Relax lah - your opinion is heard - So why would any one takes u as fool since u question my views ?

And on the contray to your reaction, , I take your view  seriously - So much so I read up your "spherical" illustration which came from a research on a "structural design and analysis of a spherical steel submersible for three persons." This also hints the design of Titan maybe in question.

https://www.researchgate.net/figure/CAD-..._358541132

I presume you have never come across this phrase : Suffer no fools

I show you the meaning:

[Image: CyvFSaG.png]

(23-06-2023, 07:02 PM)Pass-by Wrote:  Cannot imagine how they died, must be worst than final destination movie?

No matter how the 5 died, the problem now is recovering their remains will be almost impossible...+ deep sea animals will easily strip the bodies to the born very quickly...

David Lochridge, a former employee of OceanGate Expeditions who join the coy in May 2015 as an independent contractor before being promoted to director of marine operations had warned of safety design concerns about Titan. In a 2018 lawsuit,  Oceangate accused Lochridge of violating a NDA by divulging confidential and proprietary information. In a counterclaim, Lochridge said he was fired by OceanGate in January 2018 after he "raised critical safety concerns regarding OceanGate's experimental and untested design of the Titan."

[Image: NYPICHPDPICT000012961378.jpg?quality=75&...all&w=1024]

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/world/ti...lip_070214

I thought only EDMW got all kinds of expert. I’m surprise that SGtalk also so many expert.
[+] 1 user Likes Buffybuffy's post

(23-06-2023, 04:08 PM)Blasterlord2 Wrote:  At least they died fast, rather than cooped inside and suffocate to death.

How did you know that they were not cooped inside that pressure cooker leh?  Thinking Time  Clock was running out liao O2 level was dropping liao they knew they were dying liao leh! Confused You think they're not panic and kanchiong meh?  Thinking

The change in pressure likely knocked them out. Then the pressure will cause their body, vein to explode under pressure and bloated and blew up. All within the craft would likely be dead before they knew it and before the craft imploded..
[+] 1 user Likes Sticw's post

(23-06-2023, 08:46 PM)Sticw Wrote:  The change in pressure likely knocked them out. Then the pressure will cause their body, vein to explode under pressure and bloated and blew up. All within the craft would likely be dead before they knew it and before the craft imploded..

When you run out of breath you will faint also lah! Big Grin They could be unconscious by the time of implosion lah!

Someone had done a simulation and Titan supposedly could be crushed within 0.03s.
And the sudden compression of the air within heated it up to sun's surface temperature ( 5000 degC ?).

Seems like everything is not right for this company.

(24-06-2023, 01:42 PM)Pass-by Wrote:  Seems like everything is not right for this company.

Well, for a start, the coy's CEO surname is "Rush"....

From the looks of things, he seems to be in a hurry to get more rich client to sign on to his US$250,000 per ride to the Titanic wreck.

History has shown "rushing" in marine business can be dangerous...just like the Titanic that sunk rushing thru an ice-berg zone to to break record.

Rolleyes

(24-06-2023, 01:42 PM)Pass-by Wrote:  Seems like everything is not right for this company.
Ocean Gate to hell crying

(23-06-2023, 05:58 PM)sgxin Wrote:  The glued carbon fibers may not have disintegrated totally  as can be seen with the oxygen tanks (below) that were tested to 1360 bars (1 bar = 1 atmospheric pressure).

https://dalmatianfire.com/fire-dog-blog/...-cylinder/

This is interesting - did the Titan owner conduct similar pressure test on their carbon-fiber cylindrical main hull ?

(23-06-2023, 10:13 AM)Manthink Wrote:  DO NOT try this at home....

Wink

[Image: BrightForsakenAnkole-size_restricted.gif]

[Image: EvilGiganticHoneybadger-size_restricted.gif]

What you are showing is implosion at sea level for steel not submerged in deep waters which have enormous pressure exerted from all directions. The Titan sub with mainly carbon fibre hull with titanium end caps would be much worse as it would both implode and shatter into pieces with all occupants GG, which is why this material, despite its superior strength was never used in any deep-sea subs which can be certified.

For well-tested steel or titanium, once the structure cannot take it, you can likely start to see sections being deformed with possible time to react to surface up. For carbon fibre, once it crack, will jitao burst within within milliseconds with all the water rushing it, jitao hong kanz.

(26-06-2023, 01:04 AM)lioncityftw Wrote:  What you are showing is implosion at sea level for steel not submerged in deep waters which have enormous pressure exerted from all directions. The Titan sub with mainly carbon fibre hull with titanium end caps would be much worse as it would both implode and shatter into pieces with all occupants GG, which is why this material, despite its superior strength was never used in any deep-sea subs which can be certified.
For well-tested steel or titanium, once the structure cannot take it, you can likely start to see sections being deformed with possible time to react to surface up. For carbon fibre, once it crack, will jitao burst within within milliseconds with all the water rushing it, jitao hong kanz.

That is a demonstration of how a structural failure of a metal tank will be like.

Since pressure is relative, the outcome remains the same with rapid structural collapse.

What u have rightly pointed out is the use of non-metal carbon-fibre which unlike metal, will basically shatter rather than bent like the tank demo has shown.

(23-06-2023, 10:13 AM)Manthink Wrote:  DO NOT try this at home....

Wink

[Image: BrightForsakenAnkole-size_restricted.gif]

[Image: EvilGiganticHoneybadger-size_restricted.gif]

Children, don't play this at home lah! Big Grin

(23-06-2023, 05:46 PM)Manthink Wrote:  Just pointing out the obvious and sharing.  Cool

Not sure what got you so triggered. - Is it about the images or my opinions ?

Sentinel just wants to show he's better than u due to his overly inflated ego.  Laughing

(23-06-2023, 06:03 PM)Sentinel Wrote:  The hull is made with a combination of titanium and carbon fibre
Two disparate materials, a recipe for disaster
The fibre may disintegrate into strings, like vermicelli 

Recovered pieces from the imploded sub so far not like shattered like leh..

[Image: pieces-of-titan-submersible-arrive-at-st...s%2Cformat]