Threads: 829

Likes Given: 568
Price increase is of cos to be expected, but to increase by 20% or more? That's too much and next year will be worse.

Threads: 259

Likes Given: 1,345
(08-11-2023, 11:20 AM)Clyde Wrote: With tax increment and more monetary welfare to Singaporean, have they solved the problems that sgbuffett raised in this thread?
Has Pritam solved the issue in Parliament after all these years?
Why after so many years, Pritam still crying out in GE, WP still not ready to be the government of Singapore.
Not capable enough? Cannot do better than PAP?
Which opposition in the world, wanted voter's support, but don't want to rule?
Hmm....🤔
(This post was last modified: 08-11-2023, 11:27 AM by
moonrab.)

Likes Given: 10,923
(08-11-2023, 11:25 AM)moonrab Wrote: Has Pritam solved the issue in Parliament after all these years?
Why after so many years, Pritam still crying out in GE, WP still not ready to be the government of Singapore.
Not capable enough? Cannot do better than PAP?
Which opposition in the world, wanted voter's support, but don't want to rule?
Hmm....🤔
How can the Opposition Party Leader agree with PAP leh?

(08-11-2023, 11:32 AM)cheekopekman Wrote: How can the Opposition Party Leader agree with PAP leh?
They see themselves as co driver.
Not good enough to be the driver yet..

(08-11-2023, 12:21 PM)moonrab Wrote: They see themselves as co driver.
Not good enough to be the driver yet..
Pritam said that he agreed with Lawrence leh!
Sibeh jialat liao lah!

(08-11-2023, 12:26 PM)cheekopekman Wrote: Pritam said that he agreed with Lawrence leh! Sibeh jialat liao lah!
That's why I don't trust Pritam in solving Singapore issues.

Threads: 12

Likes Given: 6,872
(08-11-2023, 10:59 AM)Clyde Wrote: At least the opposition don't up all the taxes to trigger the chain-effect
(08-11-2023, 11:12 AM)moonrab Wrote: They can govern the country without tax increment?
While giving more monetary welfare to Singaporean without depleting our reserves?
Money comes from where?🤔
Yes. Raising tax is a need. But, must be rationale on what type of tax. Taxes like corporate earnings tax, income tax, rental tax, etc are reasonable, All these taxes, is it money not enough? Putting these aside, those COE and Singapore pools collections not enough? So, why must keep increasing GST? Increasing GST simply bites on commoners’ wallet and spike inflations. Adversely, GST and ministers pay shd be reduced. Disagree also must make sense.

The argument has digressed to "if PAP is not good enough, then can Pritam do better", but this is not the issue.
For me personally, I dun need PAP to be replaced right now because there is no better substitute. But they have done badly in recent years and this got to be reflected in the polls. It cannot be 30% of people opposed the govt yet the number of opposition seats in the govt is much fewer than 30%.
PAP's number of seats must be reduced so that they know they can't brush off people's dissent easily. Now their style is, "we've already explained why we need CECA and why GST has to be raised, if you can't accept them it's too bad for you". I'm not totally convinced of their defence in the Ridout issues as well.

Threads: 12

Likes Given: 6,872
(08-11-2023, 01:53 PM)Blasterlord2 Wrote: The argument has digressed to "if PAP is not good enough, then can Pritam do better", but this is not the issue.
For me personally, I dun need PAP to be replaced right now because there is no better substitute. But they have done badly in recent years and this got to be reflected in the polls. It cannot be 30% of people opposed the govt yet the number of opposition seats in the govt is much fewer than 30%.
PAP's number of seats must be reduced so that they know they can't brush off people's dissent easily. Now their style is, "we've already explained why we need CECA and why GST has to be raised, if you can't accept them it's too bad for you". I'm not totally convinced of their defence in the Ridout issues as well.
It shd be instead put it as “they hv done TOO badly.” The nos. of ministers and MPs are excessive. Many are doing duplicate functions and can be redundant.
(This post was last modified: 08-11-2023, 02:14 PM by
Gemstar.)

(08-11-2023, 01:53 PM)Blasterlord2 Wrote: The argument has digressed to "if PAP is not good enough, then can Pritam do better", but this is not the issue.
Maybe Pritam really can do better than Lawrence lah!
Never underestimate others hor!

(08-11-2023, 02:12 PM)Gemstar Wrote: It shd be instead put it as “they hv done TOO badly.” The nos. of ministers and MPs are excessive. Many are doing duplicate functions and can be redundant.
Definitely the number of MPs is excessive, ministers I'm not too sure. And the MPs are too highly paid for not doing much. There're many things that the govt could cut down on.
But I want to make one correction - it may not be true that 30% did not cast their votes for PAP means that the number of parliamentary seats the opposition should be 30%. But definitely the way PAP achieve this now is by skewed distortion of opposition's positions and by gerrymandering. Totally not acceptable to me.

(08-11-2023, 02:20 PM)cheekopekman Wrote: Maybe Pritam really can do better than Lawrence lah! Never underestimate others hor!
I didn't underestimate him as I've never brought up his capability as the point of discussion.
But personally, I don't think he's a good leader compared to LTK.