https://theindependent.sg/things-are-har...housewife/
Things are hard right now’ — Family pays S$4K/month
08-06-2025, 05:52 PM
‘Things are hard right now’ — Family pays S$4K/month house rent; their mum even struggles to return to the workforce after 15 years being a housewife
08-06-2025, 06:07 PM
Life becomes harder as cost of living rises.
Thise with high savings one million and above can stil be comfortable but for many lower middle and poor families life is difficult.
08-06-2025, 06:23 PM
$4k rental per mth is a 3- Room flat
And rental because foreigner or CPF not enough?
The father has to work and earn at least $6.5k per mth
to feed family of 4
Sack half the Mayors PAP Ministers
08-06-2025, 07:59 PM
(08-06-2025, 06:23 PM)Ola Wrote: $4k rental per mth is a 3- Room flat
to feed family of 4
Huh? 4k rental should be 4-rm flat and most probably 5-rm flat lah.
Here are some 5-rm flats at 4k or slightly above 4k rent at Old Airport Road (chose it as it is near to Nicoll Highway).
Link does not work unfortunately. Just go propertyguru to search lah. choose 3 bedrooms and Mountbatten MRT as filters.
08-06-2025, 08:05 PM
(08-06-2025, 05:52 PM)Bigiron Wrote: ‘Things are hard right now’ — Family pays S$4K/month house rent; their mum even struggles to return to the workforce after 15 years being a housewife
How come after so many years still renting?
08-06-2025, 08:10 PM
(08-06-2025, 06:23 PM)Ola Wrote: $4k rental per mth is a 3- Room flat
to feed family of 4
6.5K after deduct employer CPF, hardly can support 4K rental and expense lah.
especially children education and some like to travel beyond JB and batam.
Median income of PR is 10% above Sporean.
08-06-2025, 08:15 PM
If u want to pay urself millions at least don't let your people suffer like this la. Sigh.... Yum Kong lor. Cek ak cek ak... 朱门酒肉臭外有冻死骨
How to respect this type of so called leaders???????? Sigh
08-06-2025, 08:25 PM
some ministers said “ no one will be left behind”.
hope they can fulfill what they had promised.
08-06-2025, 08:33 PM
Hahaha hahaha
Hahaha
Sorry I don't trust lor
Hahaha
Sorry I don't trust lor
08-06-2025, 08:38 PM
No want will be left behind means you also have to play your part.
They provide opportunity, u must also work for it.
This world no free lunch.
08-06-2025, 08:51 PM
see lah, people become instantly defensive, once you marked their words.
08-06-2025, 08:52 PM
(08-06-2025, 08:33 PM)Rainforest Wrote: Hahaha hahaha
Hahaha
Sorry I don't trust lor
you are instantly right.👍
08-06-2025, 09:29 PM
(08-06-2025, 08:38 PM)Migrant Wrote: No want will be left behind means you also have to play your part.
Play your part to work until die lah.
08-06-2025, 09:35 PM
Now yunno why you shouldn't vote for pap?
They are the root of the problem.

08-06-2025, 10:23 PM
09-06-2025, 06:26 AM
Where's the father?
09-06-2025, 09:59 AM
09-06-2025, 10:27 AM
No other cheaper options for their housing ah?

09-06-2025, 10:47 AM
(08-06-2025, 10:23 PM)Migrant Wrote: I ask the same question.
When you get married, first thing is buy a house.
I personally know of one case where HDB owners were persuaded by agent to sell at "high price" and buy again when the price "drops"!

This family sold the flat and started renting until they have no more money and had to ask MP for help!
09-06-2025, 10:49 AM
09-06-2025, 10:51 AM
09-06-2025, 10:56 AM
(08-06-2025, 07:59 PM)Levin Wrote: Huh? 4k rental should be 4-rm flat and most probably 5-rm flat lah.
Here are some 5-rm flats at 4k or slightly above 4k rent at Old Airport Road (chose it as it is near to Nicoll Highway).
Link does not work unfortunately. Just go propertyguru to search lah. choose 3 bedrooms and Mountbatten MRT as filters.
Yes, possible. But if Semi- Furnished with washing machine, refrig . . .
Will it be $4k per mth of rental?
Sack half the Mayors PAP Ministers
09-06-2025, 11:40 AM
(09-06-2025, 10:56 AM)Ola Wrote: Yes, possible. But if Semi- Furnished with washing machine, refrig . . .
Will it be $4k per mth of rental?
I know of a 4-rm flat in Old Airport Road that has a rental of less than 4k with TV, fridge, washing machine, air-con etc. A friend of my mum's renting it out.
That's why I think her family is renting a 5-rm flat or the location is even better than Old Airport Road.
09-06-2025, 12:15 PM
(08-06-2025, 05:52 PM)Bigiron Wrote: ‘Things are hard right now’ — Family pays S$4K/month house rent; their mum even struggles to return to the workforce after 15 years being a housewife
Sounds more like their predicament is contributed in a big part to poor financial decisions. Renting a $4k flat does not sound logical when they are supposedly in a dire state.
A quick search on Propertyguru and I can see a lot of HDB 4R going for ~$3k+, one can even argue with just 4 persons, they should be going for a 3R instead which will bring rental rates even further down to $2k+ range. Sounds like they got a relatively expensive flat in a good location which is not what they should be doing.
I also applaud The Independent for actually bringing up the HDB Rental Scheme for low income families, they should explore this avenue as well.