my friend retired in BKK nao, he said mthy spend less than $1.5k

BKK condo rental $500 + mthly spending $1k
HDB lease out, CPF monies dun even need to touch

how is it possible ??
[+] 1 user Likes limpeh394's post

(19-11-2022, 12:36 PM)limpeh394 Wrote:  BKK condo rental $500 + mthly spending $1k

how is it possible ??

yes possible 
my relative  staying n working in thailand came back fr bangkok said root canal treatment <$500 
spore same treatment at least >1.5k
[+] 1 user Likes talky's post

(19-11-2022, 12:43 PM)talky Wrote:  yes possible 
my relative  staying n working in thailand came back fr bangkok said root canal treatment <$500 
spore same treatment at least >1.5k

This is true, root canal treatment here is expensive, as compared to dental services from BKK,,, Clapping

jb shd be cheaper. rent rm 1500, expenses rm 1500, total sgd 1000. easier to sg

(19-11-2022, 12:53 PM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote:  jb shd be cheaper. rent rm 1500, expenses rm 1500, total sgd 1000. easier to sg

JB visa only 30 days, Long term visa expensive and many conditons

while BKK can get long term visa using little monies and less terms and conditions

BKK condo spolit with choice, $500 can get nice and good condo

JB condo choice limited. 

There are at least daily 15-20 flights between SG-BKK, SQ alone operate 7 turnaround daily, not to mention Thai/MY and many budget. 

BKK has more life

(19-11-2022, 12:53 PM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote:  jb shd be cheaper. rent rm 1500, expenses rm 1500, total sgd 1000. easier to sg

jb is chicago of the east
even the locals there dont feel safe too

(19-11-2022, 01:20 PM)talky Wrote:  jb is chicago of the east
even the locals there dont feel safe too

Agree. Less car thieves too.
Think BKK should more attractive for the younger retirees but not ideal for retirement of older folks as the air pollution is quite bad.
Remember seeing an amber layer of "haze" hugging the horizon when I was looking out of the Bangkok hotel last time.

Other less dense provinces will be more ideal imo.
Eg those in the EEC, east of BKK, that will be connected with BKK via a 250km/h highspeed rail by 2026.
HSR ticket to BKK for shopping trips will be cheap.

Or other coastal provinces with fresher air that Angmoh retirees are flocking to.

Of course can la...800 sg dollar can already if stay a bit outskirt. But to be honest retire im Bangkok is quite stupid..maybe first few month u very happy..after that most people will choose other place like chiangmai or other province.

Bangkok has become a very expensive city now….better retire in northern Thailand

Bangkok just had a big flood, it has flood frequently

(19-11-2022, 12:36 PM)limpeh394 Wrote:  BKK condo rental $500 + mthly spending $1k

how is it possible ??

I saw facebook this Ah beng stay in Thailand , stay in Landed house, got car also can change easily like changing clothes.
Daily enjoy street foods , sometimes go atas resturant eat , literally already show you Is Cheap to have a luxury lifestyle as foreigner there.

BUT FOR SG is really those Ultra Rich foreigners can able to do the same thing in SG.

(19-11-2022, 02:39 PM)lvlrsSTI Wrote:  Bangkok just had a big flood, it has flood frequently

[Image: 7-F6-D64-AD-0268-4515-AC4-F-CB4-B517-FBF67.jpg]

[Image: FC54-DA3-A-2-F0-B-4-B7-A-8-F9-A-16-F3-CEF4-E56-A.jpg]

[Image: E5-BE9682-A2-F7-4358-8-DA2-AB91-C3-FD04-DE.jpg]

[Image: 10-EC1-DD1-496-B-438-E-876-A-74-A629-A2-DB8-F.jpg]

[Image: 697-EF023-1799-4-AB1-BDA2-28568-C202-E83.jpg]

(19-11-2022, 02:34 PM)FartSunKing Wrote:  Sihanoukville cheaper

One fcuk + tips only US$5

Young girls less than 25 years old

Buy chicken rice meh... Laughing

(19-11-2022, 02:40 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote:  I saw facebook this Ah beng stay in Thailand , stay in Landed house, got car also can change easily like changing clothes.
Daily enjoy street foods , sometimes go atas resturant eat , literally already show you Is Cheap to have a luxury lifestyle as foreigner there.

BUT FOR SG is really those Ultra Rich foreigners can able to do the same thing in SG.

This I agree, but it is better to live in Chiangmai, rather than BKK, cos there is a low lying area, prone to floods and the air leaves much to be desired...... Clapping

how is it possible ??

How to get long term visa to live there?

(19-11-2022, 02:45 PM)debono Wrote:  This I agree, but it is better to live in Chiangmai, rather than BKK, cos there is a low lying area, prone to floods and the air leaves much to be desired...... Clapping

A lot of PRCs, Japanese, Koreans and Angmoh now live there.

(19-11-2022, 02:50 PM)lvlrsSTI Wrote:  A lot of PRCs, Japanese, Koreans and Angmoh now live there.

Will Singaporeans choose to live there.......? Big Grin

(19-11-2022, 02:50 PM)lvlrsSTI Wrote:  A lot of PRCs, Japanese, Koreans and Angmoh now live there.

Even Malaysian , i heard not just others.

(19-11-2022, 02:59 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote:  Even Malaysian , i heard not just others.

Is it really good to live in BKK.......? Thinking

how old yr fren ?

50-60
60-70
70-80

???

(19-11-2022, 03:02 PM)debono Wrote:  Is it really good to live in BKK.......? Thinking

Have you been there?

(19-11-2022, 03:04 PM)cityhantam Wrote:  Have you been there?

I have been there but not very impressed........leh... Laughing

(19-11-2022, 03:02 PM)debono Wrote:  Is it really good to live in BKK.......? Thinking

I don't know, but I do have one cousin her hubby is Chinese Thai. He own property back in Thailand BK currently rent out in SG also got property two condo rent out and also got office rent out too. So far I see , Is More better if you can speak Thai if plan to stay in Thailand for long.

My friend in Chiang Rai.

[Image: FB-IMG-1560497974145.jpg]
[+] 1 user Likes Notdumb's post

(19-11-2022, 02:50 PM)cityhantam Wrote:  How to get long term visa to live there?

many kind visa

most popular wan

for long term visa above 50 yrs, deposit $115k in Thai bank for 1 year then can withdraw, and keep min $57k in their bank after
https://www.thaiembassy.sg/visa-matters-...-long-stay

for one year visa, just need to cover insurance
[+] 1 user Likes limpeh394's post

(19-11-2022, 05:16 PM)limpeh394 Wrote:  many kind visa

most popular wan

for long term visa above 50 yrs, deposit $115k in Thai bank for 1 year then can withdraw, and keep min $57k in their bank after

for one year visa, just need to cover insurance

The US$100K (overseas) health insurance requirement for long stay visa will be a problem for older retirees (or at least negates the lower cost of living in Thailand) cos cheapest will be FWD but it only covers up to 65yo.

https://www.fwd.com.sg/international-health-insurance/

For CignaGlobal that covers old age beyond 65yo, the annual insurance premium will reach US$12,620 for a 85yo male.
And it increases almost exponentially for those who survived longer.

https://www.cignaglobal.com/

And seems to me that the only way to avoid paying this health insurance will be to marry a Thai.
The visa for marriage visa doesn't have this US$100K requirement.

But there is still a big catch with this, which is that the Thai spouse must survive longer than the farang since a letter from the spouse is needed for the visa application. Wonder if having a Thai kid with the Thai spouse will help should latter kicks the bucket earlier?

https://www.thaiembassy.sg/visa-matters-...hai-spouse
Quote:A Letter from the Applicant’s Thai spouse
[+] 2 users Like sgxin's post

So trouble some if wife is a Thai than automatic

(19-11-2022, 07:03 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote:  So trouble some if wife is a Thai than automatic

Actually for a long stay till old age (ie death), the only trouble/visa-free way will be for one to get a Thai citizenship, years after marrying a Thai (wife only?).

https://www.thethailandlife.com/thai-citizenship

(19-11-2022, 07:08 PM)sgxin Wrote:  Actually for a long stay till old age (ie death), the only trouble/visa-free way will be for one to get a Thai citizenship, years after marrying a Thai (wife only?).

https://www.thethailandlife.com/thai-citizenship

Actually most countries are like this if I not wrong

USA , aust , EU etc if your another half is local there than quite easy obviously u can stay in that country for how long also can

Only the paper work just need to renew

Even in SG also
I see one of my army friend wife Vietnamese current stay in SG always years but still PR

Another one is with PRC wife last know is PR and stay in SG for years

[Image: C864-FB96-73-A6-4-DA3-858-C-A54-A5847-ADA8.jpg]