Advisory for Religious Burning of Joss Paper During Chinese New Year

will be lost  on some... those who think that community living is for them to do all the wrong, bad, illegal  etc things and the rest  must live with it....

[Image: KYAoiRl.png]

[Image: odGnrMz.jpg]

Chinese 5000 yr tradition can't just wipe away.

(19-01-2023, 09:53 AM)K88 shu shu Wrote:  Chinese 5000 yr tradition can't just wipe away.

Do they have a 5000 year tradition of littering?

Nobody is saying they cannot burn stuff but we are only asking them not to litter.  Can they do that?  Or rather not do that?

Better keep Petain Road free of ash.

If not, when TS see one tiny piece of carbon, TS will explode.

(19-01-2023, 09:53 AM)K88 shu shu Wrote:  Chinese 5000 yr tradition can't just wipe away.

CCP: “Hold my Cultural Revolution.”

(19-01-2023, 09:58 AM)Oyk Wrote:  Do they have a 5000 year tradition of littering?

Nobody is saying they cannot burn stuff but we are only asking them not to litter.  Can they do that?  Or rather not do that?

no such word as "litter" in Chinese culture.

just throw anything on the floor and let the wind do the job.

(19-01-2023, 10:02 AM)K88 shu shu Wrote:  no such word as "litter" in Chinese culture.

just throw anything on the floor and let the wind do the job.

Singapore is not China.  It is a good thing that Mao Zedong eliminated this culture, and now most Chinese do not burn stuff.  If you look around, it is Singaporeans who are still practising this superstitious thing.  I have yet to see one Chinese doing this, for the past......? 25 years since we have had a big influx of Chinese into Singapore?

Actually Chinese ppl started burning incense papers in 南北朝, not Chinese 5000 yrs tradition. Only less than 2000 yrs Chinese tradition.

(19-01-2023, 10:54 AM)Oyk Wrote:  Singapore is not China.  It is a good thing that Mao Zedong eliminated this culture, and now most Chinese do not burn stuff.  If you look around, it is Singaporeans who are still practising this superstitious thing.  I have yet to see one Chinese doing this, for the past......? 25 years since we have had a big influx of Chinese into Singapore?

You dont know dont anyhow say hor. Rotfl

(19-01-2023, 11:08 AM)RiseofAsia Wrote:  You dont know dont anyhow say hor. Rotfl

You want to tell me that Mao Zedong was wrong?   Rolleyes

(19-01-2023, 09:59 AM)kelhot2001 Wrote:  Better keep Petain Road free of ash.

If not, when TS see one tiny piece of carbon, TS will explode.
"explode"like the owner of #46 somme rd
 coz the road he think is his?

(19-01-2023, 10:54 AM)Oyk Wrote:  Singapore is not China.  It is a good thing that Mao Zedong eliminated this culture, and now most Chinese do not burn stuff.  If you look around, it is Singaporeans who are still practising this superstitious thing.  I have yet to see one Chinese doing this, for the past......? 25 years since we have had a big influx of Chinese into Singapore?

Exactly. Singapore is not China and we didn't have cultural revolution. Thats why we are still practicing and preserving our traditional culture
[+] 1 user Likes Harry Lee's post

Why dictator blocked own citizens have the freedom access to internets?
What was the hidden agenda of Mao? 
What was ulterior motive of Emperor Qin? Milion of books were burnt and thousands of teachers in custody?

Please don't comment on religious matters. Racial harmony is vital for peace and security of a country
[+] 1 user Likes Oasis's post

RACIAL HARMONY or community living is NOT
some doing the wrong, illegal, bad etc stuff and others having to keep quiet and endure it

(25-01-2023, 09:09 AM)wendychan Wrote:  RACIAL HARMONY  or community living is NOT
some doing the wrong, illegal, bad etc stuff and others having to keep  quiet and endure it

Well said.

It is not even about racial harmony, so I don't know what he is yelping about here.  Christianity has ethnic Chinese, Indian and even Malay followers.  Islam has ethnic Chinese, Indian and Malay followers.  Religions is not a racial thing.  Religion is simply religion but he got all mixed up.

(22-01-2023, 04:03 PM)Oasis Wrote:  Why dictator blocked own citizens have the freedom access to internets?
What was the hidden agenda of Mao? 
What was ulterior motive of Emperor Qin? Milion of books were burnt and thousands of teachers in custody?

Please don't comment on religious matters. Racial harmony is vital for peace and security of a country

(22-01-2023, 03:47 PM)Harry Lee Wrote:  Exactly. Singapore is not China and we didn't have cultural revolution. Thats why we are still practicing and preserving our traditional culture

It is a Chinese folk religion widely practised by our forefathers and foremothers who were less educated, or not even educated at all.

Mao Tse Tung wiped it out.

Although we did not go through the Cultural Revolution, I would not be so smug to claim that we have retained "Chinese culture".  If you read the comments in edmw, you would realise that we have in fact lost our culture  The Malays and Indians kept their culture well, but the ethnic Chinese.....????  Not by a long shot if you see the lifestyle of the yoomers and zoomers.  There's nothing Chinese about it.

It depend on the living quarters like HDB so close so need to be considerate. Go Msia where most live in taman house all go outside in front and burn so free and easy. Ooh play fireworks also in front change govt now can openly sell and play so shiok.