Chan Chun Sing on defence: 'We are not at war, but neither are we at peace'

😮 Chan Chun Sing on defence: 'We are not at war, but neither are we at peace'

Defence Minister Chan Chun Sing cautioned that while Singapore is not in open conflict, threats are constant — from cyberspace to airspace. Ahead of SAF Day, he warned of daily information operations and regional conflicts that could destabilise Singapore’s economy and way of life. Selection in the SAF remains merit-based, he added, addressing concerns about tokenism and reaffirming support for broader female participation through volunteer corps.

READ: https://asia1.news/45KAXK2

Follow @AsiaOnecom for all the latest updates.

As usual, he is neither here nor there. Laughing
[+] 3 users Like Alice Alicia's post

LW better get rid of this clown quickly.Ā  Ā  Ā  Big Grin

Ā Thinking is difficult, that's why most people judge
Ā  Ā  Ā  Ā  Ā  Ā  Ā  Ā  Ā  Ā  Carl Jung

Tai chi master..
[+] 1 user Likes FangFang's post

Wtf is he saying? From a RI grad? Jin siasway leh

Based on his definition, all countries areĀ not at war, but neither are at peace.
Which country is at peace only ?

He likes to exaggerate things and makes thingsĀ complicated.

ActuallyĀ not at war, but neither are at peace means at peace.
Simple thing , talk until so complicated and confusing.

because he is too free and has time for such thing.
[+] 1 user Likes forum456's post

With him as Defense Minister, I don't feel safe

(28-06-2025, 10:11 AM)Raphael05 Wrote:  Wtf is he saying? From a RI grad? Jin siasway leh

Many don't realise Chan is sharing the wisdom of Chinese thinking... Big Grin

å±…å®‰ę€å±

[Image: oardefault.jpg?sqp=-oaymwEYCJUDENAFSFqQA...NH2jW6ypnA]

You've got friendly neighbours? Grow Up! -Ā ęŽå…‰č€€ 2013

He said like didn’t said blank talk.
[+] 1 user Likes Cmpunk's post

(28-06-2025, 12:17 PM)Manthink Wrote:  Many don't realise Chan is sharing the wisdom of Chinese thinking... Big Grin

å±…å®‰ę€å±

not true.
he is like draw a snake and add legs" (画蛇添足)

during covid, he was the one who said not sick, no need to wear mask when there was shortage of masks.

later on , he was proven wrong that all must wear masks to prevent the spread of covid.

Ah Chan really Ah Chan. WW3 has already started. Just not in the conventional sense that a paper general is used to.

(28-06-2025, 01:21 PM)forum456 Wrote:  not true.
he is like draw a snake and add legs" (画蛇添足)

during covid, he was the one who said not sick, no need to wear mask when there was shortage of masks.

later on , he was proven wrong that all must wear masks to prevent the spread of covid.

He didn't say no need to wear mask. He's merely saying that there's not enough mask to go around. And that is true at the beginning of covid.

(28-06-2025, 01:21 PM)forum456 Wrote:  not true.he is like draw a snake and add legs" (画蛇添足)

Errr... 2 things you either failed to know or don't bother to read up.Ā Ā I'll leave the following reference for benefit of fact checking:Ā 

Ā 

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/p...k-shortage

Questions to viewer on Chan Chun sing interviewĀ 
https://sgtalk.net/Thread-Questions-to-v...-interview

(28-06-2025, 09:09 AM)AliceĀ Alicia Wrote:  As usual, he is neither here nor there. Laughing
Knn…he don’t know say don’t know.Ā 

U see him answer question at covid ???Ā 

Blur like sotong.
[+] 2 users Like victortan's post

(28-06-2025, 07:25 PM)victortan Wrote:  Knn…he don’t know say don’t know.Ā 
U see him answer question at covid ???Ā 
Blur like sotong.

Errr...I think it is u who don't know what you are saying.Ā  Ā Big Grin

(28-06-2025, 05:59 PM)Manthink Wrote:  Errr... 2 things you either failed to know or don't bother to read up.Ā Ā I'll leave the following reference for benefit of fact checking:Ā 

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/p...k-shortage

do not believe WHO blindly.

the healthcare nurses and doctors need to wear masks to protect themselves, why the public cannot wear masks to protect themselves.

if public do not ned to wear masks, theĀ nurses and doctors also should not wear masks.

it is simple logic.
our ministers are following the WHO blindly.

that time, a group of local doctors wrote to MOH to ask public to wear masks to protect themselves like the healthcare workers.
these doctors did not follow the WHO blindly like the PAP ministers.

"We are not at war, but neither are we at peace"
"I am not sad, but neither am I happy"
" I am not busy, but neither am I free"

🄱🄱🄱
[+] 1 user Likes Sline's post

(28-06-2025, 09:23 PM)Sline Wrote:  "We are not at war, but neither are we at peace"
"I am not sad, but neither am I happy"
" I am not busy, but neither am I free"

🄱🄱🄱

Questions to viewer on Chan Chun sing interviewĀ 

https://youtu.be/87gHvkSo6Y0?si=s8S8y53Q99xdV1I1

1. On the "Political Non-Answer": The Minister was very careful to say the decision on female conscription is not being made "now". What is the difference between him saying "not now" and simply saying "no," and what does that specific word choice tell you about the government's future options?

2. On Creating Anxiety without Agency: After he powerfully connects global conflicts directly to your personal finances—your job, your wages, your prices—how does it make you feel? Empowered with a role to play, or simply more anxious about powerful forces completely beyond your control?

3. On Abstraction vs. Reality: When you hear the Minister use technical terms like "strategic lines of communication," does that make the threat feel more urgent and personal, or does it create a sense that these are complex problems for the government to solve, separate from your daily life?

4. On the "Invisible Success": The Minister asks for trust based on the fact that the SAF's greatest successes are invisible—threats you never hear about. As a citizen, how does it feel to be asked to support a multi-billion dollar operation based on dangers you are told exist but cannot see?

5. On the "Calm Fortress": The Minister describes Singapore as an "oasis of calm," yet at the same time, a nation facing thousands of threats daily. How can both of these things be true? What does this paradox reveal about the immense, unspoken cost of maintaining our sense of peace?

6. On Shrinking Force vs. Growing Threats: When the Minister lays out two conflicting facts—a shrinking pool of soldiers and growing security threats—what is the unspoken but urgent message he is sending about the future of Singapore's defence and the role that technology and volunteers must play?

7. On Total Defence vs. Selective Roles: The Minister enthusiastically encourages women to volunteer, aligning with the "Total Defence" spirit. Why, then, does he become so guarded and evasive when asked about the most direct application of that principle—National Service? What does this inconsistency reveal about the line between strategic necessity and societal readiness?

(28-06-2025, 09:16 PM)forum456 Wrote:  do not believe WHO blindly.
the healthcare nurses and doctors need to wear masks to protect themselves, why the public cannot wear masks to protect themselves.
if public do not ned to wear masks, theĀ nurses and doctors also should not wear masks.
it is simple logic.our ministers are following the WHO blindly.
that time, a group of local doctors wrote to MOH to ask public to wear masks to protect themselves like the healthcare workers.
these doctors did not follow the WHO blindly like the PAP ministers.

You seems to forget COVID19 is a novel coronavirus disease - so I am not sure how is your argument against Chan and WHO... Mad

(28-06-2025, 09:30 PM)Bigiron Wrote:  Questions to viewer on Chan Chun sing interviewĀ 
https://youtu.be/87gHvkSo6Y0?si=s8S8y53Q99xdV1I1

7 silly question if I were Minister Chan, I will vomit blood.

The last one is so funni loaded question - We all know most women areĀ free loaders and love to complain about gender equality while enjoying NS free duty. But hor which politicians are that stupid to say that directly at 50% of the voters ?....BigironĀ should have known better . Big Grin

(28-06-2025, 10:14 PM)Manthink Wrote:  7 silly question if I were Minister Chan, I will vomit blood.

The last one is so funni loaded question - We all know most women areĀ free loaders and love to complain about gender equality while enjoying NS free duty.....BigironĀ should have known better . But how which politicians are that stupid to say that directly at 50% of the voters ? Big Grin

No I don't may be you can tell me more about it ?

Quote:šŸ’Ŗ2SG De Souza Kimberly Yvette became the first servicewoman to ever complete the arduous Combat Qualification Course and graduate as an Army Deployment Force operator.
Quote:De Souza's decision to serve was deeply influenced by her father, who had served his National Service in the Commando unit before joining the Navy.
Quote:ā€œI have a significant memory from when I was about 5 or 6 years old, of him leaving the house early in the morning before the sun rose, wearing his Navy uniform," she said.
Quote:āž”ļø http://bit.ly/4ngj63I
Quote:Follow us @mothershipsg

How about this lady is not a lady?

(28-06-2025, 10:22 PM)Bigiron Wrote:  No I don't may be you can tell me more about it ?
How about this lady is not a lady?

Soli hor, I am not here to answer questions on behalf of the Gov.Ā  Big Grin

(28-06-2025, 10:24 PM)Manthink Wrote:  Soli hor, I am not here to answer questions on behalf of the Gov.Ā  Big Grin

Oh no worries, I didn’t realise you were off-duty from your Press Secretary internship today. Must be exhausting carrying all that ā€œnot-my-jobā€ energy around! šŸ˜

Wah, so brave ah — speak like official, but once got question, suddenly not Gov liao. Olympic-level dodge!

(28-06-2025, 10:27 PM)Bigiron Wrote:  Oh no worries, I didn’t realise you were off-duty from your Press Secretary internship today. Must be exhausting carrying all that ā€œnot-my-jobā€ energy around! šŸ˜

Wah, so brave ah — speak like official, but once got question, suddenly not Gov liao. Olympic-level dodge!

Of course no worry lah - I don't understand why some pple KPKB when they don't even watch Minister Chan explaining SG security in plain Singlish ?
Nothing official from me - just pointing out common sense that CCS has lay out. I am sureĀ BigironĀ is "brave" enuf to admit SAF has kept us safe for 60 years liao.Ā  Big Grin

(28-06-2025, 10:34 PM)Manthink Wrote:  Of course no worry lah - I don't understand why some pple KPKB when they don't even watch Minister Chan explaining SG security in plain Singlish ?
Nothing official from me - just pointing out common sense that CCS has lay out. I am sureĀ BigironĀ is "brave" enuf to admit SAF has kept us safe for 60 years liao.Ā  Big Grin

1. Do you think it’s fair to dismiss concerns just because someone didn’t watch one explanation?

2. If the message was so clear and in plain Singlish, why do you think so many people still felt confused or unconvinced?

3. Is it common sense if so many Singaporeans still feel uneasy about it?

4. Do you think questioning policies is the same as disrespecting the SAF?

Big Grin Big Grin

(28-06-2025, 10:38 PM)Bigiron Wrote:  1. Do you think it’s fair to dismiss concerns just because someone didn’t watch one explanation?
2. If the message was so clear and in plain Singlish, why do you think so many people still felt confused or unconvinced?
3. Is it common sense if so many Singaporeans still feel uneasy about it?
4. Do you think questioning policies is the same as disrespecting the SAF?

Big Grin Big Grin

Ā BigironĀ clearly has different agenda other then appreciating SGĀ security challenges.

His questions shows that - A personal opinion rather a presentation of "many Singaporeans"Ā Ā Big Grin

Wtf u all want. Whole day come here complain here and there. U all not tired meh.

(29-06-2025, 12:29 AM)stl67 Wrote:  Wtf u all want. Whole day come here complain here and there. U all not tired meh.

Let's welcome RecruitĀ Ā stl67Ā in joining our tireless complain forum.

That is why he/she is here. Right ?Ā  Big Grin

(29-06-2025, 12:12 AM)Manthink Wrote:  Ā BigironĀ clearly has different agenda other then appreciating SGĀ security challenges.

His questions shows that - A personal opinion rather a presentation of "many Singaporeans"Ā Ā Big Grin

Interesting. So the moment someone doesn’t parrot your view, they suddenly have an ā€˜agenda’? Must be nice to live in a world where disagreement equals conspiracy.

Appreciation isn’t obedience — unless you think loyalty means silence?

Big GrinĀ  Big Grin

You ought to change your nick to brainlessmanthink instead of manthink