Nearly 7 out of 10 working Singaporeans aged 65 and above earn less than S$2,500

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapor...ng-3262246

[+] 2 users Like RiseofAsia's post

but I earn $20K as grab food delivery.

So many no need to work. Collecting dividends.  Fix deposits.  Bonds, treasuries.
I don't work, doesn't mean I ve no income.
[+] 2 users Like Migrant's post

(08-02-2023, 01:29 PM)8ighty8 Wrote:  but I earn $20K as grab food delivery.

you above 65 ?

(19-01-2023, 03:27 PM)bobby Wrote:  [Image: nudie.gif]
[+] 1 user Likes bobby's post

Above 65 should NOT be working but to play online games at home everyday with full CPF returned and enjoyed.

[+] 2 users Like ODA TETSURO's post

(08-02-2023, 02:04 PM)ODA TETSURO Wrote:  Above 65 should NOT be working but to play online games at home everyday with full CPF returned and enjoyed.
65 and above should not worry about money. 
Plan well when young. 
By 65, keep healthy. 
Enjoy life.

(08-02-2023, 02:04 PM)ODA TETSURO Wrote:  Above 65 should NOT be working but to play online games at home everyday with full CPF returned and enjoyed.

This is NOT SG Gov has in mind for our aging pop...This is an INactive lifestyle leh.

So the 3 out of 10 must be MIW.

Song Boh!

Cannot retire at 65 yrs old.
Still got so many LKKs working,
worry about high cost of retirement life and high medical cost.
Really hopeless Nation.

不懂易经真糟糕!

(08-02-2023, 01:27 PM)RiseofAsia Wrote:  https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapor...ng-3262246

This is a very serious issue and confirms what I have suspected for a while, i.e. although the retirement age for Singapore keeps increasing in line with global trends, the reality is there is very little well-paying work available for older people.

Speaking from my own corporate experience in MNCs and large local companies, it seems that most PMEs are either directly or indirectly managed out of the organization once they hit their late 40s or early 50s. I noticed there were hardly any professionals and managers working in large organizations that were past 55. The only ones who could continue to stay on or even secure post 62 years re-employment were either the top executives or the low level blue collar workers.

Surprisingly, my professional acquaintances shared with me that some of the local SMEs were actually more open to letting their older employees stay on till at least the official retirement age of 62. The problem though is these SMEs are generally much lower paid than their counterparts in larger organizations, so from a policy and consolidated point of view that’s not very encouraging either.

The latest figures reported pretty much confirms my anecdotal observations – most people aren't offered the opportunity to hang on in their careers till 67. By the time they are 50 it is far more likely they will be forced into either freelancing / short term contracts for lower paying alternative jobs such as PHV drivers, security, food deliverers etc. or have downgrade into “part time / job-sharing / advisory” jobs that come with a significant pay cut in their existing companies.

(08-02-2023, 03:29 PM)RiseofAsia Wrote:  Song Boh!

Really hopeless Nation.

不懂易经真糟糕!

One thing is very true, it is the high cost of medical treatment that borders us.................... crying

(08-02-2023, 03:29 PM)RiseofAsia Wrote:  Song Boh!

Really hopeless Nation.

不懂易经真糟糕!

becoz majority of these old farts got no guts to vote Oppo

(08-02-2023, 04:49 PM)Napoleon Porlumpar Wrote:  becoz majority of these old farts got no guts to vote Oppo

Very soon these old farts will have a chance to vote opp. when the next GE comes along....which is quite imminent......... Big Grin

Oldies don surf net do what. coffeeshop 2hrs, jalan jalan 2hrs,meals 2hrs.sleep 8hrs, 
10hrs spare time.

(08-02-2023, 05:02 PM)Rubitin Wrote:  Oldies don surf net do what. coffeeshop 2hrs, jalan jalan 2hrs,meals 2hrs.sleep 8hrs, 
10hrs spare time.

Can go to gym, and brisk walking and swimming.............. Big Grin

rental income 4000 plus. need work??

(08-02-2023, 01:34 PM)Migrant Wrote:  So many no need to work. Collecting dividends.  Fix deposits.  Bonds, treasuries.
I don't work, doesn't mean I ve no income.

How many do not work have passive income of more than $2500?

(08-02-2023, 06:56 PM)Wy:Nox Wrote:  How many do not work have passive income of more than $2500?

My take is not many above 65 have an income of $2,500 per month.......... crying

Fucking failure above 65 still work in SG society...

(08-02-2023, 01:36 PM)K88 shu shu Wrote:  you above 65 ?

The boomers belong to an era where most of them did not have a university degree, not even a poly diploma.

Their era was one when China had not opened up, and the factory jobs were ours........we were machine operators, factory hands.  Fast forward to today, things moved so fast, changed so fast, and before we all know it,. the zoomers had grown up armed with IT degrees, very savvy with technology, but the boomers....who are their parents, grandparents.......

......................what is the purpose for talking about them?

Are we doing this because we want to create awareness so as to help them?  If so, why are threads started online to attack the government for raising GST by a mere 1% just to foot their healthcare costs?  Why begrudge that, hypocrites?

Are we doing that to accuse the government of not doing anything to raise their salary? In short, vote PAP out. Right.

We should persuade the 61% who voted for the PAP to vote opposition, then only things can begin to change.........to change for the better........... Clapping

(08-02-2023, 07:05 PM)Sharexchange Wrote:  Fucking failure above 65 still work in SG society...

Fast forward 40 years from today, and you will see another generation of over-65s.

Those who are in their twenties today will be the new old.

And you will still see the poor and the "fucking failures" as you call them.

There are all sorts of reasons why old people work.  Sure, exercise is one of the reasons....not only physical exercise but mental as well.  Why are so many retirees in SgTalk?  Is it not because if they don't do that, and merely sit at home staring at the wall, they would go full retard, senile......decline cognitively?  So they try to find human interactions here since they have no friends outside, for whatever reason only they know.

Not all the ppl from that era are computer literate, so they actually go out to work.

Sure, some need the money for whatever reason.  But not all....I know a woman earning $2000 plus who is a 4D queen.  Practically gambles away most of her salary.  No need to support chewren anymore, who are both university graduates and  doing very well.  Why the heck is she still working?  Her chewren can even afford to bring her along for annual vacations..

So, if people want to do a cheesoonjuan, they can always go to the ends of Singapore to find someone who lives in a one room flat, childless, or gave birth to char siews, so they have no choice but to work.................and needless to say..........IT IS LEE HSIEN LOONG'S FAULT!  Whose else can it be?  That is the mentality of the 39%.  Right!

(08-02-2023, 07:22 PM)Oyk Wrote:  Fast forward 40 years from today, and you will see another generation of over-65s.

Those who are in their twenties today will be the new old.

And you will still see the poor and the "fucking failures" as you call them.

There are all sorts of reasons why old people work.  Sure, exercise is one of the reasons....not only physical exercise but mental as well.  Why are so many retirees in SgTalk?  Is it not because if they don't do that, and merely sit at home staring at the wall, they would go full retard, senile......decline cognitively?  So they try to find human interactions here since they have no friends outside, for whatever reason only they know.

Not all the ppl from that era are computer literate, so they actually go out to work.

Sure, some need the money for whatever reason.  But not all....I know a woman earning $2000 plus who is a 4D queen.  Practically gambles away most of her salary.  No need to support chewren anymore, who are both university graduates and  doing very well.  Why the heck is she still working?  Her chewren can even afford to bring her along for annual vacations..

So, if people want to do a cheesoonjuan, they can always go to the ends of Singapore to find someone who lives in a one room flat, childless, or gave birth to char siews, so they have no choice but to work.................and needless to say..........IT IS LEE HSIEN LOONG'S FAULT!  Whose else can it be?  That is the mentality of the 39%.  Right!

I like your narrative especially at the one............... Clapping

(08-02-2023, 01:27 PM)RiseofAsia Wrote:  https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapor...ng-3262246

[Image: quote-how-much-do-you-want-do-you-want-t...-73-56.jpg]

sinkiis work
partime
contract
phv
foodelivery
cleaners
gardener

living in
leaseback scheme
rent out rooms

then
go kopitiam
everyday chitchat

what a life?

gov must ensure company to pay at least 2.5k for local in order for them to keep up the gst and cost of living. else the company must fold dowN.

(08-02-2023, 04:42 PM)maxsanic Wrote:  This is a very serious issue and confirms what I have suspected for a while, i.e. although the retirement age for Singapore keeps increasing in line with global trends, the reality is there is very little well-paying work available for older people.

Speaking from my own corporate experience in MNCs and large local companies, it seems that most PMEs are either directly or indirectly managed out of the organization once they hit their late 40s or early 50s. I noticed there were hardly any professionals and managers working in large organizations that were past 55. The only ones who could continue to stay on or even secure post 62 years re-employment were either the top executives or the low level blue collar workers.

Surprisingly, my professional acquaintances shared with me that some of the local SMEs were actually more open to letting their older employees stay on till at least the official retirement age of 62. The problem though is these SMEs are generally much lower paid than their counterparts in larger organizations, so from a policy and consolidated point of view that’s not very encouraging either.

The latest figures reported pretty much confirms my anecdotal observations – most people aren't offered the opportunity to hang on in their careers till 67. By the time they are 50 it is far more likely they will be forced into either freelancing / short term contracts for lower paying alternative jobs such as PHV drivers, security, food deliverers etc. or have downgrade into “part time / job-sharing / advisory” jobs that come with a significant pay cut in their existing companies.

What you are alluding to is workplace discrimination...and it WILL get worst as SG work force become more diverse and competitive. As in combating any discrimination and changing underlining social tension, awareness and education is the key...

https://youtu.be/dsxb4S_Iaco

(09-02-2023, 10:42 AM)Manthink Wrote:  What you are alluding to is workplace discrimination...and it WILL get worst as SG work force become more diverse and competitive. As in combating any discrimination and changing underlining social tension, awareness and education is the key...

https://youtu.be/dsxb4S_Iaco

Unfortunately, I think age discrimination is merely a symptom rather than a cause. Awareness and education works if it were simply a moral issue, but the way I see it the crux of the issue is an economical one.

Statistically speaking most people simply do not have the potential to reach a Senior Executive or deep specialism level. The typical white collar worker usually reaches his full potential at around junior – middle management or as a seasoned technical professional in their early 40s, from then on he/she is really just working on borrowed time, there is no way for them to “grow” any further.

From a business perspective, any increment or fake promotion given to 80% of the PMEs past their 40 is technically an added cost to the company without a concomitant value add. Many companies are aware of that, but still continue to keep these older workers either out of image / morale considerations and perhaps even out of a sense of social responsibility.

However this is predicated on the basis of a benign business environment. The moment the company faces challenges arising from macro / micro circumstances, the arrangement becomes untenable and they would have no choice but to manage them out. The same goes for why companies are reluctant to hire a 55 year old middle professional, they likely cost more than a 40 year old and yet their professional competencies are likely going to be the same. Even if at the same price, a 40 year old middle professional still has a 10 – 20% chance for further growth whereas a 55 year old is confirm chop guarantee dead end with no headroom.

This is a fundamental economic principle that no amount of awareness or education can resolve.