Threads: 582

Likes Given: 5,211
(23-07-2024, 09:18 AM)EvertonDiehard Wrote: The significant rise in cancer cases among our young may be attributed in part to eating out far too often. Looking at all the recipes available online, whipping up restaurant or hawker centre type of dishes is an open secret. My family creates similar chicken rice, laksa, seafood/beef hor fun, black pepper/chilli crab, fried rice, Penang char kway teow etc. at home for a fraction of the cost and w/o MSG or reused cooking oil.
Average people like us can only shop at void deck markets
cheap but I am sure pesticide levels are not checked
I will also die younger than my grandparents

Threads: 152

Likes Given: 43
(23-07-2024, 10:58 AM)Ola Wrote: Average people like us can only shop at void deck markets cheap but I am sure pesticide levels are not checked I will also die younger than my grandparents
I heard that most eateries do not wash their vegetables so the remnants of pesticides are still present in our dishes. Deep fried food like chicken wings, wu xiang, Indian rojak, youtiao etc. are usually fried in the same wok of oil till it turns black to save on operating costs for the hawker.

(23-07-2024, 10:42 AM)Clyde Wrote: The first 4 and prata are just flour, no nutritional value. Not worth to spend the money.
To satisfy my craving for prata, I pan fry the frozen ones bought from the supermarket with my own fish curry using Indian spices bought from the wet market. It is far less oily and cheaper as well.

Threads: 167

Likes Given: 2,168
Just cook at home - far cheaper and healthier.

Threads: 2

Likes Given: 186
20 years ago food a lot cheaper. but wages also much lower.
the sudden jump in prices is after reopen in covid-19.
gst increases in 2x inceased the damage more then if it is 1x. must not have any more gst increased.
people in charged of people taking advantage of gst increase not working.
some organization who use to charge inclusive of gst, change to exclude gst without lowering price. ie there is an increased in price more then gst increased. but hidden in form.
the lower level business who is unable to get back the gst changes are bearing more then the 2 % increased. in gst.

Threads: 539

Likes Given: 829

Threads: 136

Likes Given: 315
The food no longer fresh but they add more salt and other ingredients to make it nice

Threads: 12

Likes Given: 6,875
(20-07-2024, 07:53 PM)Wy:Nox Wrote: I realised that past more than 1 year, most hawker, coffee shop and food court standards have dropped drastically. The taste is mostly flat and just salt which no longer has “shiok” feeling.
I don’t eat cai fan from those m’sian cooks. They cook so saltish and very unhygienic too.
(This post was last modified: 25-07-2024, 09:21 AM by
Gemstar.)

(25-07-2024, 08:21 AM)Cmpunk Wrote: The food no longer fresh but they add more salt and other ingredients to make it nice
Influencers like Uncle Roger promote the use of MSG in home cooking

Likes Given: 699
(25-07-2024, 09:21 AM)Gemstar Wrote: I don’t eat cai fan from those m’sian cooks. They cook so saltish and very unhygienic too.
Yesterday lunch in Malaysia Boleh. The soup noodles was so salty that dinner I have to eat bland vegetables and meat to compensate for the excess salt intake in the afternoon.

Threads: 12

Likes Given: 6,875
(25-07-2024, 09:31 AM)EvertonDiehard Wrote: Influencers like Uncle Roger promote the use of MSG in home cooking
All such persons shd be boycotted for their nonsensical claims.

Threads: 7

Likes Given: 2
(25-07-2024, 08:21 AM)Cmpunk Wrote: The food no longer fresh but they add more salt and other ingredients to make it nice
This reminds me of the fresh kuning I bought, after being steamed it turned out to be quite salty even without adding anything to it.

Likes Given: 0

The MIW claims to be helping us cope with the rising prices caused by overcrowded S'pore with too many people chasing far too few coveted goods.

Threads: 249

Likes Given: 201
Very weird and funny...
always kpkb,, in the end they win again and again.. 70%???
maybe oppies also seen useless, andd sillyporean prefer what they think work so far.
in fact, to be honest,,, there is no alternative. i think today world is far more complicated, not so easy to solve those high inflation.

(20-07-2024, 09:32 PM)Harry Lee Wrote: Keep raising price then cut back on ingredients. Also need to clear dishes wipe table. Swiss standard living
Correction: S'poreans only "enjoy" the Swiss cost of living.

Threads: 2,221

Likes Given: 201
pap >>1 million dollars hdb flat is still affordable mah

Threads: 5

Likes Given: 755
(22-07-2024, 11:51 PM)bobby Wrote:

Threads: 67

Likes Given: 187
(25-07-2024, 07:27 AM)sclim Wrote: 20 years ago food a lot cheaper. but wages also much lower.
the sudden jump in prices is after reopen in covid-19.
gst increases in 2x inceased the damage more then if it is 1x. must not have any more gst increased.
people in charged of people taking advantage of gst increase not working.
some organization who use to charge inclusive of gst, change to exclude gst without lowering price. ie there is an increased in price more then gst increased. but hidden in form.
the lower level business who is unable to get back the gst changes are bearing more then the 2 % increased. in gst.
😂😜🤫 Thinking for all, old still can save for some, and some can't even can save. crying