M’sian MP says 'Singaporeans are not very fluent in English',
28-07-2024, 02:25 PM
28-07-2024, 03:18 PM
(28-07-2024, 02:00 PM)winbig Wrote: Malaysians will also tell u to 还钱 not only singaporean. There's really no need to single out singaporean in this case.
Another one which Singaporeans are so fond of saying is 你要纸袋吗?
Observer = KILLjoy = starbugstk = Dan = lvlrsSTI = OWNER.
Trying so hard to find my Archilles Point wor. Hehe
28-07-2024, 03:21 PM
When asked to 还钱, len you ask 几多钱?
28-07-2024, 03:22 PM
(28-07-2024, 05:44 AM)lvlrsSTI Wrote: https://www.8days.sg/entertainment/asian...ans-833141
That's why I always say "Never Touch Malaysia And You will Be Safe"..🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣
Lawrence should remember this lesson well, never be too smart with the Malaysian. Especially the Malaysian politicians...🤭
You will never know when the Malaysian will back stab you even you provide free service..🤣🤣🤣
28-07-2024, 03:23 PM
(28-07-2024, 09:35 AM)Lukongsimi Wrote: English mix with Chinese is common
It's mixed to the extent that the proper Chinese word was never learned.
How many gurus here can say "investment risk" in Mandarin? They know so much about investing but will sound retarded when speaking to a Chinese.
28-07-2024, 03:28 PM
(28-07-2024, 09:49 AM)Migrant Wrote: Ours, a multi racial culture.
Rojak. But main ingredient is English. Many are able to switch from Singlish to good English.
So it all depends on situation.
Go market, you speak good English, you get the stare. They say you eat kantang ah.....
What if you speak good Mandarin at the wet market? What will they say?
28-07-2024, 05:14 PM
28-07-2024, 05:17 PM
28-07-2024, 11:38 PM
There's a world of difference between a speaker of English and a teacher of English. An articulate gentleman may speak English eloquently, but it doesn't mean he's able to teach English efficiently as well, the way a trained teacher with proper qualifications and experience is able to. Can the eloquent English speaker, untrained in teaching English, develop a plan to teach English to complete beginners, such as creating interactive classes and developing a vocabulary book? Can he then start with the pronouns, introduce the most important verbs, pick out the most important nouns or objects, and familiarize his students with common words and simple sentence structures?
He may know literally everything about vocabulary and grammar but if he can't present it in an engaging way, then he most likely won't succeed in imparting his knowledge to English language learners. If fluent speakers of English who are no educators can't be relied upon to teach English in the proper order to the M'sians, how on earth are S'poreans who aren't very fluent in English going to do the job?
28-07-2024, 11:44 PM
(28-07-2024, 10:04 AM)likp1acebo Wrote: My standards of english speakering ish sibei tokong. Knn hiah, when I the speakering english leh, everybody ish keep quiets kuai kuai listen huan. Ish boh bey zhao huan
Unlike you, I'm no great shakes at code-switching between Singlish and proper English. It's probably because I'm too persnickety about proper English usage to be able to write in SG's vernacular English so as to bend in with you people. It sometimes looks like I'm the odd one out. Besides, it's hard to unlearn writing style.
In our informal forum talking shop, anything is acceptable so long as you make yourself understood -- Singlish slangy expressions, broken English, immaculate English, plain English, Shakespearean English.
28-07-2024, 11:49 PM
(28-07-2024, 05:17 PM)cheekopekman Wrote: Because now plastic bags are very expensive must pay lah!
Two Singaporeans speaking "Mandarin" ....
Cashier: Uncle,你要纸袋吗?
Ckpm :我要!我要!
Cashier : Uncle,你用什么 ”还” 钱?
Ckpm: 我用 Paynao. 为什么我的 bill 是$12.05 的?Total不是 $12 吗?
Cashier: 5 cent 是 for plastic bag。政府说要纸袋就charge 5 cents 咯!
29-07-2024, 12:04 AM
(28-07-2024, 11:44 PM)S I M T A N Wrote: Unlike you, I'm no great shakes at code-switching between Singlish and proper English. It's probably because I'm too persnickety about proper English usage to be able to write in SG's vernacular English so as to bend in with you people. It sometimes looks I'm the odd one out. Besides, it's hard to unlearn writing style.
In our informal forum talking shop, anything is acceptable so long as you make yourself understood - Singlish slangy expressions, broken English, immaculate English, plain English, Shakespearean English.
Ehh Boss..... paiseh.... I ish talkering like thish everday huan
Wherever you go, no matter what the weather, always bring your own sunshine
29-07-2024, 12:32 AM
My neighbour, whole family came from China, children studied RI, cannot speak fluent English nor write proper English, became PSC scholar.
29-07-2024, 05:50 AM
(29-07-2024, 12:32 AM)Clyde Wrote: My neighbour, whole family came from China, children studied RI, cannot speak fluent English nor write proper English, became PSC scholar.
Yours is a good exampur of good Singaporean English.
29-07-2024, 06:03 AM
29-07-2024, 06:43 AM
(28-07-2024, 11:49 PM)Oyk Wrote: Two Singaporeans speaking "Mandarin" ....
Cashier: Uncle,你要纸袋吗?
Ckpm :我要!我要!
Cashier : Uncle,你用什么 ”还” 钱?
Ckpm: 我用 Paynao. 为什么我的 bill 是$12.05 的?Total不是 $12 吗?
Cashier: 5 cent 是 for plastic bag。政府说要纸袋就charge 5 cents 咯!
Malaysians also same. Confirm OYK is jhk who keep mocking singaporeans to show that he's better. Really loser.
29-07-2024, 07:34 AM
Nice titties
Wherever you go, no matter what the weather, always bring your own sunshine
29-07-2024, 08:37 AM
(29-07-2024, 06:43 AM)winbig Wrote: Malaysians also same. Confirm OYK is jhk who keep mocking singaporeans to show that he's better. Really loser.
tiu kao lei. Sei hum kar chan.
29-07-2024, 08:49 AM
(28-07-2024, 11:38 PM)S I M T A N Wrote: There's a world of difference between a speaker of English and a teacher of English. An articulate gentleman may speak English eloquently, but it doesn't mean he's able to teach English efficiently as well, the way a trained teacher with proper qualifications and experience is able to. Can the eloquent English speaker, untrained in teaching English, develop a plan to teach English to complete beginners, such as creating interactive classes and developing a vocabulary book? Can he then start with the pronouns, introduce the most important verbs, pick out the most important nouns or objects, and familiarize his students with common words and simple sentence structures?
Sometimes, we hear peepur saying "Those who can do, do; those who can't do, teach".
I suppose this does not apply to language. "Those who can speak, speak; those who can't speak, teach" hardly makes sense.
To teach, we have to be able to speak it proficiently.
I lay the blame for our chewren not being able to speak English proficiently and fluently squarely at the feet of our school teachers. English is not our native language but is taught. We cannot leave it to our parents and the society out there to teach it well. What would a three year old girl be learning if her marller keeps telling her to "go down the bus"?
If we are going to let our chewren learn English from parents, aunts, uncles and the whole tribe, then what's the point of having English teachers and English lessons in schools?
It's the teachers' job to teech spelling, grammer, vocabulary, pronunciation etc.
I squirmed every taim I heard Singaporeans mispronounce:
Opportunity
Procedure
Primary
....just to name a few words.
29-07-2024, 08:58 AM
29-07-2024, 09:02 AM
29-07-2024, 11:16 AM
Msian English...
Congratulations and condolences are the same thing.
29-07-2024, 11:18 AM
29-07-2024, 11:19 AM
29-07-2024, 11:47 AM
(29-07-2024, 11:18 AM)EvertonDiehard Wrote: Many low SES Sinkies are probably throwing food waste directly down the rubbish chute.
Last time plastic bags were free of charge so I also use for rubbish lah! Nowadays I also throw directly down the chute lah! All the chicken bones and banana skins straight down lah!
29-07-2024, 12:13 PM
29-07-2024, 02:52 PM
29-07-2024, 02:53 PM
29-07-2024, 03:08 PM
29-07-2024, 03:10 PM