M’sian MP says 'Singaporeans are not very fluent in English',

(29-07-2024, 03:08 PM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote:  You dun seem to understand what you'd written. I'm asking how shd the high and middle ses shd do instead

Common sense will tell you that the high SES and middle class won't feel the pinch paying for plastic bags to bag their food waste. 

Malaysians speak their own mangled version of English known as "Manglish" so how would they even recognise Standard English if the speaker is right in front of them?

Do you notice some countries hv stronger resistance against ethnocides? And they dun give yr master's language a hoot?

(29-07-2024, 05:15 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  Malaysians speak their own mangled version of English known as "Manglish" so how would they even recognise Standard English if the speaker is right in front of them?

They also mixed English with Bahasa Melayu lah! Big Grin They boleh lah!

(29-07-2024, 06:16 PM)cheekopekman Wrote:  They also mixed English with Bahasa Melayu lah! Big Grin They boleh lah!

[Image: IMG-8553.jpg]

(29-07-2024, 05:57 PM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote:  Do you notice some countries hv stronger resistance against ethnocides? And they dun give yr master's language a hoot?

I don't talk to imbeciles.

(29-07-2024, 05:15 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  Malaysians speak their own mangled version of English known as "Manglish" so how would they even recognise Standard English if the speaker is right in front of them?

(29-07-2024, 06:54 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  I don't talk to imbeciles.

While you're trying hard to show off your flowery language skills, these ppl dun give it a hoot. It's true, I'm not exaggerating

(29-07-2024, 06:52 PM)lvlrsSTI Wrote:  [Image: IMG-8553.jpg]

You makan buay leh? Thinking

(29-07-2024, 07:00 PM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote:  While you're trying hard to show off your flowery language skills, these ppl dun give it a hoot. It's true, I'm not exaggerating

Insecure people like you act using a defence mechanism by trying to insult others to deflect attention from your own inferiority. By putting down those you deem superior to you, you may feel better about yourself for a short time, but I assure you that it doesn't last.

(29-07-2024, 07:00 PM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote:  While you're trying hard to show off your flowery language skills, these ppl dun give it a hoot. It's true, I'm not exaggerating

Insecure people like you try to diminish the accomplishments of others to make your own perceived shortcomings seem less significant. Your behaviour on SG Talk is obvious; you feel threatened by the success of others so insulting them is your way to try to level the playing field.

People with low self-esteem like you have a negative view of themselves and the world around them. This leads them to be critical and judgmental of others.

(29-07-2024, 06:03 AM)cheekopekman Wrote:  Some AngMo speak worse than your Singlish lah! Big Grin

If the angmo's native language or mother tongue is Italian, German, French, Greek, etc, he may not be as fluent and proficient in English as a native speaker.

(29-07-2024, 07:18 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:   People with low self-esteem like you have a negative view of themselves and the world around them. This leads them to be critical and judgmental of others.

The colonial legacy passed down to you is just a survival tool, but not a part of you. Very soon you'll lose that advantage when many others could do better.

(28-07-2024, 09:49 AM)Migrant Wrote:  Ours, a multi racial culture. 
Rojak. But main ingredient is English. Many are able to switch from Singlish to good English.
So it all depends on situation. 
Go market, you speak good English, you get the stare. They say you eat kantang ah.....

When you speak good English, ppl think you are a foreigner lah.

English is a rojak language, there is no such thing called Speak Perfect or Pure English.

(29-07-2024, 08:26 PM)RiseofAsia Wrote:  When you speak good English, ppl think you are a foreigner lah.

English is a rojak language, there is no such thing called Speak Perfect or Pure English.

There are such things as standard English and nonstandard English. The former is accepted and used by most of the educated speakers and writers of English. The latter is not accepted or used by most of the educated speakers and writers of English.

(29-07-2024, 08:49 AM)Oyk Wrote:  Sometimes, we hear peepur saying "Those who can do, do; those who can't do, teach".

I suppose this does not apply to language.  "Those who can speak, speak; those who can't speak, teach" hardly makes sense.

To teach, we have to be able to speak it proficiently.

I lay the blame for our chewren not being able to speak English proficiently and fluently squarely at the feet of our school teachers.  English is not our native language but is taught.  We cannot leave it to our parents and the society out there to teach it well.  What would a three year old girl be learning if her marller keeps telling her to "go down the bus"?

If we are going to let our chewren learn English from parents, aunts, uncles and the whole tribe, then what's the point of having English teachers and English lessons in schools? 

It's the teachers' job to teech spelling, grammer, vocabulary, pronunciation etc.

I squirmed every taim I heard Singaporeans mispronounce:

Opportunity
Procedure
Primary

....just to name a few words.

Yeah, teachers always get a large portion of the blame when their charges write or speak nonstandard English. As an educator, a teacher first responsibility is toward her students. But some teachers are lacking in responsibility while others are overloaded with extra work and assignments and find it quite a task to teach each and every student properly.

Another factor contributing to students' subpar linguistic performance may be cultural in nature. Singlish, an admixture of English and native language or dialect, is firmly entrenched in our culture. We inherit it from our parents, elders and others, and is likely to be passed on to our children. Singlish is now an entrenched part of many S'poreans' lives.

Slang defiles the language. However, some do away with slang and speak proper English all the time. Those unable to code-switch will have difficulty speaking fluent English. The ability to code-switch is a skill set that can be developed and mastered. Take the case of Placebo. He talks slang to his forum denizens to feel heard and understood, to fit in and gain acceptance from them. But when he's with highbrows, he speaks proper English. Big Grin

Mr Jimmy Puah, MP for Tebrau, gave his fellow countrymen some very frank criticism of S'poreans' English not being up to the mark, and he added that M'sia has "many more who are fluent in English." His remark didn't sit well with many S'poreans who felt it was condescending and is a very belittling description of them.

Early on, M'sia's Education Minister announced his govt's decision to enlist the services of S'porean volunteers to teach English in his country. The volunteers, preferably retired teachers, will be thoroughly vetted to ensure "they meet the standards before they're accepted."

It should be remembered that a volunteer by definition is not paid. Even if the volunteers are given small stipends for services rendered, how many will bring themselves to volunteer for the teaching job? And will they feel a close affinity for our closest neighbour and to feel motivated to teach the underclasses?

Don't touch Malaysia and you will be safe. Point proven again...🤣
Case close..🤭

(30-07-2024, 12:38 AM)S I M T A N Wrote:  There are such things as standard English and nonstandard English. The former is accepted and used by most of the educated speakers and writers of English. The latter is not accepted or used by most of the educated speakers and writers of English.

As long as English is not a pure language.
Classification of standard or non standard English is still debatable lah.
The right words to use should be good or bad English.

We won’t say 他的英语讲的很标准,He speaks very standard English lah.

(29-07-2024, 07:31 PM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote:  The colonial legacy passed down to you is just a survival tool, but not a part of you. Very soon you'll lose that advantage when many others could do better.

Our Government attributes declining standards of English competency to the widespread use of Singlish. This led to the launch of the Speak Good English Movement in April 2000 that championed the use of Standard English over its English-based patois. Until today, most Singaporeans continue to speak in pidgin English, so the masses simply cannot do any better.

(30-07-2024, 05:39 AM)RiseofAsia Wrote:  As long as English is not a pure language.Classification of standard or non standard English is still debatable lah.The right words to use should be good or bad English.We won’t say 他的英语讲的很标准,He speaks very standard English lah.

Proponents of Singlish view it as unique to Singapore and an expression of our multicultural identity. However, the reality is that most Singaporeans are unable to code switch effortlessly between Singlish and grammatically correct English.

(30-07-2024, 12:55 AM)S I M T A N Wrote:  Yeah, teachers always get a large portion of the blame when their charges write or speak nonstandard English. As an educator, a teacher first responsibility is toward her students. But some teachers are lacking in responsibility while others are overloaded with extra work and assignments and find it quite a task to teach each and every student properly.Another factor contributing to students' subpar linguistic performance may be cultural in nature. Singlish, an admixture of English and native language or dialect, is firmly entrenched in our culture. We inherit it from our parents, elders and others, and is likely to be passed on to our children. Singlish is now an entrenched part of many S'poreans' lives.Slang defiles the language. However, some do away with slang and speak proper English all the time. Those unable to code-switch will have difficulty speaking fluent English. The ability to code-switch is a skill set that can be developed and mastered. Take the case of Placebo. He talks slang to his forum denizens to feel heard and understood, to fit in and gain acceptance from them. But when he's with highbrows, he speaks proper English. 

Proper spoken English instantly defines us as highly educated people whose views and opinions are taken more seriously.  A strong command of the language is likely to lead to better paying jobs, greater social mobility as well as more social success.

(30-07-2024, 12:38 AM)S I M T A N Wrote:  There are such things as standard English and nonstandard English. The former is accepted and used by most of the educated speakers and writers of English. The latter is not accepted or used by most of the educated speakers and writers of English.

There is a  lack of fluency in spoken English among the majority of adults, in spite of 10 years or more of instruction in an English-medium school environment. Generations of young Singaporeans enter the working world hampered by their inability to be understood globally.

(30-07-2024, 06:35 AM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  Proper spoken English instantly defines us as highly educated people whose views and opinions are taken more seriously.  A strong command of the language is likely to lead to better paying jobs, greater social mobility as well as more social success.

A load of nonsense. Look at countries like Malaysia, Indonesia, korea, japan, many European and african countries, richest ppl in sg: goh chang liang, li xiting, ... Asian's richest ppl, ... None of them gives it a hoot

(30-07-2024, 12:55 AM)S I M T A N Wrote:  Yeah, teachers always get a large portion of the blame when their charges write or speak nonstandard English. As an educator, a teacher first responsibility is toward her students. But some teachers are lacking in responsibility while others are overloaded with extra work and assignments and find it quite a task to teach each and every student properly.

Another factor contributing to students' subpar linguistic performance may be cultural in nature. Singlish, an admixture of English and native language or dialect, is firmly entrenched in our culture. We inherit it from our parents, elders and others, and is likely to be passed on to our children. Singlish is now an entrenched part of many S'poreans' lives.

Slang defiles the language. However, some do away with slang and speak proper English all the time. Those unable to code-switch will have difficulty speaking fluent English. The ability to code-switch is a skill set that can be developed and mastered. Take the case of Placebo. He talks slang to his forum denizens to feel heard and understood, to fit in and gain acceptance from them. But when he's with highbrows, he speaks proper English. Big Grin

Teachers are specialists, having received training on how to teach, and being selected to teach the language because they are good in it. They should compile:-

1.  A list of all the words which most peepur pronounced wrongly
2.  A list of all the words which most peepur spelled wrongly.

and run two lessons (or periods as the schoo taim taber calls it) to drill the whole class of students till they get it right.  If we leave it to parents, then we would be passing down the broken English of the Merdeka Generation to one generation after another  If we leave it to society, it will be too random because...how often does one bump into a good Englsh speaker?  

So, the school should be the right place to teach chewren.  It's the same for all languages.  So it's about taim for Chinese language teachers to teach our chewren to say 塑料袋 instead of 纸袋 because we no longer use paper bags for packing unlike in the era of the Pioneer Generation.

We cannot blame the Chinese who come here to study, work or for vacation to think that Singaporeans are a bit dumb if we cannot even speak elementary Chinese well, when we say the wrong words like 还钱, 纸袋 to them. Won't it be the same if we tell an AMDK to go there...over there where the Cashier's Counter is...to "return money" or say "Do you want a paper bag?" and then give him a plastic bag instead?   Rotfl

Here is not Lowyat forum...

(30-07-2024, 09:05 AM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote:  A load of nonsense. Look at countries like Malaysia, Indonesia, korea, japan, many European and african countries, richest ppl in sg: goh chang liang, li xiting, ... Asian's richest ppl, ... None of them gives it a hoot

You are extremely shallow when your measure of a person is only his net worth. These successful billionaires do not possess a high level of education, but they know that they need capable employees who will compensate for their lack of intellect.

[Image: images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQBYUOV-XZdcPVdonDj7AD...UIgA4TrA&s]

(30-07-2024, 06:34 AM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  Proponents of Singlish view it as unique to Singapore and an expression of our multicultural identity. However, the reality is that most Singaporeans are unable to code switch effortlessly between Singlish and grammatically correct English.

In order to codeswitch between Singlish and Standard English, we have to be able to speak Standard English to begin with.  Otherwise, we would be codeswitching between broken English and broken Mandarin.

(30-07-2024, 09:26 AM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  You are extremely shallow when your measure of a person is only his net worth. These successful billionaires do not possess a high level of education, but they know that they need capable employees who will compensate for their lack of intellect.

Exactly. My friend's laopeh no education, but hires many graduates who can speak and write flowery english to work for him.

(30-07-2024, 09:26 AM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  You are extremely shallow when your measure of a person is only his net worth. These successful billionaires do not possess a high level of education, but they know that they need capable employees who will compensate for their lack of intellect.

Inconsistent and full of contradictions

Anyway many times when I asked for directions in quebec and paris, inadvertently the other party would say sorry, he/she didnt speak english. And after spending a few minutes wasting each other's time, then he/she would repeat the same whole thing in english. Why like that?