Now I hope the place I stay never kena SERS...

[Image: Screenshot-from-2022-07-05-12-12-01.png]
Those r found in JB
Singapore all painted swee-swee
Indonesia is different kettle
whole project can b left to rot

(05-07-2022, 11:38 AM)WhatDoYouThink? Wrote:  it's the limited space problem. in some countries, there're very old houses but still well maintained

Our is make way to increase population growth and GDP growth at all cost

(05-07-2022, 12:09 PM)Huliwang Wrote:  How come PAP did not paint the building every 10 years? Must be located in oppie ward...... Big Grin

it's one of those slums in hk. jb aso got. 

paintings do not solve the problems, they need overhauls such as en bloc or sers
[+] 2 users Like WhatDoYouThink?'s post

(05-07-2022, 12:14 PM)singlon Wrote:  [Image: Screenshot-from-2022-07-05-12-12-01.png]
Those r found in JB

Nope, now is " Expensive Better and faster "

My side here recently got fresh paint around the blocks. Just within one year already the paint drop off etc.

Partly because they never wash off the old paint to do repaint and next it do need more time and works to do that.

Back in good old days , the contractors will use water spray to scrap off the old paint thus this is why can last longer for years.

(05-07-2022, 12:27 PM)WhatDoYouThink? Wrote:  it's one of those slums in hk. jb aso got. 

paintings do not solve the problems, they need overhauls such as en bloc or sers

one thing amazing is HK. Is like a " vintage, classic footage come their slum housing " even hollywood movie marker some like to use HK slum housing as footage.

Some will claim slum but for some is an " art " is like got one unique character of HK like that. You look even HK drama/Movie too.

Whereas our HDB flat? So far I never see Any Hollywood movie companies using our HDB flat as footage.

(05-07-2022, 12:29 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote:  Nope, now is " Expensive Better and faster "

My side here recently got fresh paint around the blocks. Just within one year already the paint drop off etc.

Partly because they never wash off the old paint to do repaint and next it do need more time and works to do that.

Back in good old days , the contractors will use water spray to scrap off the old paint thus this is why can last longer for years.
like dat arr MorYumKung

besides removing old paints, aso need a layer of base sealer and another 2 or more layers of exterior weather proof paint then can last.

(05-07-2022, 12:36 PM)WhatDoYouThink? Wrote:  besides removing old paints, aso need a layer of base sealer and another 2 or more layers of exterior weather proof paint then can last.

now Town Council don't do that come so call " repaint the blocks " I not sure is Town Council in charge or HDB
again one big problem here in SG , too many " departments " what here under this department , inside is under that department.

like my ceiling leak last time call Town council first , they say inside HDB got any fault is call HDB, so I call HDB ..that old uncle come also zzzz never follow up my case. Come check claim the leak is from Outside so is Under Town Council than claim will follow up email to Town council BUT NEVER

after one month I wait still no body call me or email me so I call up Town Council they never received any feedback of my case from HDB. They than claim will send their officer come down check next day and next day come partly I already complain why one month no news yet???

later he confirm yup is from outside so need time to fix stage up the equipment etc , I say ok.

So a Basic leakage problem TAKE 3 MONTHS + to get it done. YET HDB , Town Council SO MANY officers inside ???

(05-07-2022, 12:27 PM)WhatDoYouThink? Wrote:  it's one of those slums in hk. jb aso got. 

I've gone into one of those 'slums' that you mentioned. Outside may not look good but inside is well-maintained.

Don’t sers
let it lasts till 99 years zero,no one will complains.
Most already kom Kar Leow Liao
99 new flat given is hopeless

(05-07-2022, 12:57 PM)Blasterlord2 Wrote:  I've gone into one of those 'slums' that you mentioned. Outside may not look good but inside is well-maintained.

no matter how good is the interior, but coming home to such a building is quite disheartening. even if an individual wants to do some improvement aso no use, and this is where the garment shd come in

Maybe Govt should SERs Tampines Blk 201 area to move those residents out and provide a Hawker Center in the new SERS location.

(05-07-2022, 01:09 PM)WhatDoYouThink? Wrote:  no matter how good is the interior, but coming home to such a building is quite disheartening. even if an individual wants to do some improvement aso no use, and this is where the garment shd come in

But the problem is that these are private properties. If one resident don't want to pay, the whole refurbishing cannot go through. That's why u see in China and hk many houses look so rundown outside.

so 80% are actually renters?

(05-07-2022, 10:13 AM)sgbuffett Wrote:  Flats are structurally designed to last 400yrs with safety margin.

You go to 45yr old flat it is still excellent after one round of upgrade.

Even if a cluster of apartment buildings is structurally sound and can withstand the ravages of time for several decades to come, the buildings will still be bulldozed to make room for modern skyscrapers, if the city planners have their say. By modern standards, and esp SG's lofty standard of excellence, aging high-rise buildings are an eyesore. 

The AMK Sers blocks are adjacent to the CTE. Somewhere down the road, I can imagine architecturally wonderful buildings - built on the site of the erstwhile AMK sers flats - greeting motorists cruising along the expressway day in, day out. Travellers will be wowed too, and modernists would surely love that, and that would be in perfect keeping with SG's world-class image. Haha.

(06-07-2022, 03:23 AM)S I M T A N Wrote:  Even if a cluster of apartment buildings is structurally sound and can withstand the ravages of time for several decades to come, the buildings will still be bulldozed to make room for modern skyscrapers, if the city planners have their say. By modern standards, and esp SG's lofty standard of excellence, aging high-rise buildings are an eyesore. 

The AMK Sers blocks are adjacent to the CTE. Somewhere down the road, I can imagine architecturally wonderful buildings - built on the site of the erstwhile AMK sers flats - greeting motorists cruising along the expressway day in, day out. Travellers will be wowed too, and modernists would surely love that, and that would be in perfect keeping with SG's world-class image. Haha.

Lky time they will use the" kampong law" to acquire those lands it need to development ,no talk anymore else bulldozer come in lah...

(05-07-2022, 10:06 AM)sgbuffett Wrote:  My family love the place we stay in. We are happy to stay until the lease end by the time lease end I will be 100+yrs old...

Our favorite shops are nearby my friends and neighbors whom we know for decades are nearby. 

Some calculate if SERS can make some money if we cough out some money to get replacement flats. Yeah but to actually monetise the gains you need to sell the new place. Where you going to live after that?! 

Some say the new lease  will help to "extend the value" of these flats which will go to zero in 50yrs time. So what? The value of the flat you actually gain by staying rent free...so what is the deal of it goes to zero after you die.

May be for some calculative Singaporeans who feel with SERS they can work out some way to make $50-$100K out of it. 
I rather give it a miss considering the disruption.

Anyway the govt should let residents vote if they want SERS instead of forcing it down our throat. ..and telling us it is good.

Surely Singaporean's preference matter.

How old is your house now leh? Time will come soon lah!

(05-07-2022, 12:42 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote:  now Town Council don't do that come so call " repaint the blocks " I not sure is Town Council in charge or HDB
again one big problem here in SG , too many " departments " what here under this department , inside is under that department.

like my ceiling leak last time call Town council first , they say inside HDB got any fault is call HDB, so I call HDB ..that old uncle come also zzzz never follow up my case. Come check claim the leak is from Outside so is Under Town Council than claim will follow up email to Town council BUT NEVER

after one month I wait still no body call me or email me so I call up Town Council they never received any feedback of my case from HDB. They than claim will send their officer come down check next day and next day come partly I already complain why one month no news yet???

later he confirm yup is from outside so need time to fix stage up the equipment etc , I say ok.

So a Basic leakage problem TAKE 3 MONTHS + to get it done. YET HDB , Town Council SO MANY officers inside ???

You should round up that old man

This round they are obviously testing the water.
Dont fall into their dirty trick. Rotfl 
Always remember never trust any politician except your own parents.

How many of this so called elites still live in HDB?

现今的社会好人越来越少,坏人越来越多。
都是钱在作怪!

(05-07-2022, 10:36 AM)WhatDoYouThink? Wrote:  [Image: Screenshot-20220705-103435-Chrome.jpg]

without sers yr estate would look like this. is it ok?

Thank goodness we are not hongkees Big Grin

(05-07-2022, 10:06 AM)sgbuffett Wrote:  My family love the place we stay in. We are happy to stay until the lease end by the time lease end I will be 100+yrs old...

Our favorite shops are nearby my friends and neighbors whom we know for decades are nearby. 

Some calculate if SERS can make some money if we cough out some money to get replacement flats. Yeah but to actually monetise the gains you need to sell the new place. Where you going to live after that?! 

Some say the new lease  will help to "extend the value" of these flats which will go to zero in 50yrs time. So what? The value of the flat you actually gain by staying rent free...so what is the deal of it goes to zero after you die.

May be for some calculative Singaporeans who feel with SERS they can work out some way to make $50-$100K out of it. 
I rather give it a miss considering the disruption.

Anyway the govt should let residents vote if they want SERS instead of forcing it down our throat. ..and telling us it is good.

Surely Singaporean's preference matter.

Good...
Oppy party should fight for banning SERS in SG...
In next GE
[+] 1 user Likes moonrab's post

Is Desmond trying to challenge LHL

in his GRC to risk his own future and job?

I want to see him spar with LHL in Parliament on this

(05-07-2022, 12:14 PM)singlon Wrote:  [Image: Screenshot-from-2022-07-05-12-12-01.png]
Those r found in JB

Are those flats very cheap? Someone said to retire in JB leh!

It’s funny how the tide of Sers has turned. In the past, owners of HDB flats were elated over the news of their units being acquired under Sers as they stood to receive very attractive and favourable rehousing benefits. Being selected for Sers was akin to winning a lottery.

It doesn’t seem to be the case now, what with many owners of Sers flats in AMK facing huge top-up costs for their brand-new replacement units, some of whom were griping about having to cough up a six-figure sum for a similar unit that comes with a fresh 99-year lease. Why have the sers owners suffered a reversal of fortunes this time round?

Well, I don’t think there are cold calculations behind the government’s Sers policies. The most probable explanation is that those flats that had undergone Sers in the past were relatively newer units with longer remaining leases while the AMK flats currently under Sers are much older with 56 years left on their lease, having been built in ‘79.

Coupled with the spiraling costs of building materials and labour, the HDB probably deemed it necessary in some cases for affected owners to top up cash for their replacement units, much to the chagrin of many affected residents.

This cause celebre reminds me of the initial public offerings of yore. Back then investors and speculators would rush to apply for IPOs because prices of those new shares typically would surge on the first day of trading, and the buying frenzy might continue for a few more days before profit-taking set in, giving investors a tidy profit. Little wonder, then, that IPOs were often oversubscribed as investors saw the new offerings as a surefire way to make money.

They say all good things must come to an end. Sure enough IPOs began to lose their lustre after a period of time, resulting in many losing money, at least on paper, when prices of their new shares on trading day went below what they had paid for. Investors then became wary about putting their money into IPOs. The same holds true for HDB dwellers as they remain wary of Sers, judging from the numerous negative comments posted online.

Unlike the grummy AMK sers flat owners, those at Marsiling are singing a different tune. The latter are delighted at the prospect of not having to pay for a replacement unit of a similar type, and some said they will get something out of their transactions. My friend, who’s living alone in a 5-room flat in Marsiling Lane, told me he will opt for a 5-room replacement flat, and will receive 20K as a part of the transaction. That’s not counting the 17K in payouts he’ll get for paying miscellaneous expenses, incl a 10K moving fee.

What are the reasons for the discrepancy between the 2 groups of sers owners’ rehousing benefits, or lack thereof? Honestly, I don’t have a clear comprehension of the methods of property valuation and why there’s little uniformity in the dispensation of rehousing benefits to flat owners in mature and non-mature estates. What’s pretty obvious is, home valuations are at an all-time high.

According to a property specialist, Woodlands, a large non-mature estate, has an abundance of lands resulting in cheaper land prices. On the other hand, AMK, a mature estate, has very limited lands, so the cost of housing is correspondingly higher. The AMK residents were understandably none too pleased at getting the short end of the stick in their rehousing dealings with the HDB.
[+] 1 user Likes S I M T A N's post

(07-07-2022, 02:45 AM)S I M T A N Wrote:  Unlike the grummy AMK sers flat owners, those at Marsiling are singing a different tune. The latter are delighted at the prospect of not having to pay for a replacement unit of a similar type, and some said they will get something out of their transactions. My friend, who’s living alone in a 5-room flat in Marsiling Lane, told me he will opt for a 5-room replacement flat, and will receive 20K as a part of the transaction. That’s not counting the 17K in payouts he’ll get for paying miscellaneous expenses, incl a 10K moving fee.

What are the reasons for the discrepancy between the 2 groups of sers owners’ rehousing benefits, or lack thereof? Honestly, I don’t have a clear comprehension of the methods of property valuation and why there’s little uniformity in the dispensation of rehousing benefits to flat owners in mature and non-mature estates. What’s pretty obvious is, home valuations are at an all-time high.

According to a property specialist, Woodlands, a large non-mature estate, has an abundance of lands resulting in cheaper land prices. On the other hand, AMK, a mature estate, has very limited lands, so the cost of housing is correspondingly higher. The AMK residents were understandably none too pleased at getting the short end of the stick in their rehousing dealings with the HDB.

Simple la. One for one plus compensation but replacement in woodlands.

What about condo enbloc?

(07-07-2022, 02:45 AM)S I M T A N Wrote:  Unlike the grummy AMK sers flat owners, those at Marsiling are singing a different tune. The latter are delighted at the prospect of not having to pay for a replacement unit of a similar type, and some said they will get something out of their transactions. My friend, who’s living alone in a 5-room flat in Marsiling Lane, told me he will opt for a 5-room replacement flat, and will receive 20K as a part of the transaction. That’s not counting the 17K in payouts he’ll get for paying miscellaneous expenses, incl a 10K moving fee.

SERS is supposed to be beneficial for those who get it not a lottery ticket. Some lucky happy others bad deal.

If it is win win as claimed by the PAP, let residents vote like in en bloc.

It's reasonable.

Can the govt do something reasonable?

Devil 

(07-07-2022, 07:39 AM)FartSunKing Wrote:  Ladies and gentlemen 

Very sad to read the comments of a forum member which seems to be intelligent (only a handful in this forum)

Whose thought process has been influenced and contaminated by false and misleading statements from a Minister in charge of public housing in Singapore, including SERS

If misleading. Plse state which part is misleading.

(07-07-2022, 08:20 AM)sgbuffett Wrote:  SERS is supposed to be beneficial for those who get it not a lottery ticket. Some lucky happy others bad deal.

If it is win win as claimed by the PAP, let residents vote like in en bloc.

It's reasonable.

Can the govt do something reasonable?

Sers is indeed a lottery, as described by the many. Let me reiterate that being selected for Sers in the bygone days was like striking a lottery that was guaranteed to bring lots of rehousing benefits to the lucky home owners, something the generaity of HDB dwellers had wished for.

Sers today is still a lottery - for better or for worse. It now comes with a caveat: that there’s no guarantee of the lavishly generous benefits that past Sers owners had enjoyed. In the worst-case scenario, an owner is required to cough up a whopping $160,000 for a replacement flat of similar type, but even then, it’s situated on a site much further away from an MRT station than his current unit undergoing Sers. That’s what an unhappy AMK resident had experienced. And he isn’t the only one dissatisfied with the rehousing options offered by the Housing Board.

Getting a raw deal in future Sers schemes may become a common occurrence as an inflationary spiral of price increases - ranging from wage, building supplies, costlier land - and diminishing lease hit home owners. It’s not realistic to expect win-win deals perpetually, and especially in times like this. In life good things don’t last forever, and vice versa.

My pal had reasonable expectations of clinching a reasonably good ‘deal’ when he went to the HDB Hub the other day for his scheduled Collector Inquiry. The site of the replacement apartment buildings for affected Marsiling residents is just a couple of minutes’ walk to the Marsiling MRT station, and fronts Marsiling Park. The flats are slated to be built by 2027.

He intends to ‘downgrade’ from his current high-floor 5-rm unit to a brand-new mid-floor 5-rm apartment, and was told by an officer attending to him that he will receive $20K over and above other monetary benefits amounting to some $27K. It’s a done deal as far as he’s concerned, and he has up to April next year to ink the deal. He left the Hub a happy man, and appreciated the reasonableness of the HDB’s offering.