Presidential candidate Tan Kin Lian apologised to those who felt "

(23-08-2023, 08:03 AM)p1acebo Wrote:  The fact is the ruling party knows that we can put two and two together.  But they don’t simply care. The audacity of it all. 

They are actually saying so what, we may have humsup politicians but hey, WP has them too! Two of our MPs have to go but we will make two of WP MPs disappear too!

The past and present day govt of sg have been mostly benevolent and good, no doubt of that.  

But once in a while they need a kick in their hairy arse to wake up and not be complacent.

Mean no opposition in the parliament after GE 25 they will all sort of method to remove them.if using this PE as a sentimental test guage. 

It is for their own good to be complacent. So that more mistake will be and more opposition will be into the parliament for check and balance. 

Don't let SDP and opposition alliance make use of .

不管是好人还是坏人,只要是个有用的人,能弄到PAP紧张的人,就是我要投他票的人,Tharman和NKS都无法弄到PAP紧张, 有什么用,对吧? Laughing

不是很对。

不论是有用还是没用的人,只要是屁阿屁不喜欢的人,就是对的人。。。

End result is the same in PE. Whoever the president is . But giving NATO Chao tiko TkL more vote. opposition will be fix.perhad no more opposition in the parliament and no check & balance.PAP will not be changed .it will only be change if more GRC loss during GE. President r&r are custodians and ceremony. This PE is a sentimental guage for them. 

(23-08-2023, 08:40 AM)Bigiron Wrote:  
End result is the same in PE. Whoever the president is . But giving NATO Chao tiko TkL more vote. opposition will be fix.perhad no more opposition in the parliament and no check & balance.PAP will not be changed .it will only be change if more GRC loss during GE. President r&r are custodians and ceremony. This PE is a sentimental guage for them. 

Actually TKL is like TCB, they are also PAP people, but wanna fix PAP to work like last time with LKY, more better controlled gov with checks and balances. Now PAP is like all over the place under LHL...So what if he is a tiko peh or BTSS? Wong Fei Hong is also a tiko peh with 十三姨 right? Laughing Anyway TKL already apologised, maybe his wife urged him to do that because his wife also a woman, she might think some may be offended by his posts.

(23-08-2023, 12:59 AM)Sentinel Wrote:  He will not interfere in the govt's foreign affairs policies

I already told you the President's job is not to establish international relations outside the govt's domain

It is a misguided belief that the President's role is to present himself internationally

It is not his role as there is the PM and the Foreign Ministry to do that

He is only useful internationally to attend funerals, religious events and other non-political events like Olympics, SEA games, and other social summits

It is very inappropriate for a President to go for any trade summits or its related, as he has no executive powers and will irritate other countries for wasting their time

Harimau's trip to China and Central Asia, etc is very ineffective and show to people we are only wayang to them only, as they know our President is not the same as the President of South Korea or USA, our President has zero executive power on International Trade and Foreign Affairs and will only waste time and resources to entertain him internationally on the political scene

Geddit?

Good. At last we have some common points. 

Therefore Tan Kim Lian should come out to clarify he does not support Russia invasion of Ukraine personally and as a President candidate. Let our voters confirm his stands. 

Admit his past FB post context was a mistake.
[+] 1 user Likes moonrab's post

(23-08-2023, 08:52 AM)ODA TETSURO Wrote:  Actually TKL is like TCB, they are also PAP people, but wanna fix PAP to work like last time with LKY, more better controlled gov with checks and balances. Now PAP is like all over the place under LHL...So what if he is a tiko peh or BTSS? Wong Fei Hong is also a tiko peh with 十三姨 right? Laughing Anyway TKL already apologised, maybe his wife urged him to do that because his wife also a woman, she might think some may be offended by his posts.

yes from her perspective no worry he still a huge collect stash some where that he secretly snap or video .

(23-08-2023, 09:51 AM)moonrab Wrote:  Good. At last we have some common points. 

Therefore Tan Kim Lian should come out to clarify he does not support Russia invasion of Ukraine personally and as a President candidate. Let our voters confirm his stands. 

but behind got 
[Image: 3ert.png]

https://sg.docworkspace.com/d/sIIrjiJIk-8aVpwY

(23-08-2023, 01:15 AM)Sentinel Wrote:  So, you tell me, is the following a POLITICAL role of the President or not? Why you keep harping that President's role is Ceremonial and Custodial? Are you that ignorant or just pretend to be? How is Halimah more suitable than TKL? You think she more credible and presentable than TKL on the international scene?

President Halimah Yacob met President of the People’s Republic of China Xi Jinping on 6 February 2022 and congratulated President Xi on China’s successful hosting of the XXIV Olympic Winter Games in Beijing. Both leaders reaffirmed the excellent state of bilateral relations, which maintained a positive momentum amidst the COVID-19 pandemic.

President Halimah and President Xi unveiled the name of a student hostel (“知新楼”, Zhixinlou) that was built in Pengshui County, Chongqing, as part of a charity project initiated by the Singaporean community in China, in conjunction with the 30th anniversary of Singapore-China diplomatic relations in 2020. President Halimah noted that the hostel symbolised the strong friendship between our peoples and the importance that both countries attached to education. Both leaders also welcomed the signing of a Memorandum of Understanding between the Singapore Ministry of Trade and Industry and the PRC National Forestry and Grassland Administration on “Cooperation of Promoting Giant Panda Conservation”, which would provide a framework for bilateral cooperation on Giant Panda conservation and research.

President Halimah and President Xi agreed that both countries should work closely to continually upgrade bilateral relations. They affirmed that Singapore and China should step up collaboration in existing areas of cooperation. This included our three Government-to-Government projects in Suzhou, Tianjin and Chongqing, which were progressing well. They also discussed the importance of strengthening people-to-people ties, and looked forward to the full resumption of air connectivity and people-to-people exchanges when conditions permitted. Both leaders also welcomed greater cooperation in new areas such as the digital economy, the green economy and smart cities. On behalf of the people of Singapore, President Halimah also conveyed Lunar New Year greetings to President Xi and the people of China.

.    .    .    .    .

MINISTRY OF FOREIGN AFFAIRS

SINGAPORE

6 FEBRUARY 2022

[Image: Singapore-President-PRC-President-Xi-Jin...14F85F4D1A]

"President Halimah and President Xi agreed that both countries should work closely to continually upgrade bilateral relations. They affirmed that Singapore and China should step up collaboration in existing areas of cooperation. This included our three Government-to-Government projects in Suzhou, Tianjin and Chongqing, which were progressing well."

What is wrong with her working in line with our government foreign policy, towards building a good relationship with China?

Our President always support MFA directives when representing Singapore as the head of state.

What is inside the heart will comes out to surface

Why should he do that?

You are not reading things correctly, whatever he prefers is in his own capacity

IAM not even saying what the PAP govt by sanctioning Russia is even the right thing to do, because like TKL, IAM a commoner

I will take this into account when I vote in the next GE and if I do not like that Russia was sanctioned, I may take this into consideration when I vote

Same thing for TKL, there is no such thing as whatever the PAP govt do, he must agree, even as a President

That is the reason why great people do great things, and they have their own mind, and when he is elected, he will have his own baseline

Not to interfere with Foreign policy does not mean must agree with the policy, but it is not in his position of President to be in tangent with the govt if he is elected

That does not mean he must declare his position with regards to Russian sanctions and the Ukraine offensive 

In fact, it is the general view of most Sinkiepooreans (excluding you) that our govt should not have sanctioned Russia, as it is really non of our business to take sides

Whatever reason Vivi gave that we follow the rule of law and we are a small nation, is very misguided

Even China, the 2nd super power, does not sanction Russia

In the existing political climate and the fact that majority of our neighbouring countries are behind China and look to China for a direction in China's stance with Russia and follow accordingly, we as a small nation must not rock the boat, as it is NOT to our benefit to antagonize Russia

We should remain neutral at all costs

(23-08-2023, 10:02 AM)moonrab Wrote:  "President Halimah and President Xi agreed that both countries should work closely to continually upgrade bilateral relations. They affirmed that Singapore and China should step up collaboration in existing areas of cooperation. This included our three Government-to-Government projects in Suzhou, Tianjin and Chongqing, which were progressing well."

What is wrong with her working in line with our government foreign policy, towards building a good relationship with China?

Our President always support MFA directives when representing Singapore as the head of state.

There is nothing wrong, and there is nothing right either

As a President without executive powers in Foreign Affairs, the President should NOT be involved too closely with what the MFA does, since his role is more of unifying the Community and his Custodial role in safeguarding the reserves

I have already said, the President is an ineffective instrument in International matters, just like the King of England or Japan, keep a distance from such matters

Remember, if duration the next GE, if the PAP govt is ousted, and another govt takes over, the office of the President still remains, as these two branches are elected separately by the people

Do not assume the office of the President is the same office as the Govt 

That is the way LKY had structured it and we should not try to mess it up to fit the prevalent govt's agenda

Understand?

(23-08-2023, 10:09 AM)Sentinel Wrote:  Why should he do that?

You are not reading things correctly, whatever he prefers is in his own capacity

IAM not even saying what the PAP govt by sanctioning Russia is even the right thing to do, because like TKL, IAM a commoner

I will take this into account when I vote in the next GE and if I do not like that Russia was sanctioned, I may take this into consideration when I vote

Same thing for TKL, there is no such thing as whatever the PAP govt do, he must agree, even as a President

That is the reason why great people do great things, and they have their own mind, and when he is elected, he will have his own baseline

Not to interfere with Foreign policy does not mean must agree with the policy, but it is not in his position of President to be in tangent with the govt if he is elected

That does not mean he must declare his position with regards to Russian sanctions and the Ukraine offensive 

In fact, it is the general view of most Sinkiepooreans (excluding you) that our govt should not have sanctioned Russia, as it is really non of our business to take sides

Whatever reason Vivi gave that we follow the rule of law and we are a small nation, is very misguided

Even China, the 2nd super power, does not sanction Russia

In the existing political climate and the fact that majority of our neighbouring countries are behind China and look to China for a direction in China's stance with Russia and follow accordingly, we as a small nation must not rock the boat, as it is NOT to our benefit to antagonize Russia

We should remain neutral at all costs

If he remains as a commoner like you and me. Nobody cares about his personal views.

But as a candidate aspire to be a Singapore Head of State President. 
He has the responsibility to come out clean with all voters. Speak the Truth and Not Hide his views about issues on Sovereignty of a UN Charter nation.

Our President views are very important to our country future direction and fate. It is not about himself. But the our lives and past efforts in building Singapore in the world stage. 

This is a very serious issue and not a game. Whether you like to play against Singaporean or your favourite word "Sinkiepooreans".

No one has the rights to interfere with Singaporean voting rights. If He/She looking down on Singaporean as a "Sinkiepooreans"

Maybe only a undesirable foreign actors will do it, inorder to stir the division among Singaporean voters. 
A perfect opportunity in this PE, with a Presidential Candidate that truly supports Russia invasion of Ukraine.

(23-08-2023, 10:02 AM)moonrab Wrote:  "President Halimah and President Xi agreed that both countries should work closely to continually upgrade bilateral relations. They affirmed that Singapore and China should step up collaboration in existing areas of cooperation. This included our three Government-to-Government projects in Suzhou, Tianjin and Chongqing, which were progressing well."

Yup lor president cannot say don't support or want change policy of MTA can meh. But don't understand why other got such view.

(23-08-2023, 10:25 AM)moonrab Wrote:  If he remains as a commoner like you and me. Nobody cares about his personal views.

He has the responsibility to come out clean with all voters. Speak the Truth and Not Hide his views about issues on Sovereignty of a UN Charter nation.

Our President views are very important to our country future direction and fate. It is not about himself. But the our lives and past efforts in building Singapore in the world stage. 

This is a very serious issue and not a game. Whether you like to play against Singaporean or your favourite word "Sinkiepooreans".

No one has the rights to interfere with Singaporean voting rights. If He/She looking down on Singaporean as a "Sinkiepooreans"

Maybe only a undesirable foreign actors will do it, inorder to stir the division among Singaporean voters. 
A perfect opportunity in this PE, with a Presidential Candidate that truly supports Russia invasion of Ukraine.

Tiko NATO tan no ans me when he do live streaming in FB leh how har? 
Qns:
1.what is your perspective on US, China and India?
2. How do you feel about Russia - Ukraine war?
3. How are you going to support the gov? 

Nb no ans hor

(23-08-2023, 10:29 AM)Bigiron Wrote:  Yup lor president cannot say don't support or want change policy of MTA can meh. But don't understand why other got such view.

Yes. Concur to your view.
TKL is mocking our country Presidential Election if he insist that Russia is correct in the Invasion of Ukraine.

I truly hope he comes out clean in this issue to all Singaporean. Explain his personal view on why He supports Russia invasion and hope they win the war.

I also feel strongly all Singaporean voters should demand him to speak the Truth. Let us know his view in Russia Ukraine War.
It is our Independence Rights as a voter in 2023 PE.

(23-08-2023, 10:33 AM)Bigiron Wrote:  Tiko NATO tan no ans me when he do live streaming in FB leh how har? 
Qns:
1.what is your perspective on US, China and India?
2. How do you feel about Russia - Ukraine war?
3. How are you going to support the gov? 

Nb no ans hor

That confirmed he got something to hide. Not a Independent Candidate. Sad.

(23-08-2023, 10:25 AM)moonrab Wrote:  If he remains as a commoner like you and me. Nobody cares about his personal views.

No one has the rights interfere with Singaporean voting rights. If He/She looking down on Singaporean as a "Sinkiepooreans"

A perfect opportunity in this PE with a Candidate that truly supports Russia invasion of Ukraine.

What do you mean by come clean? He does not owe anyone an explanation before he is elected

If he so chooses to use International matters as his rostrum for campaigning, then like Tharma de, he would proceed on this track

But this is not his platform focus for the campaign

You hear what he is proposing and if you do not agree or feel he is weak or dodgy, then no need to vote for him, but if he says something that touches your heart, like the NS allowances and duration issue, and if that is very important to you, then his International Affairs position will not be your deciding factor if you vote for him

We are at campaigning stage

If you want to ask him about Russia and China and Ukraine, you should also ask the other 2 candidates, as presently you don't really know their stance

But if you think that the President must agree with the govt on all International matters, then you are missing the point of the Elected Presidency

Once the President is elected, then it is his responsibility to be in tandem with what the govt decides for International Affairs, whether he agrees or not is NOT IMPORTANT!

TKL will know what to do if and when he is elected

If you don't like him in anyway, like his face of his calling pretty girls as it is, then you have the right NOT to vote for him

He does not owe you anything right now

Listen to his campaign platform and if you still dislike him or you feel Tharma or NKS are your better choice, go ahead, vote for them, No one is stopping you, but please, do not engage in gutter politics and no smear campaign against him or any of the other two candidates please

(23-08-2023, 10:37 AM)moonrab Wrote:  That confirmed he got something to hide. Not a Independent Candidate. Sad.

Maybe Lim Tean or Goh meng seng not around cannot ans me lor

(23-08-2023, 10:37 AM)moonrab Wrote:  That confirmed he got something to hide. Not a Independent Candidate. Sad.

Nothing to hide

Once he is elected, it is his responswiblity to be in tandem with the govt on such matters and not to go on any tangent

In any case, he is not a member of the govt, as he is not a member of Parliament

You nominate him to the Office of the President

Get this into your head, these two are different branches

(23-08-2023, 10:35 AM)moonrab Wrote:  Yes. Concur to your view.
TKL is mocking our country Presidential Election if he insist that Russia is correct in the Invasion of Ukraine.

I truly hope he comes out clean in this issue to all Singaporean. Explain his personal view on why He supports Russia invasion and hope they win the war.

I also feel strongly all Singaporean voters should demand him to speak the Truth. Let us know his view in Russia Ukraine War.
It is our Independence Rights as a voter in 2023 PE.

What to do some are super smart and intelligent than us mah. To get influence and manipulated by certain groups of people. Not like us very stupid de.

(23-08-2023, 10:42 AM)Bigiron Wrote:  Maybe Lim Tean or Goh meng seng not around cannot ans me lor

Seriously Bigiron, by smearing TKL, you achieve nothing here

Because this forum has members who have made up their minds and you cannot sway them in any way

Their minds are already made up

(23-08-2023, 10:40 AM)Sentinel Wrote:  What do you mean by come clean? He does not owe anyone an explanation before he is elected

If he so chooses to use International matters as his rostrum for campaigning, then like Tharma de, he would proceed on this track

But this is not his platform focus for the campaign

You hear what he is proposing and if you do not agree or feel he is weak or dodgy, then no need to vote for him, but if he says something that touches your heart, like the NS allowances and duration issue, and if that is very important to you, then his International Affairs position will not be your deciding factor if you vote for him

If you want to ask him about Russia and China and Ukraine, you should also ask the other 2 candidates, as presently you don't really know their stance

But if you think that the President must agree with the govt on all International matters, then you are missing the point of the Elected Presidency

Once the President is elected, then it is his responsibility to be in tandem with what the govt decides for International Affairs, whether he agrees or not is NOT IMPORTANT!

TKL will know what to do if and when he is elected

If you don't like him in anyway, like his face of his calling pretty girls as it is, then you have the right NOT to vote for him

He does not owe you anything right now

Listen to his campaign platform and if you still dislike him or you feel Tharma or NKS are your better choice, go ahead, vote for them, No one is stopping you, but please, do not engage in gutter politics and no smear campaign against him or any of the other two candidates please

1) "What do you mean by come clean? He does not owe anyone an explanation before he is elected.

2) If you want to ask him about Russia and China and Ukraine, you should also ask the other 2 candidates, as presently you don't really know their stance."

I beg your pardon. 

1) Tan Kim Lian owes every Singaporean a answer or explanation why He strongly Supporting Russia invading Ukraine. What is his logic and analogy in it. 

Before Singaporean voters send him into our Istana as the President of Singapore Wrongfully. 

It is very irresponsible or dangerous if he has hidden agenda that go against our nation foreign policy as a Head of State. 

Come out clean with his belief and let the voters decide. Don't Hide!

2) Concur with your suggestion. The other 2 candidates must also present their stance on Russia invasion of Ukraine war. 
Do they support or having same views with our MFA current policies.

It will be better to ask all 3 Candidates in the up coming live telecast interview or debate about foreign policy and Russia Ukraine war.

Using the soft power of the president's office
Embargoed until 10 am on 23 August.

Someone told me that a law professor from a university had suggested that Tan Kin Lian is pursuing an office that does not exist.

I think the law professor is mistaken. I am pursuing the office of President, which is stated in the Constitution of Singapore. The Presidential Election Committee had issued a certificate of eligibility to me. I have also submitted a nomination as a candidate for the election, and the nomination has been accepted by the returning officer.

I confirm that I am pursuing an office that exists in the constitution.

Under the constitution, the president has two specific duties, which are the safeguard the past reserves and to uphold the integrity of the public service.

Beyond these constitutional duties, I have a vision - to use the president’s office to influence policies that will make a better life for the people of Singapore. I will focus on three fundamental areas, crucial to the well-being of our citizens: bringing down the cost of living, ensuring affordable housing for all, and securing jobs that provide a sense of stability and a path to progress.

From my walkabouts and interaction with the people, I have received enthusiastic support from the people for this vision and the three goals. I have a strong belief that many people want these goals to be pursued, and they will vote for me to pursue these goals.

I am aware that the president does not have the executive authority on these matters. However, I point out that it is possible to achieve goals by using the influence of the President's office. This is sometimes described as the soft power.

I believe that the president has tremendous soft power due to the prestige of his office and from the strong mandate that he had received through the presidential election. He is likely to have received more than one million votes, which is higher than any member of Parliament, minister and perhaps the prime minister.

Now, I must clarify that I don't intend to be an adversary to the elected government. On the contrary, I hope to work in collaboration with the government to achieve the goals stated above.

I wish to add another point to the real power of the President. Under section 3 (1) of the Inquiries Act 2007, the President may, whenever he considers it expedient to do so, issue a commission appointing one or more commissioners and authorising such commissioners, or any quorum of them therein mentioned, to inquire into — (a) the conduct of any officer or officers in the public service of Singapore; (b) the conduct or management of any department of the public service or any public or local institution; or © any matter in which an inquiry would, in the opinion of the President, be for the public welfare or in the public interest.

Many people have asked for greater transparency and accountability. They strongly asked for an end to the approached described as "ownself check ownself" where the government appoints its own people to check on any possible misdeeds by its ministers or other senior officers. Many people do not trust the findings of these internal checks.

Under this Act. the President has the power to appoint independent and suitably qualified people as commissioners to carry out the inquiry and issue an independent report, which will hopefully be regarded by the general public as being more reliable. I intend to use this power when the need arises, such as the recent events that are described as "scandals".

Tan Kin Lian

(23-08-2023, 10:55 AM)moonrab Wrote:  1) "What do you mean by come clean? He does not owe anyone an explanation before he is elected.

2) If you want to ask him about Russia and China and Ukraine, you should also ask the other 2 candidates, as presently you don't really know their stance."

I beg your pardon. 

1) Tan Kim Lian owes every Singaporean a answer or explanation why He strongly Supporting Russia invading Ukraine. What is his logic and analogy in it. 

Before Singaporean voters send him into our Istana as the President of Singapore Wrongfully. 

It is very irresponsible or dangerous if he has hidden agenda that go against our nation foreign policy as a Head of State. 

2) Concur with your suggestion. The other 2 candidates must also present their stance on Russia invasion of Ukraine war. 

It will be better to ask all 3 Candidates in the up coming live telecast interview or debate about foreign policy and Russia Ukraine war.

If got conflict with the gov how Sia imagine everyday He PM daily how? How quarrel everyday.

Then want to use or access resever during crisis or pandemic how...

(23-08-2023, 10:55 AM)moonrab Wrote:  1) "What do you mean by come clean? He does not owe anyone an explanation before he is elected.

I beg your pardon. 

Sorry hor, the Russia Ukraine war position are NOT bread and butter issue that concern the Electorate and definitely NOT any of the 3 candidates campaigning focus, especially for TKL, this matter is best left to the prevailing govt to decide

If the govt decides wrongly as Foreign Affairs, we as the Electorate will consider voting for another govt come next GE

But like I have said, the govt is elected during the GE

The President is elected during the present PE

The Office of the President and the Govt are two separate branches that have their own duties under the Constitution

Do not mix the two up please!

(23-08-2023, 10:43 AM)Sentinel Wrote:  Nothing to hide

Once he is elected, it is his responswiblity to be in tandem with the govt on such matters and not to go on any tangent

In any case, he is not a member of the govt, as he is not a member of Parliament

You nominate him to the Office of the President

Get this into your head, these two are different branches

Once elected. 
He hold the key to our national reserves. 
If that is not a huge responsibility, I surrender. 

We don't send in a Dubious President to be counter check by the government. That is plain stupidity. 

We the voters must make a wise choice, screen the candidates inside out. Before giving our precious vote to the Right Candidate. 

Not to one that cannot disclose his views in public. That is a extremely gullible way of voting.

(23-08-2023, 10:59 AM)Bigiron Wrote:  If got conflict with the gov how Sia imagine everyday He PM daily how? How quarrel everyday.

You leave that to the elected President and the Govt

Why you worry for them? They will know what to do, because both are ELECTED by the people

The people not happy, we go to the polls

Simpur as that

(23-08-2023, 10:59 AM)Bigiron Wrote:  If got conflict with the gov how Sia imagine everyday He PM daily how? How quarrel everyday.

That my point.
Why send in a trouble maker. And someone cannot come out clean in his views during President Election. 
Totally nonsensical. 
How can the Opposition support such candidate. 
Omg.

(23-08-2023, 11:07 AM)moonrab Wrote:  Once elected. 
He hold the key to our national reserves. 
If that is not a huge responsibility, I surrender. 

We don't send in a Dubious President to be counter check by the government. That is plain stupidity. 

We the voters must make a wise choice, screen the candidates inside out. Before giving our precious vote to the Right Candidate. 

Not to one that cannot disclose his views in public. That is a extremely gullible way of voting.

Ok, you go ahead and do your own screening

Good luck to you, I wish you well

I find NKS dubious, because I believe he is not interested in the Presidency
This is my opinion

I say the same for Thama too
With his overrated caliber, and party links, he will never be able to do a good job

Refer to SgBluffett's thread on Why we should Not vote for Tharma and get enlightened