Rich getting more benefits actually in sg lol

Rich family can buy another HDB flat now single also can buy.

One unfair things is
For an example two families
Both have lots of bro and sister

That rich family their kids each one buy their own HDB flat indirect they every one for their own CDC voucher

Whereas that poor family also have lots of kids only get one set of CDC voucher

Summary a lot govt policy so call help the “ the ppl “ indirectly benefit A lot for the rich

Also rich got tax rebate Smile this is why if you wanna benefit a lot from govt is better to be rich than poor .

Thus this is why so call SG most expensive city.

One more thing CDC voucher is to help business owners benefits not you the consumer so call “ save money “ help your needs.

Remember in the first place why Govt come out CDC voucher during Covi19 period , is to help business owners to have business as consumers will buy in return so call workers job is safe boss will not close shop but isn’t so .

End of the day business owners benefit but is not so call safeguard their workers job either

(27-06-2024, 03:29 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote:  ...
is better to be rich than poor

So you want to be rich or poor?

In SG, the benefits for the poor include subsidised housing, social programs like Workfare Income Supplement and ComCare provide financial assistance to low-income earners, govt schools offer subsidised education that ensures access to quality education regardless of income, and subsidised healthcare through Medishield ensures affordable medical care as well.

(27-06-2024, 03:38 PM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote:  So you want to be rich or poor?

In SG, the benefits for the wealthy include lower taxes even though we have a progressive tax system, because the top marginal income tax rate is relatively low compared to other developed countries. We have a business friendly environment where the govt offers tax breaks and incentives to attract businesses and investments. SG is a global investment hub since our stable economy and infrastructure make it attractive for wealthy investors to come here. Even though the rich benefit from tax breaks, the MIW argues these policies create a strong economy with jobs, which benefits everyone.

(27-06-2024, 03:29 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote:  Rich family can buy another HDB flat now single also can buy.

One unfair things is

That rich family their kids each one buy their own HDB flat indirect they every one for their own CDC voucher

Summary a lot govt policy so call help the “ the ppl “ indirectly benefit A lot for the rich

Also rich got tax rebate Smile this is why if you wanna benefit a lot from govt is better to be rich than poor .

One more thing CDC voucher is to help business owners benefits not you the consumer so call “ save money “ help your needs.

Remember in the first place why Govt come out CDC voucher during Covi19 period , is to help business owners to have business as consumers will buy in return so call workers job is safe boss will not close shop but isn’t so .

End of the day business owners benefit but is not so call safeguard their workers job either

While technically true, the impact of such a thing happening is minimal. Firstly I'm not sure how many rich man son / daughter single is going to buy a BTO in the first place, doesn't sound like a thing that will be prevalent enough to cause a societal impact anyway.

Secondly both rich and poor singles will get the CDC vouchers as long as they form their own households, you can hardly call this rich people "getting more". Of course you can argue that the government ought to do means testing on income, net worth etc. so that rich singles don't get CDC, but surely the cost of administering something like that significantly outweighs whatever paltry amounts 2nd generation rich singles get from CDC?

As for the tax rebates, they are capped to a very low amount and are mainly for the benefit of middle lower income people where the impact is most felt. The rich people sure as hell are not going to give two hoots over an amount that is not even enough to pay for their dinner. Again you can argue that government ought to differentiate at a granular level to ensure the rich people don't get a $200 tax rebate, but I really don't think this is worth the cost in terms of ease of administering and communications complexity.

There are certainly areas for critique in some government policies especially when it comes to narrowing rich poor divide, but the examples you cited are all the low impact kind which is likely purposely adopted to ensure smoother implementation and reduce communication complexity.

As for the CDC vouchers, the normal ones helps both small business owners and regular consumers so I'm sort of ok with the policy. However the groceries ones seem to be benefiting consumers and only large supermarket operators like NTUC, SS, DFI so I'm not sure if money is being efficiently deployed in this manner.

The cdc voucher amount is so small, 塞牙缝都不够 how to make ppl rich?

Btw, are you keeping all of them or sharing with parents?

(27-06-2024, 04:09 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  In SG, the benefits for the poor include subsidised housing, social programs like Workfare Income Supplement and ComCare provide financial assistance to low-income earners, govt schools offer subsidised education that ensures access to quality education regardless of income, and subsidised healthcare through Medishield ensures affordable medical care as well.

These poor family's children also receive free books and school pocket money. One of my relatives boasts that every year he save few hundred dollars for school textbooks and the school also gives his child a card where he can buy food in the school canteen. My this relatives own a stall in the market and his wife open a food stall in the coffee shop. He said since the government shove the money to them so just take.
So the best people in Singapore are those who are rich but know how to act poor.

(27-06-2024, 04:39 PM)maxsanic Wrote:  While technically true, the impact of such a thing happening is minimal. Firstly I'm not sure how many rich man son / daughter single is going to buy a BTO in the first place, doesn't sound like a thing that will be prevalent enough to cause a societal impact anyway.

Secondly both rich and poor singles will get the CDC vouchers as long as they form their own households, you can hardly call this rich people "getting more". Of course you can argue that the government ought to do means testing on income, net worth etc. so that rich singles don't get CDC, but surely the cost of administering something like that significantly outweighs whatever paltry amounts 2nd generation rich singles get from CDC?

As for the tax rebates, they are capped to a very low amount and are mainly for the benefit of middle lower income people where the impact is most felt. The rich people sure as hell are not going to give two hoots over an amount that is not even enough to pay for their dinner. Again you can argue that government ought to differentiate at a granular level to ensure the rich people don't get a $200 tax rebate, but I really don't think this is worth the cost in terms of ease of administering and communications complexity.

There are certainly areas for critique in some government policies especially when it comes to narrowing rich poor divide, but the examples you cited are all the low impact kind which is likely purposely adopted to ensure smoother implementation and reduce communication complexity.

As for the CDC vouchers, the normal ones helps both small business owners and regular consumers so I'm sort of ok with the policy. However the groceries ones seem to be benefiting consumers and only large supermarket operators like NTUC, SS, DFI so I'm not sure if money is being efficiently deployed in this manner.

Smile you are wrong on rich their kids will buy HDB?

For an example a rich family stay in landed house their son going to marry

He can buy BTO flat the purpose is to rent out later

But he with his wife with his parent in the big landed house since got more rooms.

Of course normal folks poor one can do the same but have to squeeze .

Actually I got one relative happen feel HDB rules kinda strange

For her she sold her HDB first than stay in condo but she cannot buy HDB have to sell off the condo. If she plan to buy HDB flat

Whereas her sister currently stay in HDB but own condo

Vote pap out!

One thing why our taxes still lower than other developed countries

- On surface so call " claim can attract more investors due to lower taxes "

BUT back end? Who also benefit riding on this set of rules which they ownself set up ?

Smile Obviously Rich PAP PM, Ministers, etc and down to " every connections, with Lee family with this family that holding various Top managment post in GIC , NTUC , PA , whatever. They are also super high earners.

(27-06-2024, 07:26 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote:  Smile you are wrong on rich their kids will buy HDB?

But he with his wife  with his parent in the big landed house since got more rooms.

For her she sold her HDB first than stay in condo but she cannot buy HDB have to sell off the condo. If she plan to buy HDB flat

Nothing wrong wat. Parents rich own private properties and one HDB. Children grew up can afford also own many condos and one HDB each. They did not break any rules and just owned one HDB which is their birthright as a Singaporean. 
Further the more Singaporeans can do this, the better wat. This shows that Singaporeans are rich and doing well. Anyway, I think only very small numbers of Singaporeans are doing this and you are just making a mountain out of a mole hill.  Big Grin

(27-06-2024, 03:29 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote:  Rich family can buy another HDB flat now single also can buy.

One unfair things is

"That rich family their kids each one buy their own HDB flat indirect they every one for their own CDC voucher
Whereas that poor family also have lots of kids only get one set of CDC voucher"

The Singaporean I know, everyone buy own HDB flat. When married or single reach 35 years old.
That's 80% of our population. 

Another group buy Condominium. Could be around 15% of population.

(27-06-2024, 07:50 PM)moonrab Wrote:  "That rich family their kids each one buy their own HDB flat indirect they every one for their own CDC voucher
Whereas that poor family also have lots of kids only get one set of CDC voucher"

The Singaporean I know, everyone buy own HDB flat. When married or single reach 35 years old.
That's 80% of our population. 

Another group buy Condominium. Could be around 15% of population.

This is isn’t rich getting richer more benefit in disguise

Poor ppl how to own condo or some still cannot afford to buy HDB flat no doubt can use CPF but have to pay some hard cash upfront first .

(27-06-2024, 07:43 PM)Huliwang Wrote:  Nothing wrong wat. Parents rich own private properties and one HDB. Children grew up can afford also own many condos and one HDB each. They did not break any rules and just owned one HDB which is their birthright as a Singaporean. 
Further the more Singaporeans can do this, the better wat. This shows that Singaporeans are rich and doing well. Anyway, I think only very small numbers of Singaporeans are doing this and you are just making a mountain out of a mole hill.  Big Grin
Smile ppl always see the front you never know what behind

This is why A lot on debts isn’t recently news mention a lot on debts ? Also declare bankrupt.

(27-06-2024, 07:26 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote:  Smile you are wrong on rich their kids will buy HDB?

But he with his wife  with his parent in the big landed house since got more rooms.

Sure, that sort of makes sense because you are coming from an ordinary SES person POV i.e. trying to garner small crumbs of benefits here and there to make extra moolah. However for a 2nd generation rich why would they do that?

If the parents want to leave something for the kid as passive income, they will simply buy various condos or landed properties without any of the restrictions. Also for rich people the they not only have residential, but also other types like retail, commercial and industrial properties available to them as options. BTO has so much uncertainty, is administratively hazardous and comes with all sorts of restrictions.

These subsidies and government welfare that can be squeezed out by exploiting policy loopholes might seem sizable to the ordinary citizen, but honestly they just aren't worth all the trouble for rich people.

Not trying to be elitist here, simply stating human nature and different perspectives on money here.

(27-06-2024, 07:57 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote:  Smile ppl always see the front you never know what behind

This is why A lot on debts isn’t recently news mention a lot on debts ? Also declare bankrupt.

How many is your "A lot" in debt? 
Actually, I dunno what you are talking like see front and see backside.     Big Grin

(27-06-2024, 07:57 PM)maxsanic Wrote:  Sure, that sort of makes sense because you are coming from an ordinary SES person POV i.e. trying to garner small crumbs of benefits here and there to make extra moolah. However for a 2nd generation rich why would they do that?

If the parents want to leave something for the kid as passive income, they will simply buy various condos or landed properties without any of the restrictions. Also for rich people the they not only have residential, but also other types like retail, commercial and industrial properties available to them as options. BTO has so much uncertainty, is administratively hazardous and comes with all sorts of restrictions.

These subsidies and government welfare that can be squeezed out by exploiting policy loopholes might seem sizable to the ordinary citizen, but honestly they just aren't worth all the trouble for rich people.

Not trying to be elitist here, simply stating human nature and different perspectives on money here.

Don’t underestimate the rich or else lol why they are more and more rich

(27-06-2024, 08:05 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote:  Don’t underestimate the rich or else lol why they are more and more rich
Of course rich people the chances of becoming richer is higher than a poor guy staying at home playing computer games all day and looking for cheap durians. They must be good investors and good business minded to get there.     Big Grin

(27-06-2024, 08:11 PM)Huliwang Wrote:  Of course rich people the chances of becoming richer is higher than a poor guy staying at home playing computer games all day and looking for cheap durians. They must be good investors and good business minded to get there.     Big Grin

poor people don't even have money play games rah even buy what cheap durian.

(27-06-2024, 08:16 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote:  poor people don't even have money play games rah even buy what cheap durian.

We have lah. There are a few in this forum.    Big Grin

(27-06-2024, 08:17 PM)Huliwang Wrote:  We have lah. There are a few in this forum.    Big Grin

got money buy games to play, cheap durain even play stock is not say poor liao leh.

(27-06-2024, 08:18 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote:  got money buy games to play, cheap durain even play stock is not say poor liao leh.

That's the poor standard in Singapore lah unless you talking about the few that fall through the cracks like cardboard collectors, jobless drug addicts, etc.    Big Grin

(27-06-2024, 07:55 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote:  This is isn’t rich getting richer more benefit in disguise

Poor ppl how to own condo or some still cannot afford to buy HDB flat no doubt can use CPF but have to pay some hard cash upfront first .

"Poor ppl how to own condo or some still cannot afford to buy HDB flat no doubt can use CPF but have to pay some hard cash upfront first"

This is a small percentage of Singaporean that need more help from agency like AIC...
That covers even more grant and subsidy in their daily life needs.
Singapore is not a wonderland, like any country, will have small percentage fallen through the cracks. 

The CDC is a mass beneficial policy that covers 90% or more Singaporean. Together draws more business for hawkers and local supermarket. 

Your "rich gets richer" though CDC, is not practical for 90% of Singaporean. 
So far the total $800 CDC  doesn't enrich us. But just a relief for some to face inflation.

(27-06-2024, 08:05 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote:  Don’t underestimate the rich or else lol why they are more and more rich

Exactly, the financial numbers have got to stack up. One doesn't get rich by trying to exploit CDC vouchers or HDB grants...

I don't deny that there might be a few HNWI goof balls who try to get every last penny out of some psychological need to "cheat" the government, but those are surely not mainstream to be considered on a policy level.

(27-06-2024, 10:24 PM)maxsanic Wrote:  Exactly, the financial numbers have got to stack up. One doesn't get rich by trying to exploit CDC vouchers or HDB grants...

I don't deny that there might be a few HNWI goof balls who try to get every last penny out of some psychological need to "cheat" the government, but those are surely not mainstream to be considered on a policy level.

Smile we average Joe , or poor try to “ cheat “ benefits are small but if rich try to “ cheat “ is piling up amount is small but I mean there are two outcome summary as mention Rich getting richer is hard truths not just sg alone , every countries too