Singaporean family desperate after egg scam wipes out S$150,000 in life savings

(28-12-2023, 11:11 AM)lylcnn Wrote:  walaneh.....myself also kena 'con'vinced to pay $5k to join time-share scheme. Once stepped out immediately couldn't comprehend how they managed to 'con'vince me. Luckily SG law allowed cancelation if within 1 week. Cannot underestimate their power

On-line scammers can look like a frog but they succeed.

Time share... You would need to:

1.have a decent looking face. No need to be yandao but just don't look ah bengish.

2. have the gift of the gab, an ability to deflect inconvenient questions like with a promise that you will be getting there, you will be touching on the point you raised later but you never get there

The rest are old tricks - play on the victim's greed. In the case of insurance and property, you can also use fear if that works.

Online scams often happened because of greed. Investment scams, big shopping discounts. It's all greed.

(28-12-2023, 11:19 AM)Gemstar Wrote:  I really don’t get to understand why people stil trust FB so much, knowingly that many scams are thru FB. Really naive, stubborn and stupid and cannot pity them.

What is there to understand? There are rich peepur because there are peepur in this world who are less smart than they.

When lvlrsSTI is around, Observer, KIDDOjoi disappear. When the latter is around.... not a single post here by lvlrsSTI.  Rotfl

(28-12-2023, 11:19 AM)Gemstar Wrote:  I really don’t get to understand why people stil trust FB so much, knowingly that many scams are thru FB. Really naive, stubborn and stupid and cannot pity them.

(28-12-2023, 11:19 AM)Oyk Wrote:  I also cannot understand why old woman asking whether my mother is a lesbian. I have been fûcking my mother so visibly and frequently here and she didn't see it . Gemstar, what do you think I should do?

Laughing Laughing

(28-12-2023, 10:43 AM)sgbuffett Wrote:  When I ask you for clarification you try to distract and attack me on other things.

You claim hardware token can be duplicated by scammers?
How do they "duplicate a token" without getting hold of it????

I didn't study comscience but I can say that you are right, the scammer cannot duplicate the physical token. 

And he's not even trying to do that.  He just needs to duplicate the way your token generated those "random" numbers.

Whatever you had ever keyed in your phone had left a footprint. Using reverse engineering or should I say, reverse programming, or reverse coding, he can figure out how to generate numbers that would be recognized and accepted by your specific bank account. Love

(28-12-2023, 12:03 PM)Oyk Wrote:  Whatever you had ever keyed in your phone had left a footprint but those customers who shaft their finger into my mother's pussy left a lot of fingerprints inside.

Laughing Laughing

Not all types of tokens are difficult to dup. Like condo's entrance cards, some easy (cheap to dup) some difficult (more exp), and some almost impossible (cannot dup)

For bank app tokens, they shd be very difficult or impossible.

But scammers are professional and smart. Why do they need to duplicate the tokens like what ah butt has been thinking of, if it's easier to use malware to mislead the app?

Make the banks pay otherwise they have no incentives to implement measures to prevent scans

https://therecord.media/uk-fraud-repayme...-psr-rules

https://www.straitstimes.com/opinion/for...ansactions

We need a step forward to counter.

https://www.scmagazine.com/analysis/tech...-auth-keys

Question: in all the scam cases involving siphoning from bank accounts, were there any whereby the scammers were able to read from Digital tokens or 'Approve' using bank apps ?
[+] 1 user Likes lylcnn's post

(28-12-2023, 01:29 PM)sgbuffett Wrote:  https://www.straitstimes.com/opinion/for...ansactions

If even without the physical token, the scammer can simply use malware to fool your bank app and transfer money out, then what's the point of bringing it back?

I would rather consider facial recognition as a 3FA but even that can be copied if you have a habit, as a huge number of peepur do, of storing your photos in the phone.

There are no easy solutions. Scammers are not lowly educated petty pickpockets who if lucky might pick a wallet with $300 in it. Scammers are highly qualified IT peepur... and it's really not easy for the banks' IT Department. I think we also should exercise some amount of caution.

To lay the entire blame at the feet of banks as you seem to be doing is like saying that your wallet was stolen on 24 December when you were partying on Orchard Road all because the police were not doing their job.

(28-12-2023, 10:17 AM)lylcnn Wrote:  Believe scammers can gain access to your account and change the transfer limit. Assuming they can get your digital token code lah....
so in the first place, people should not download unknown apps

Yalor. Seems like flower goat is smarter today

(28-12-2023, 02:07 PM)wendychan Wrote:  so in the first place, people should not download unknown apps

Exactly.

If a cow doesn't want to drink, you can't force its head down.

Pap, the govt, embraces FB like their own media.

The 61% trusted pap so much, also follow blindly, so they got screwed upside down. 

Pap wansui!

(28-12-2023, 01:58 PM)Oyk Wrote:  If even without the physical token, the scammer can simply use malware to fool your bank app and transfer money out, then what's the point of bringing it back?

I would rather consider facial recognition as a 3FA but even that can be copied if you have a habit, as a huge number of peepur do, of storing their photos in the phone.

There are no easy solutions. Scammers are not lowly educated petty pickpockets who if lucky might pick a wallet with $300 in it. Scammers are highly qualified IT peepur... and it's really not easy for the banks' IT Department. I think we also should exercise some amount of caution.

To lay the entire blame at the feet of banks as you seem to be doing is like saying that your wallet was stolen on 24 December when you were partying on Orchard Road all because the police were not doing their job.

Knnbccb! What kind of analogy is that? Don't you know the police have limited control over the people partying on the road except crowd control and orderly behaviours which are the basics. The money you deposited in the bank are put in their vaults and locked for our safety and is contractual. Are you so fuucking dumb and unaware that there are many documents to read and sign when opening an account with a bank?
Knnbccb go and do something you know best like fuucking your mother or granddaughter instead spewing crap here!

Thinking Oyk:Tempt peepur at their Archilles Point: GREED
[+] 2 users Like starbugstk's post

(28-12-2023, 09:04 AM)Ola Wrote:  Millions of Scammers in Vietnam have been trying to break this Closed System

One project is just to call anyone. Once you click reject the unknown phone call

the Malware will be installed.

That is why always say- REMOVE 3rd Party Payment App in Singapore.

If other countries can do it, WHT Shoot Blank Queen can fail for 24 mths??

Yes, true.
[+] 1 user Likes *天哥*'s post

(28-12-2023, 03:03 PM)starbugstk Wrote:  To lay the entire blame at the feet of banks as you seem to be doing is like saying that your wallet was stolen on 24 December when you were partying on Orchard Road all because the police were not doing their job.

Knnbccb! What kind of analogy is that? Don't you know the police have limited control over the people partying on the road except crowd control and orderly behaviours which are the basics.  The money you deposited in the bank are put in their vaults and locked for our safety and is contractual. Are you so fuucking dumb and unaware that there are many documents to read and sign when opening an account with a bank?
Knnbccb go and do something you know best like fuucking your mother or granddaughter instead spewing crap here!

There should be "of" after "instead" in the last vulgar sentence.  Rolleyes

(28-12-2023, 04:43 PM)Oyk Wrote:   There should be "of" after "instead" in the last vulgar sentence.  Rolleyes

Yaar it about the same mistake like how you forgot to type 'not' before the one billion when you accused about Ho Ching's salary. Now you are very careful hor but your standard of English is still as fuucked up when you want to teach others. Knnbccb! I suggest you spend more time with SIMTAN instead of your mother Knnbccb!

[+] 2 users Like starbugstk's post

(28-12-2023, 07:36 AM)sgbuffett Wrote:  All this is happening because banks phase out hardware tokens to save money.

Now Singaporeans suffer from endless scams.

Those in IT know that operating systems and apps are never safe. You need a separate token to protect the customer.

Many here would like to blame customers being ignorant and not cyber trained.

But shouldn't securty mechanism the into account the customers' education background etc.
What is your farking problem? Keep harping on physical token, ccb

Already told you that the bank's digital token is bind to your physical phone and phone number. It cannot be duplicated even with cloning.

It is rock solid, better than a physical token

Get educated, for fark sake and not bark up the wrong tree all the time

(28-12-2023, 01:58 PM)Oyk Wrote:  If even without the physical token, the scammer can simply use malware to fool your bank app and transfer money out, then what's the point of bringing it back?

I would rather consider facial recognition as a 3FA but even that can be copied if you have a habit, as a huge number of peepur do, of storing your photos in the phone.

Your stupidity is mind boggling

Facial recognition does not rely on photos...for fark sake, the feature does not work this way

(28-12-2023, 04:59 PM)Sentinel Wrote:  What is your farking problem? Keep harping on physical token, ccb

Already told you that the bank's digital token is bind to your physical phone and phone number. It cannot be duplicated even with cloning.

It is rock solid, better than a physical token

Get educated, for fark sake and not bark up the wrong tree all the time

He is so paranoid that he disabled all digital services for his mother's bank account.. He is afraid that if she gets scammed, he will be losing the inheritance... his inheritance.  Rolleyes

(28-12-2023, 05:04 PM)Sentinel Wrote:  Your stupidity is mind boggling

Facial recognition does not rely on photos...for fark sake, the feature does not work this way

Just because your face and anus look alike, don't make sweeping statements.  Rolleyes

(28-12-2023, 05:02 PM)Oyk Wrote:  The scammer is a very smart, very intelligent purrson who uses his brain to cheat, steal, scam.

If flower goat does not want to drink, the scammer will not force its head down. It will tempt the flower goat to itself wants to drink. How? Offer big discounts, offer investment returns which are too good to miss. Limited time, limited edition.

Tempt peepur at their Archilles Point: GREED.

But flower goat is smarter than scammers everyday, not just today 

What really saves him however is that he is not greedy. So scammers cannot tempt him lor.  Laughter-68

Knnbccb another rubbish analogy.

and what the fuuck is this? Tempt peepur at their Archilles Point: GREED.

It's Achilles heel ... a weak point to attack during a fight and you don't use for greed asshole!

[+] 1 user Likes starbugstk's post

(28-12-2023, 04:56 PM)starbugstk Wrote:  Yaar it about the same mistake like how you forgot to type 'not' before the one billion when you accused about Ho Ching's salary. Now you are very careful  hor but your standard of English is still as fuucked up when you want to teach others. Knnbccb! I suggest you spend more time with SIMTAN instead of your  mother Knnbccb!

There should be "is" before "about".

And "accused about" is very bad English.

Btw can you show the post that you alleged that Oyk had written...that you are lying about him here?  Rolleyes

(28-12-2023, 05:10 PM)Oyk Wrote:  Just because your face and anus look alike, don't make sweeping statements.  Rolleyes
FYI, I worked with an Israeli company specialised in iris recognition technology, you ignorant dumbfark

(28-12-2023, 05:16 PM)Oyk Wrote:  The scammer is a very smart, very intelligent purrson who uses his brain to cheat, steal, scam.

If flower goat does not want to drink, the scammer will not force its head down. It will tempt the flower goat to itself wants to drink. How? Offer big discounts, offer investment returns which are too good to miss. Limited time, limited edition.

Tempt peepur at their Archilles Point: GREED.

But flower goat is smarter than scammers everyday, not just today

What really saves him however is that he is not greedy. So scammers cannot tempt him lor.

Knnbccb you deleted the above post so quick luckily I have the screen shot. You are shy or very shy of your English?

Knnbccb a simpler analogy would be ... use your granddaughter to tempt Flower Goat because his weak point and the greed for lust is in his lancheow not his Achilles heel understand motherfucker?

(28-12-2023, 04:56 PM)starbugstk Wrote:  Yaar it about the same mistake like how you forgot to type 'not' before the one billion when you accused about Ho Ching's salary. Now you are very careful hor but your standard of English is still as fuucked up when you want to teach others. Knnbccb! I suggest you spend more time with SIMTAN instead of your mother Knnbccb!

(28-12-2023, 05:16 PM)Oyk Wrote:  There should be "is" before "about".

And "accused about" is very bad English.

Btw can you show the post that you alleged that Oyk had written...that you are lying about him here?  Rolleyes

Knnbccb now you are feeling guilty ?

My banks local and foreign always email or SMS me a copy of any fund transfer. If you notice any irregularity, just call the bank and freeze your accounts immediately.

Be prudent in reading these messages. Check the message sender addresses carefully. Be careful here also since some hackers can pretend to be your banks sender.