Singaporeans forced to work till they die?

https://youtu.be/on2Jumj0D6M?si=P1i3i7kpASpN486_

Not compulsory. But instead opening a option for company to retain good experience workers. 

Anyone can stop work at 55 yrs old or younger in Singapore 🤣🤣
[+] 2 users Like moonrab's post

[Image: giphy.gif]

What is forced? Where is the force? By whom ? By pofma?

modern day slavery. 😭🤬

(07-03-2024, 10:06 AM)moonrab Wrote:  Not compulsory. But instead opening a option for company to retain good experience workers. 

If you are a big contributor to the company's bottomline, there is no retirement age for you. Even if you want to quit, they will pester you to stay. 

But it's not a good thing in the long run. All companies must work deligenrly on succession planning. PAP did that which is why LW will take over a party and a country in good form. CST failed to do that which is why SPP is now a has-been. LTK saw all these and decided to follow PAP and so we have Singh and not Mrs LTK. 

Many Chinese companies never lasted beyond the 3rd generation because they failed to do succession planning and passed the company to a son who might be a jiakliaobee. Politicking among employees who danced around a puppet company Chairman would eventually destroy the company when market share is lost to the competitors.

(07-03-2024, 10:06 AM)moonrab Wrote:  Not compulsory. But instead opening a option for company to retain good experience workers. Anyone can stop work at 55 yrs old or younger in Singapore

From 2026, older workers can only be told to retire when they reach 64 years of age. In reality, white collar staff in the private sector are usually laid off or pressured to resign by their 40s or 50s. 

(07-03-2024, 10:56 AM)red3 Wrote:  What is forced? Where is the force? By whom ? By pofma?

In S'pore, the employer is not forced to keep any staff on its payroll till 64; neither is the employee forced to remain employed until that age. The company may retrench a staff or the employee may choose to stop working when he wishes to call time on his career well before the official retirement age.

(07-03-2024, 11:34 AM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  From 2026, older workers can only be told to retire when they reach 64 years of age. In reality, white collar staff in the private sector are usually laid off or pressured to resign by their 40s or 50s. 

Told to retire with no monetary compensation. 

If retirement age is not extended, company can cut your pay after retirement age. At the excuse of your overstay period.

Retrenchment  laid can happen at any age.

(07-03-2024, 11:46 AM)moonrab Wrote:  Told to retire with no monetary compensation. If retirement age is not extended, company can cut your pay after retirement age. At the excuse of your overstay period. Retrenchment  laid can happen at any age.

If the employer feels that an older staff is no longer productive, retrenchment is the preferred option. In the case of PMEs, most companies in the private sector do not even need to justify their decision.

(07-03-2024, 10:06 AM)moonrab Wrote:  Not compulsory. But instead opening a option for company to retain good experience workers. 

Nothing new lah - SG Policy has always tune to maximise man-power in economy activity.

Let's not forget The Little Red Dot's ONLY resource....Not like other countries privileged with abundant water, sand, land and mountains..

So for folks thinking of not working or retiring, that's where JB comes in. Big Grin

(07-03-2024, 12:20 PM)Manthink Wrote:  Nothing new lah - SG Policy has always tune to maximise man-power in economy activity. Let's not forget The Little Red Dot's ONLY resource....Not like other countries privileged with abundant water, sand, land and mountains.. So for folks thinking of not working or retiring, that's where JB comes in.
[Image: 87-pbx-IWm-Sv6m8lm-W5m-SX72cqj-Rsiu27-Tx...is-Jg.webp]

(07-03-2024, 12:20 PM)Manthink Wrote:  Nothing new lah - SG Policy has always tune to maximise man-power in economy activity.

Let's not forget The Little Red Dot's ONLY resource....Not like other countries privileged with abundant water, sand, land and mountains..

So for folks thinking of not working or retiring, that's where JB comes in. Big Grin

Not everyone will like JB for retirement. In fact it is difficult too. Alway from family and friends. 

I retired in Singapore happily, and not expensive too...😊
[+] 1 user Likes moonrab's post

Unless you are a foreigner, any SGreans will know vandalism won't work in here, instead you risk  being canned.  Big Grin

(07-03-2024, 12:24 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  [Image: 87-pbx-IWm-Sv6m8lm-W5m-SX72cqj-Rsiu27-Tx...is-Jg.webp]

(07-03-2024, 01:08 PM)moonrab Wrote:  Not everyone will like JB for retirement. In fact it is difficult too. Alway from family and friends. I retired in Singapore happily, and not expensive too.

My S'porean PR friends and ex-colleagues who retired in Penang, Ipoh, Melaka and JB shared that there is not much to do there apart from good and cheap hawker food, movies, window shopping, running errands etc. Much like what S'poreans would do if they are retired, except they get much more bang for their buck across the Causeway. 

(07-03-2024, 12:20 PM)Manthink Wrote:  Nothing new lah - SG Policy has always tune to maximise man-power in economy activity. Let's not forget The Little Red Dot's ONLY resource. Not like other countries privileged with abundant water, sand, land and mountains. So for folks thinking of not working or retiring, that's where JB comes in.
[Image: Tray.jpg]

(07-03-2024, 03:39 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  My S'porean PR friends and ex-colleagues who retired in Penang, Ipoh, Melaka and JB shared that there is not much to do there apart from good and cheap hawker food, movies, window shopping, running errands etc. Much like what S'poreans would do if they are retired, except they get much more bang for their buck across the Causeway. 

They are Malaysian, retirement in hometown is a natural thing. With Family and friends. 

As for the expenditure, quality of social services, health care, amenities condition, safety, insurance policy, retirement funding & plan, infrastructures, public transportation, taxes, legalities, etc..

It depends on one's liking. Most retired city dwellers like the environment and standard of living, because they are used to the efficiency. 
Example people in HK, Tokyo, London and Singapore. Cities with well developed infrastructures and civil services efficiency. Having their living cost already comfortably accommodated by financial planning. Retirement funding. Property asset fully paid. 

In Singapore, if you living decently in HBD flat fully paid, have insurance policies and annuity plans. Retirement is a breeze. 
Many of my Singaporean friends around my age will not change our lifestyle with any country. Eventhough it is easily affordable. With cheaper cars or houses. 

Quality of life is a personal preference. That's why you can still find many retirees in a higher living cost city. 
Like my friend telling us, if you want cheap living cost countries. There are plenty of offers in the world. But once you step out of your beautiful cheap house into the street, the low cost advantage factors diminished. Back to Balance Sheet theory. 

It is everyone personal choice though..😊

(07-03-2024, 04:17 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  [Image: Tray.jpg]

Any SGreans understand the T&C of CPF. So what has basic hawker centre etiquette got to do with your CPF ? Big Grin

(07-03-2024, 04:34 PM)moonrab Wrote:  They are Malaysian, retirement in hometown is a natural thing. With Family and friends. 

As for the expenditure, quality of social services, health care, amenities condition, safety, insurance policy, retirement funding & plan, infrastructures, public transportation, taxes, legalities, etc..

It depends on one's liking. Most retired city dwellers like the environment and standard of living, because they are used to the efficiency. 
Example people in HK, Tokyo, London and Singapore. Cities with well developed infrastructures and civil services efficiency. Having their living cost already comfortably accommodated by financial planning. Retirement funding. Property asset fully paid. 

In Singapore, if you living decently in HBD flat fully paid, have insurance policies and annuity plans. Retirement is a breeze. 
Many of my Singaporean friends around my age will not change our lifestyle with any country. Eventhough it is easily affordable. With cheaper cars or houses. 

Quality of life is a personal preference. That's why you can still find many retirees in a higher living cost city. 
Like my friend telling us, if you want cheap living cost countries. There are plenty of offers in the world. But once you step out of your beautiful cheap house into the street, the low cost advantage factors diminished. Back to Balance Sheet theory. 

It is everyone personal choice though..😊

SGreans are welcomed to retire in M'sia. The choice is theirs and only theirs to accept with no option ...after all, SGreans will become foreigners in a strange strange land.. Big Grin

https://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/catego...ng-shorts/

Don't let pap decide your retirement age for you.

You plan and decide your own.

(07-03-2024, 05:16 PM)Manthink Wrote:  SGreans are welcomed to retire in M'sia. The choice is theirs and only theirs to accept with no option ...after all, SGreans will become foreigners in a strange strange land.. Big Grin

https://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/catego...ng-shorts/

Probably the Singaporean Malay may consider. Many have relatives over there..😊

(07-03-2024, 12:20 PM)Manthink Wrote:  Nothing new lah - SG Policy has always tune to maximise man-power in economy activity.

PAP never wanted to maximize human capital 

They love to make those in their 50s jobless till 70 y o

And then wayang to show Fake Kindness when you are unhealthy and old

that they reserve cleaner jobs when you are half blind and deaf

Why do we need 5 Mayors and 87 PAP Ministers? 

(07-03-2024, 05:49 PM)Alice Alicia Wrote:  Don't let pap decide your retirement age for you. You plan and decide your own.

Many of our older PMEs dream of retiring at 65, but if they are in the private sector, their employers will start replacing them after 45.

(07-03-2024, 09:47 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  Many of our older PMEs dream of retiring at 65, but if they are in the private sector, their employers will start replacing them after 45.

Replace by foreign trashes lah.
Jobs already stolen

(07-03-2024, 10:41 PM)RiseofAsia Wrote:  Replace by foreign trashes lah. Jobs already stolen

The politicians who allowed this are guilty of treason

[Image: Dbs.jpg]

(07-03-2024, 05:52 PM)moonrab Wrote:  Probably the Singaporean Malay may consider. Many have relatives over there..😊

Naturally..  Blood is often thicker than Water... But then it is no denial that M'sia is regarded as one of the better place for retirement given its relative safety, openness etc etc.

Like anything in Life, there will always be compromises and disappointment..

IMO, SGreans by-and-large enjoys far more options comes to moving to other countries given our passport-power and SGD power...

So I am very careful when comes to KPKB about my Gov.

[+] 1 user Likes Manthink's post

(07-03-2024, 08:48 PM)Ola Wrote:  PAP never wanted to maximize human capital 
They love to make those in their 50s jobless till 70 y o
And then wayang to show Fake Kindness when you are unhealthy and old
that they reserve cleaner jobs when you are half blind and deaf

That I have disagree - I have never seen any Gov in any country that pushes for re-education, trainining and skill upgrade as SG.
We can complain Gov doing  "wayang show", but it is a FACT SG pop is aging very very quickl and we can see Gov is proactively  tackling the challenge of an ageing ...Which WILL also happen in other countries.....

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/s...-and-older

(07-03-2024, 10:48 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  The politicians who allowed this are guilty of treason

[Image: Dbs.jpg]

You have the choice of not being a DBS customer. So why complain ? Big Grin

Costs keep going to the moon, elderlies boh pian hv to continue to work. problem is SMEs prefer younger long hours foreigners in their offices at much lower salaries.

(08-03-2024, 09:41 AM)Manthink Wrote:  That I have disagree - I have never seen any Gov in any country that pushes for re-education, trainining and skill upgrade as SG.
We can complain Gov doing  "wayang show", but it is a FACT SG pop is aging very very quickl and we can see Gov is proactively  tackling the challenge of an ageing ...Which WILL also happen in other countries.

By bringing in so many younger foreigners, our Govt is helping employers get rid of older local employees at a faster rate and at a younger age.