(14-08-2023, 09:03 AM)wendychan Wrote: boss ask him to support Ivan mah... so waht can tharman do?
Tharman can say "NO" which he did not
Like this, how to be independent President?
Sack half the Mayors & PAP Ministers
(14-08-2023, 09:03 AM)wendychan Wrote: boss ask him to support Ivan mah... so waht can tharman do?
(14-08-2023, 06:11 PM)Ola Wrote: Tharman can say "NO" which he did not
Like this, how to be independent President?
(14-08-2023, 06:38 PM)lioncityftw Wrote: We better be prepared for contingency.TKL won't be disqualified one. He already qualified in 2011 election, if now say he not qualify, is today pap slap yesterday pap.
It's likely that both GG and TKL will be disqualified leaving only Cock Song vs Tharman.
If that is the case, then die die we must vote for Cock Song as a lesser evil.
Actually there are many things linked to the president's custodial powers, besides the reserves and pushing for social causes. Dun forget, the president is also holding the last key in the event of a CPIB investigation which is rejected by the PM.
This includes the freaking event of CPIB wanting to investigate the PM himself with PM obviously refusing to concur and claim that he ownself check ownself can already, LOL.
Hence imagine if Tharman becomes president, he sure SMLJ also agrees with the PM or PAP, then SG is doomed.
(14-08-2023, 07:38 PM)luncheonmeat Wrote: Yarmai. I believe Tharman can effect some changes to the outfit being an insider and oso divested of his fealty to PAPaya.
(14-08-2023, 08:58 PM)RichDad Wrote: Dont be superficial. Speaks calm but only talk . No actions leh.
(13-08-2023, 11:17 AM)sgbuffett Wrote: While some Singaporeans have a good impression of him resulting from his calm and steady demeanour and highly articulate speech, I have a very different view of the man.
The lack of independence alone is enough for people not to vote for him. .and they shouldn't.
For people here in market talk many are investors and there are specific reasons for us not to support him.
To me Tharman all along was overrated for the following reasons
1. Being in Minstry in charge of the sgx he failed to prevent listing of fraudulent companies like s chips, oil exploration stocks and failed to tighten regulation.
2. Lehman minibinds happened under his watch when banks engaged in selling products disallowed in other countries. Why did MAS allow it?
3. He refuse to implement important parts of the Sarbines Oxley Act to prevent fraud and improve accountability of listed companies ....all major developed countries adopted this like Japan and US and the level of fraud is a tiny fraction of Singapore we have a small stock exchange but many fraud and bankruptcy cases.
4. Failure to revamp CPFIS scheme to give retirement accounts to low cost products instead of UT.
What has Tharman done in his 20yrs to improve the investment environment in Singapore as Finance minister and when he headed MAS.
(13-08-2023, 11:17 AM)sgbuffett Wrote: While some Singaporeans have a good impression of him resulting from his calm and steady demeanour and highly articulate speech, I have a very different view of the man.
The lack of independence alone is enough for people not to vote for him. .and they shouldn't.
For people here in market talk many are investors and there are specific reasons for us not to support him.
1. Being in Minstry in charge of the sgx he failed to prevent listing of fraudulent companies like s chips, oil exploration stocks and failed to tighten regulation.
2. Lehman minibinds happened under his watch when banks engaged in selling products disallowed in other countries. Why did MAS allow it?
3. He refuse to implement important parts of the Sarbines Oxley Act to prevent fraud and improve accountability of listed companies ....all major developed countries adopted this like Japan and US and the level of fraud is a tiny fraction of Singapore we have a small stock exchange but many fraud and bankruptcy cases.
4. Failure to revamp CPFIS scheme to give retirement accounts to low cost products instead of UT.
What has Tharman done in his 20yrs to improve the investment environment in Singapore as Finance minister and when he headed MAS.
(13-08-2023, 11:17 AM)sgbuffett Wrote: While some Singaporeans have a good impression of him resulting from his calm and steady demeanour and highly articulate speech, I have a very different view of the man.If that is so, then,
(19-08-2023, 06:07 AM)cheekopekman Wrote: I won't vote for anyone lah!Just drop the blank paper into the box lah!
(19-08-2023, 09:00 AM)FangFang Wrote: Geoge Goh is right, we need to change.. this start from us
(14-08-2023, 08:58 PM)RichDad Wrote: Dont be superficial. Speaks calm but only talk. No actions leh.
(19-08-2023, 09:06 AM)winbig Wrote: Change is easy to say. Need to open eyes big big. And see whether the change is for the better or for worse. George Goh is a jhk. He anytime can retire back in MY like a king. So take his words with a big pinch of salt. Ownself think over properly.I shared yr same views. George Goh is not even Singapore born. I wouldn’t even want to vote for him.
(19-08-2023, 10:10 AM)Gemstar Wrote: I shared yr same views. George Goh is not even Singapore born. I wouldn’t even want to vote for him.
(19-08-2023, 11:44 AM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote: Aiya you'll be surprised how dumb some sinkees are. They'd tell you never mind lah, that's the past, now they're very friendly, courteous and civilsed ppl, much better than antiongs