Why I won't vote for Tharman ...and you also shouldn't

(14-08-2023, 09:03 AM)wendychan Wrote:  boss ask him to  support Ivan  mah... so waht can tharman do?

Tharman can say "NO" which he did not

Like this, how to be independent President?

Sack half the Mayors & PAP Ministers

(14-08-2023, 06:11 PM)Ola Wrote:  Tharman can say "NO" which he did not

Like this, how to be independent President?

After Ong T C , the following so call SG president just a YES Man even the plan etc don't seem right.

Refresh back how Ong T C question the reserve also why POSB merge with DBS.

" However, soon after his election to the presidency in 1993, Ong was tangled in a dispute over the access of information regarding Singapore's financial reserves. The government said it would take 56-man-years to produce a dollar-and-cents value of the immovable assets. Ong discussed this with the accountant-general and the auditor-general and eventually conceded that the government could easily declare all of its properties, a list that took a few months to produce. Even then, the list was not complete; it took the government a total of three years to produce the information that Ong requested.[26]

In an interview with Asiaweek six months after stepping down from the presidency,[27] Ong indicated that he had asked for the audit based on the principle that as an elected president, he was bound to protect the national reserves, and the only way of doing so would be to know what reserves—both liquid cash and assets—the government owned.

In the last year of his presidency, Ong found out, through the newspapers, that the government aimed to submit a bill to Parliament to sell the Post Office Savings Bank to The Development Bank of Singapore Limited. The POSB was a government statutory board whose reserves were under the president's protection; the move according to Ong, was procedurally inappropriate and did not regard Ong's significance as the guardian of the reserves; he had to call and inform the government of this oversight. Still, the sale proceeded, and The Development Bank of Singapore Limited still owns the Post Office Savings Bank.[28] "

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ong_Teng_Cheong

We better be prepared for contingency. 

It's likely that both GG and TKL will be disqualified leaving only Cock Song vs Tharman.

If that is the case, then die die we must vote for Cock Song as a lesser evil.

Actually there are many things linked to the president's custodial powers, besides the reserves and pushing for social causes. Dun forget, the president is also holding the last key in the event of a CPIB investigation which is rejected by the PM.

This includes the freaking event of CPIB wanting to investigate the PM himself with PM obviously refusing to concur and claim that he ownself check ownself can already, LOL.

Hence imagine if Tharman becomes president, he sure SMLJ also agrees with the PM or PAP, then SG is doomed.

(14-08-2023, 06:07 PM)Lukongsimi Wrote:  Then I think I also vote Tharman so he can be the referee 
😊

Yarmai. I believe Tharman can effect some changes to the outfit being an insider and oso divested of his fealty to PAPaya.
[+] 1 user Likes luncheonmeat's post

(14-08-2023, 06:38 PM)lioncityftw Wrote:  We better be prepared for contingency. 

It's likely that both GG and TKL will be disqualified leaving only Cock Song vs Tharman.

If that is the case, then die die we must vote for Cock Song as a lesser evil.

Actually there are many things linked to the president's custodial powers, besides the reserves and pushing for social causes. Dun forget, the president is also holding the last key in the event of a CPIB investigation which is rejected by the PM.

This includes the freaking event of CPIB wanting to investigate the PM himself with PM obviously refusing to concur and claim that he ownself check ownself can already, LOL.

Hence imagine if Tharman becomes president, he sure SMLJ also agrees with the PM or PAP, then SG is doomed.
TKL won't be disqualified one. He already qualified in 2011 election, if now say he not qualify, is today pap slap yesterday pap.

(14-08-2023, 07:38 PM)luncheonmeat Wrote:  Yarmai. I believe Tharman can effect some changes to the outfit being an insider and oso divested of his fealty to PAPaya.

Hope so.. he is suitable,calm,speaks well no Lau Hong English 😊

(14-08-2023, 07:38 PM)luncheonmeat Wrote:  Yarmai. I believe Tharman can effect some changes to the outfit being an insider and oso divested of his fealty to PAPaya.

Tharman is the worst choice. He is not another OTC.

Voting Tharman in is like voting for pap ownself check ownself.

VTO lah.... Vote Tharman Out !
[+] 2 users Like RichDad's post

(14-08-2023, 07:47 PM)Lukongsimi Wrote:  Hope so.. he is suitable,calm,speaks well no Lau Hong English 😊

Dont be superficial. Speaks calm but only talk. No actions leh.

PAP Supporters said Tharman is good

because he can lure investments

So Nathan lure CECA with open floodgates

and Alamak lure Indonesians here to be New Citizens?

Surge in Indians adopting foreign citizenship, highest numbers in more than a decade | The Straits Times

Sack half the Mayors & PAP Ministers

(14-08-2023, 06:07 PM)Lukongsimi Wrote:  Then I think I also vote Tharman so he can be the referee 
😊
Whoever you vote, triple confirm will lose, so go ahead, vote for Tharma de

(14-08-2023, 08:58 PM)RichDad Wrote:  Dont be superficial.  Speaks calm but only talk . No actions leh.

Is it? Then no need vote loh he sure win also

(13-08-2023, 11:17 AM)sgbuffett Wrote:  While some Singaporeans have a good impression of him resulting from his calm and steady demeanour and highly articulate speech,  I have a very different view of the man.

The lack of independence alone is enough for people not to vote for him. .and they shouldn't.

For people here in market talk many are investors and there are specific reasons for us not to support him.

To me Tharman all along was overrated for the following reasons

1. Being in Minstry in charge of the sgx he failed to prevent listing of fraudulent companies like s chips, oil exploration stocks and failed to tighten regulation.

2. Lehman minibinds happened under his watch when banks engaged in selling products disallowed in other countries. Why did MAS allow it?

3. He refuse to implement important parts of the Sarbines  Oxley Act to prevent fraud and improve accountability of listed companies ....all major developed countries adopted this like Japan and US and the level of fraud is a tiny fraction of Singapore we have a small stock exchange but many fraud and bankruptcy cases.

4. Failure to revamp CPFIS scheme to give retirement accounts to low cost products instead of UT.

What has Tharman done in his 20yrs to improve the investment environment in Singapore as Finance minister and when he headed MAS.

Clapping

(14-08-2023, 07:47 PM)Lukongsimi Wrote:  Hope so.. he is suitable,calm,speaks well no Lau Hong English 😊

You're an IDIOT

This post proves it beyond the shadow of a doubt

Thambi and cock song will lose their deposits by the sound of it
[+] 1 user Likes Jinwului's post

(19-08-2023, 03:35 AM)Jinwului Wrote:  Thambi and cock song will lose their deposits by the sound of it

People questioning why are they so afraid to admit being linked to PAP?

For that, they paying the price.

(19-08-2023, 04:26 AM)Scythian Wrote:  People questioning why are they so afraid to admit being linked to PAP?

For that, they paying the price.

precisely and its akin to biting the hands that feed
[+] 1 user Likes Jinwului's post

(13-08-2023, 11:17 AM)sgbuffett Wrote:  While some Singaporeans have a good impression of him resulting from his calm and steady demeanour and highly articulate speech,  I have a very different view of the man.

The lack of independence alone is enough for people not to vote for him. .and they shouldn't.

For people here in market talk many are investors and there are specific reasons for us not to support him.

1. Being in Minstry in charge of the sgx he failed to prevent listing of fraudulent companies like s chips, oil exploration stocks and failed to tighten regulation.

2. Lehman minibinds happened under his watch when banks engaged in selling products disallowed in other countries. Why did MAS allow it?

3. He refuse to implement important parts of the Sarbines  Oxley Act to prevent fraud and improve accountability of listed companies ....all major developed countries adopted this like Japan and US and the level of fraud is a tiny fraction of Singapore we have a small stock exchange but many fraud and bankruptcy cases.

4. Failure to revamp CPFIS scheme to give retirement accounts to low cost products instead of UT.

What has Tharman done in his 20yrs to improve the investment environment in Singapore as Finance minister and when he headed MAS.

I won't vote for anyone lah! Big Grin Just drop the blank paper into the box lah!

If that is so, then, 

What's the purpose of taking the oath of office and not fulfilling what they ve promised to do.

Just enjoy the extra holiday this year; quickly cast the vote and go out and enjoy yourself....

(19-08-2023, 06:07 AM)cheekopekman Wrote:  I won't vote for anyone lah! Big Grin Just drop the blank paper into the box lah!

Like that you are playing into the estab’s hands.  A spoilt vote means nothing to them.  

They only worry if you vote against their choice Big Grin

Geoge Goh is right, we need to change.. this start from us

(19-08-2023, 09:00 AM)FangFang Wrote:  Geoge Goh is right, we need to change.. this start from us

Change is easy to say. Need to open eyes big big. And see whether the change is for the better or for worse. George Goh is a jhk. He anytime can retire back in MY like a king. So take his words with a big pinch of salt. Ownself think over properly.
[+] 2 users Like winbig's post

(14-08-2023, 08:58 PM)RichDad Wrote:  Dont be superficial.  Speaks calm but only talk. No actions leh.

Tot he is the one banned tv lic?

(19-08-2023, 09:06 AM)winbig Wrote:  Change is easy to say. Need to open eyes big big. And see whether the change is for the better or for worse. George Goh is a jhk. He anytime can retire back in MY like a king. So take his words with a big pinch of salt. Ownself think over properly.
I shared yr same views. George Goh is not even Singapore born. I wouldn’t even want to vote for him.

(19-08-2023, 10:10 AM)Gemstar Wrote:  I shared yr same views. George Goh is not even Singapore born. I wouldn’t even want to vote for him.

Not only he’s a jhk
His wife is Indonesian
His business partners and business sponsors are Australians
And he’s beholden to them
Pinky probably knows that, and fee.s he’s to dangerous to National Security 
So he look for a reason to bar him
Actually, looking at the PE eligibility criteria, he should qualify

WAITING FOR 15% GST BY 2030 & MORE CECAS TO REPLACE LOCALS
[+] 2 users Like Bluebull's post

100% Indians will vote for him.
99% malays will.
Tharmy sure win
[+] 1 user Likes Bigbluedot's post

Where is butt ? Went to support tkl?

I posted this in another thread

Go to any hawker centre
And you will hear this crying phrase everywhere
“We will vote for a monkey or a dog, rather than a PAP stooge”
I am not joking
Thambi, whose wife is Japanese, may lose

Old folks like my hawker father in law, whose father was beheaded by the Japanese
Will never able to accept a Japanese as the First Lady

WAITING FOR 15% GST BY 2030 & MORE CECAS TO REPLACE LOCALS

Aiya you'll be surprised how dumb some sinkees are. They'd tell you never mind lah, that's the past, now they're very friendly, courteous and civilsed ppl, much better than antiongs

(19-08-2023, 11:44 AM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote:  Aiya you'll be surprised how dumb some sinkees are. They'd tell you never mind lah, that's the past, now they're very friendly, courteous and civilsed ppl, much better than antiongs

This is because the WW2 account is no longer in our history book. I still remember when I was in primary 5, we studied about ww2 in Singapore.  There was a history  text book about it. And the teacher who taught us himself experienced the war so he can relate to us better. Also, my those lau kok kok neighbours also talked about who died and how they survived the war. Can really see tears on their eyes.