Threads: 7,217

Likes Given: 586
Some people insist US has nature thi sand that...i it worth risking your life for a few sights?
(This post was last modified: 28-04-2024, 11:19 AM by
sgbuffett.)

Threads: 12,336

Likes Given: 442
(28-04-2024, 08:44 AM)sgbuffett Wrote: Quite shocked to see this type of stats.
US is a very dangerous place with shootings and various crimes. What is there to see there? .Nothing. why endanger your life? The MFA should issue stronger warnings to Singaooreans to go visit US only for essential activities like business.
Go there anytime van get killed because they allow everyone to carry a gun. You won't know when someone will just shoot you.
US has no ancient history to see...no Great Wall, no pyramids no ancient castle. Tourist go there for what.?
Tourists usually go to touristy areas. Yes, there are shootings at Times Square in recent years but other than that, you don't really hear about shootings in Disneyland and .... umm, ok there was a mass shooting at the Las Vegas Strip too (remember the concert in 2017?). There's also shooting at Niagara Falls.
And students (a lot of visitors are students) usually go to universities so ... umm, ok there are some shootings at universities nowadays but those are rare. Getting more but still rare relative to other parts of US.
For me, besides work, the main reason to go to the US is the outdoors. Their cities are nowhere as fun as Asia or Europe so the cities are not a draw for me (maybe except NY or maybe Washington DC for its layout) but the jungle trails are great. Mountain trails are not so good compared to Nepal, Japan, NZ, Europe, China etc. Their parks like Yellowstone are worth going to. Not a fan of the desert areas in US though, although I enjoyed Xinjiang quite a bit in China.
(This post was last modified: 28-04-2024, 11:39 AM by
Levin.)

Threads: 47

Likes Given: 1,109
Nothing much to see lah, culture less and most places are rather barren, and full of crimes

Threads: 98

Likes Given: 286
Ya, the US is good for outdoors where the chance of getting shot is quite low. The usual precautions will need to apply, such as not going out at night and keeping away from seedy areas. Even then, the situation seems to have become worse (especially San Francisco) since I was there many years ago and I'm not keen to go back.

Threads: 1

Likes Given: 1
Please breakdown the 160k by us city and airport and duration.
If 90% is just new york, there is nothing much to say for the abysmal number

Threads: 965

Likes Given: 207
(28-04-2024, 08:44 AM)sgbuffett Wrote: Quite shocked to see this type of stats.
US is a very dangerous place with shootings and various crimes. What is there to see there? .Nothing. why endanger your life? The MFA should issue stronger warnings to Singaooreans to go visit US only for essential activities like business.
Go there anytime van get killed because they allow everyone to carry a gun. You won't know when someone will just shoot you.
US has no ancient history to see...no Great Wall, no pyramids no ancient castle. Tourist go there for what.?
You stirred up a lot of Asian haters in US.
You go there anf shoot at by the black or white.
Then, you regret before dying. Regret for stirring up and killed yourself.

Tourists won't get to experience the real life there. These are the few things I could still remember after staying there for a couple of yrs:
1. Sex shops which sell all sorts of toys, xxx movies which hv no story but just showed fugging throughout, live performances just cost a few coins per minute to watch, young angmoh women walked up and asked where you want to go...
2. Hostel doors with many latch locks. new latch locks were added as the old ones were damaged and not replaced. So the doors ended up with many latches and locks inside and outside
3. Oversized passengers taking buses at suburban areas, usually black ppl. Body sizes are huge and butts are super gaint. So you'd get a shock first on seeing them, then worried they might sit beside you
Other than these, nothing much to remember

Threads: 33

Likes Given: 2,566
Li Shengwu is there. Tell him. Dangerous ah! Nothing to see ah!
Observer = KILLjoy = starbugstk = Dan = lvlrsSTI = OWNER.
Trying so hard to find my Archilles Point wor. Hehe

Threads: 106

Likes Given: 460
(28-04-2024, 12:00 PM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote: Tourists won't get to experience the real life there. These are the few things I could still remember after staying there for a couple of yrs:
1. Sex shops which sell all sorts of toys, xxx movies which hv no story but just showed fugging throughout, live performances just cost a few coins per minute to watch, young angmoh women walked up and asked where you want to go...
2. Hostel doors with many latch locks. new latch locks were added as the old ones were damaged and not replaced. So the doors ended up with many latches and locks inside and outside
3. Oversized passengers taking buses at suburban areas, usually black ppl. Body sizes are huge and butts are super gaint. So you'd get a shock first on seeing them, then worried they might sit beside you
Other than these, nothing much to remember
I think u go to slums from your description above.

An old apartment along riverside drive, rather expensive slum

Threads: 134

Likes Given: 292
Singaporean all very rich many live in condo what is USA

Threads: 159

Likes Given: 2,133
What I did enjoy during my trip to the US was a hike in Yellowstone national park but that was years ago.

Threads: 114

Likes Given: 290
(28-04-2024, 11:38 AM)red3 Wrote: Please breakdown the 160k by us city and airport and duration.
If 90% is just new york, there is nothing much to say for the abysmal number
USA got great number of great scenes and places, some like NY for sure.
Also a chunk of Sporeans reside there.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Overseas_Singaporean
so nothing surprising.

Threads: 33

Likes Given: 2,566
(28-04-2024, 03:56 PM)winbig Wrote: I think u go to slums from your description above.
First thing which came to his mind was porn. That's listed as Point 1.
Next was his low ses stay at a goddamnit hostel. Not five star hotel wor.
You say lorh.
Observer = KILLjoy = starbugstk = Dan = lvlrsSTI = OWNER.
Trying so hard to find my Archilles Point wor. Hehe

Nvml. Now you're an old pdf, how to be high ses leh, right?