Forum: Singaporeans’ behaviour not aligned with country’s world-class standards

https://www.straitstimes.com/opinion/for...-standards
[+] 2 users Like forum456's post

This forum writer should not make sweeping generalisations of ALL S'poreans based on several complaining individuals holding their red passports. For all you know, some could be new citizens from Third World Countries such as India, China, Malaysia or Indonesia.    
[+] 3 users Like EvertonDiehard's post

As for the visitors from countries like Japan and Thailand, where the arriving flights were from, they may have displayed kindness, patience and graciousness because they have witnessed such delays back home owing to natural disasters and in the case of Thailand, perhaps some inefficiency and technological challenges.

(23-07-2024, 01:04 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  This forum writer should not make sweeping generalisations of ALL S'poreans based on several complaining individuals holding their red passports. For all you know, some could be new citizens from Third World Countries such as India, China, Malaysia or Indonesia.    

Malaysian PP also red colour..🤣

(23-07-2024, 01:04 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  This forum writer should not make sweeping generalisations of ALL S'poreans based on several complaining individuals holding their red passports. For all you know, some could be new citizens from Third World Countries such as India, China, Malaysia or Indonesia.    

Regardless of whether they were born, raised and schooled here or from those countries you listed, they are all "Singaporean".

Once I attended an event organized by my MP.  The reason why I attended....do you want to know the truth, nothing but the damned truth?  OK, you want.  I attended because of the words on the poster "Makan provided".  Rotfl

From what I know, it would be the usual simpur fare...samosa, mini spring rolls, siew mai, friedn bee hoon, chicken wings, which I can well afford to buy, but I still attend because I am a Singaporean and I am only being a Singaporean.

Several lau funties and even a few lau funkers shocked me.  They came with plastic bafs....which they must have stolen from Fairprice or Sheng Siong which were provided for packing fruits like apples, oranges, and as soon as everybody has had a first round, they started to tabao...

They were not a bunch of Bangala who tabao the not-yet-leftovers for dinner.  They were Singaporeans!

There are many stories of Singaporeans displaying third-class behaviour....I would be writing a book if I go on.

(23-07-2024, 10:19 AM)forum456 Wrote:  https://www.straitstimes.com/opinion/for...-standards

when not reacted as described then i m worried 
it is  a v v normal human behaviour.

u could see this repetition many times when q to pay at supermarkets

Well said

Want to have Class, must have $$

With Singaporeans making the low and average income, cannot have Class at all

Eating at Hawker Centres that is hot, sweaty, humid, oily . . .

How to have Class??

Sack half the Mayors & PAP Ministers

(23-07-2024, 01:52 PM)Oyk Wrote:  Regardless of whether they were born, raised and schooled here or from those countries you listed, they are all "Singaporean".Once I attended an event organized by my MP.  The reason why I attended....do you want to know the truth, nothing but the damned truth?  OK, you want.  I attended because of the words on the poster "Makan provided".  From what I know, it would be the usual simpur fare...samosa, mini spring rolls, siew mai, friedn bee hoon, chicken wings, which I can well afford to buy, but I still attend because I am a Singaporean and I am only being a Singaporean.Several lau funties and even a few lau funkers shocked me.  They came with plastic bafs....which they must have stolen from Fairprice or Sheng Siong which were provided for packing fruits like apples, oranges, and as soon as everybody has had a first round, they started to tabao...They were not a bunch of Bangala who tabao the not-yet-leftovers for dinner.  They were Singaporeans!There are many stories of Singaporeans displaying third-class behaviour....I would be writing a book if I go on.

Several Spaniards verbally insulted and sprayed water on tourists because they blamed overcrowding and price increases in Spain on visitors. Is the forum writer going to claim that ALL Spanish people are uncouth, racist and ungrateful in treating tourists who help their economy grow by visiting their country like this?  

(23-07-2024, 03:35 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  Several Spaniards verbally insulted and sprayed water on tourists because they blamed overcrowding and price increases in Spain on visitors. Is the forum writer going to claim that ALL Spanish people are uncouth, racist and ungrateful in treating tourists who help their economy grow by visiting their country like this?  

Did he mean ALL Singaporeans were like that, or was he saying that in general?

You see, bro, we tend to laugh at ourselves when we poke fun at ourselves and even coin words to "summarise" ourselves but can't take it if someone who is not one of us says the hard truth.  For eg, no Singaporean minds it if another Singaporean says we are kiasu.  But you would take umbrage with a foreigner, such as a Pinoy or a Chinese, saying it, and you'd challenge him with "Are you being fair to generalise and say that ALL Singaporeans are kiasu?"

Mahatail blamed the Malays for his own failure to lift Malaysia from third world to first even though the rakyat gave him 22 years to do it.  He said the Malays were lazy.  He could say it without consequences (not sure if it affected his votes but it didn't his life)  If Lim Guan Eng were the one who said it, what do you think would have happened?

(23-07-2024, 10:19 AM)forum456 Wrote:  https://www.straitstimes.com/opinion/for...-standards

Disagree. I have travelled extensively as well and do not find it much different in other supposedly "world class" countries which I take Mr Sim to mean places like US, UK and western Europe.

For e.g. when I was in Amsterdam clearing security, there was a power breakdown and electronic door scans had to be abandoned for manual pat downs. I saw the same queue rushing and complaints among many Caucasian travelers as well. Another time when I was transiting at Seattle something went wrong during boarding resulting in a stuttering queue, I see some American travelers in a heated exchange with ground staff demanding they "do something". Lots of muttering and glares during the wait as well.

At the end of the day, people who have travelled for long hours are understandably looking forward to returning home or checking into a hotel room to rest, it is only natural for there to be some grouses and impatience when there is a significant delay. We are talking about ordinary people here, not a bunch of highly disciplined or jaded SAF personnel where rush to wait and wait to rush is the norm.

As long as there is no physical altercation or abusive behavior, what is so "unworld class" to vent off steam with a few grouses or glares?

As for the Japanese, their "courtesy" and "patience" in public is well-know and perhaps an aberration. However, if you have ever lived in Japan extensively or managed a group of Japanese in your work, you will also know there is a dark side of their culture and behavior that many normal tourists do not see.

(23-07-2024, 04:04 PM)Oyk Wrote:  Did he mean ALL Singaporeans were like that, or was he saying that in general?

The forum writer wrote: "While system failures are inevitable, the ensuing chaos made me question whether Singaporeans truly embody the class and character we often pride ourselves on, especially when our well-oiled machineries fail." It sounds like he was making a sweeping generalisation of ALL Singaporeans!

(23-07-2024, 04:42 PM)maxsanic Wrote:  Disagree. I have travelled extensively as well and do not find it much different in other supposedly "world class" countries which I take Mr Sim to mean places like US, UK and western Europe. For e.g. when I was in Amsterdam clearing security, there was a power breakdown and electronic door scans had to be abandoned for manual pat downs. I saw the same queue rushing and complaints among many Caucasian travelers as well. Another time when I was transiting at Seattle something went wrong during boarding resulting in a stuttering queue, I see some American travelers in a heated exchange with ground staff demanding they "do something". Lots of muttering and glares during the wait as well.At the end of the day, people who have travelled for long hours are understandably looking forward to returning home or checking into a hotel room to rest, it is only natural for there to be some grouses and impatience when there is a significant delay. We are talking about ordinary people here, not a bunch of highly disciplined or jaded SAF personnel where rush to wait and wait to rush is the norm.As long as there is no physical altercation or abusive behavior, what is so "unworld class" to vent off steam with a few grouses or glares?

I recall the chaotic long queues at Heathrow Airport in London and LA International Airport during my year-end family holidays to those 2 cities in 2022 and 2023. The tourists, who were mostly Caucasians, were up in arms complaining and some were using abusive language to the airport service staff who were trying to appease them.

(23-07-2024, 05:21 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  I recall the chaotic long queues at Heathrow Airport in London and LA International Airport during my year-end family holidays to those 2 cities in 2022 and 2023. The tourists, who were mostly Caucasians, were up in arms complaining and some were using abusive language to the airport service staff who were trying to appease them.

Yea, it's quite common across the world, world class country or not. I mean people are tired, cramped in a tight space, not provided ETAs on when the situation can be resolved etc. Does this Mr Sim writer expect everyone to simply endorse the Moral Education standard answer?

Singaporeans aren't exactly very well-behaved when overseas, but going on some rant that we are not world class just because of a few mutterings and glares is ridiculous.

maybe we are not paid world class salary

(23-07-2024, 08:03 PM)maxsanic Wrote:  Singaporeans aren't exactly very well-behaved when overseas, but going on some rant that we are not world class just because of a few mutterings and glares is ridiculous.

People like to make sweeping generalisations even though they are often inaccurate because it is easy to categorise others based on groupings. Owing to assumptions, people tend to seek info that confirm their existing beliefs, which in turn, reinforces generalisations. Mr Sim relies on easily accessible info which leads to his generalisation based on vivid examples, recent events and growing up hearing that his fellow Sinkies are kiasu.

Pap using their shittimes media to badmouth Singaporeans.

(23-07-2024, 08:03 PM)maxsanic Wrote:  Singaporeans aren't exactly very well-behaved when overseas, but going on some rant that we are not world class just because of a few mutterings and glares is ridiculous.

Some S'poreans appear arrogant only when travelling to Third World countries where they lord it over the locals, but are more likely to be meek as mice while in North America or Europe.