ANN KOK SAYS SHE'S STILL SINGLE & NO SUITORS, "I LIKE MEN

(15-11-2023, 08:49 AM)Blin Wrote:  High maintenance.

According to World's Wealthiest Cities Report 2023, S'pore has been named the 5th richest city in the world and the 2nd richest in Asia. SG is home to 240,100 millionaires, 329 centimillionaires and 27 billionaires.

With so many filthy rich people living in this tiny island of so few beauties, it could not have been an affordability issue. Moreover, a real looker like Ann does not come often. There could be other reasons unbeknown to us.

(16-11-2023, 01:16 AM)S I M T A N Wrote:  According to World's Wealthiest Cities Report 2023, S'pore has been named the 5th richest city in the world and the 2nd richest in Asia. SG is home to 240,100 millionaires, 329 centimillionaires and 27 billionaires.

With so many filthy rich people living in this tiny island of so few beauties, it could not have been an affordability issue. Moreover, a real looker like Ann does not come often. There could be other reasons unbeknown to us.

In her schooldays, Ann would have had many rides with her classmates on buses and in the MRT, giggling all the way as one might, rightly or wrongly, imagine schoolgirls to do.

She was free like a butterfly. 

After she became a local celebrity, the public would expect her to be only often seen on screen and rarely seen on stage.

The last thing they would expect is Ann Kok standing on a bus or sitting opposite KILLjoy in a MRT. Rotfl

Whoever dates her has to meet public expectations, not hers. Expectations which were imposed on her.

Damn it. She couldn't even wear the Singapore costume that comprises a T-shirt, shorts and flip flops to line up at Ang Mo Kio Block 722 hawker centre to buy char kway teow. She had to dress up to the 9.5 and spend 6 times more for her lunch wor.

But you are right. There is no lack of men who can afford to buy a car and buy one for each of them, and eat at expensive places. Observer of course isn't one of them.  Rotfl

(16-11-2023, 11:59 AM)Oyk Wrote:  Rotfl
FÜCK sgtalk.net/User-Oyk

(16-11-2023, 11:59 AM)Oyk Wrote:  In her schooldays, Ann would have had many rides with her classmates on buses and in the MRT, giggling all the way as one might, rightly or wrongly, imagine schoolgirls to do.

She was free like a butterfly. 

After she became a local celebrity, the public would expect her to be only often seen on screen and rarely seen on stage.

The last thing they would expect is Ann Kok standing on a bus or sitting opposite KILLjoy in a MRT. Rotfl

Whoever dates her has to meet public expectations, not hers. Expectations which were imposed on her.

Damn it. She couldn't even wear the Singapore costume that comprises a T-shirt, shorts and flip flops to line up at Ang Mo Kio Block 722 hawker centre to buy char kway teow. She had to dress up to the 9.5 and spend 6 times more for her lunch wor.

But you are right. There is no lack of men who can afford to buy a car and buy one for each of them, and eat at expensive places. Observer of course isn't one of them.  Rotfl

Many aspiring actors rose to fame after taking part in the annual Star Search award contest. Others went for auditions, and after a few acting jobs on the soap, they gained prominence. Ann Kok was reported to have started her acting career in the eighties, which means she was a child actress at the onset of her incredibly long career spanning some 40 years. From the time she was a child, acting must have beckoned to her.

Many who had a lot of staying power went on to become household names. A household face is not just a face in the crowd. They're recognizable faces in the entertainment industry. For obvious reasons, Mediacorp has always discouraged their artists, esp the A-listers, in their employ from taking public transport. They should preferably rely on cars as a means of transportation.

Celebrities often find it hard to escape the glare of public scrutiny after being thrust into the limelight. Anything untoward about their appearance or movement is bound to set tongues wagging. If fans notice a change in a star's appearance - from, for instance, a fairly pretty face to a stunning face - you could hear whispers that she's gone under the knife of a plastic surgeon.

Once, a well-known actress married beneath her - to an extra. Her hordes of fans found the marital mismatch a bit hard to swallow at first. When they sobered up, they accused the extra of trying to piggyback on his famous actress wife's success. Their prediction became a self-fulfilling prophecy when the lowly actor went on to become as famous as his wife. These sorts of stories about sex and famous people are keeping the rumour mill churning. Ann Kok remains the piece of the puzzle, and it seems hard to solve.
[+] 1 user Likes S I M T A N's post

(16-11-2023, 01:16 AM)Observer Wrote:  Shut up!  Fug you!  How dare you say I have a sick mind!

At other forums, I will be bend, so I start my own forum. It's for me. I did not start this forum for you fuggers!~  Get that CLEAR in your head!

Not happy ah?  Go and tell AWARE, tell them I objectify women lor.  Hehe.  KNNCCB.  Angry Angry Angry

(17-11-2023, 01:27 AM)S I M T A N Wrote:  Many aspiring actors rose to fame after taking part in the annual Star Search award contest. Others went for auditions, and after a few acting jobs on the soap, they gained prominence. Ann Kok was reported to have started her acting career in the eighties, which means she was a child actress at the onset of her incredibly long career spanning some 40 years. From the time she was a child, acting must have beckoned to her.

Many who had a lot of staying power went on to become household names. A household face is not just a face in the crowd. They're recognizable faces in the entertainment industry. For obvious reasons, Mediacorp has always discouraged their artists, esp the A-listers, in their employ from taking public transport. They should preferably rely on cars as a means of transportation.

Celebrities often find it hard to escape the glare of public scrutiny. Anything untoward about their appearance or movement is bound to set tongues wagging. If fans notice a change in a star's appearance - from, for instance, a fairly pretty face to a stunning face - you could hear whispers that she's gone under the knife of a plastic surgeon.

Once, a well-known actress married beneath her - to an extra. Her hordes of fans found the marital mismatch a bit hard to swallow at first. When they sobered up, they accused the extra of trying to piggyback on his famous actress wife's success. Their prediction became a self-fulfilling prophecy when the lowly actor went on to become as famous as his wife. These sorts of stories about sex and famous people are keeping the rumour mill churning. Ann Kok remains the piece of the puzzle, and it seems hard to solve.

Where's your sauce?

Wiki says she started acting in  1993 wor.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ann_Kok

Kok started her acting career in 1993 after emerging as a finalist in the local talent-search competition Star Search, where she won a contract to work on Chinese-language TV channel SBC 8 (now MediaCorp Channel 8).

(15-11-2023, 12:31 AM)S I M T A N Wrote:  Sorry, I ain't a monkish man and therefore I am at a loss to explain why monks and nuns can be "complete" without a soul mate, if that's what you mean. By soul mate I mean a husband or a wife. 
I can't live without a woman and sex. Thus, exchanging wedding vows is terribly important to me. Speaking only for myself, I believe in the institution of marriage. Shortly after God created Adam, He said it wasn't good for a man to be alone. He then created Eve, using a rib from Adam, to be his companion, and told them to go forth and multiply. I've found that doing God's will has brought big dividend in terms of happiness in marriage. I have enjoyed many years of marital bliss and family life. My wife and I are perfect soul mates. Since men and women are made for each other, why don't we complete the sentence and say they should be joined together in holy matrimony?

I have been happily married for more than 20 years, and cannot imagine life without my wife and children. My happiest memories have revolved around my family so singlehood is definitely not for me.  As for priests, monks and nuns, they have their own reasons for remaining single.  Whether it is their love and devotion to God, or personal reasons such as not having any desire for companionship from the opposite sex, I cannot say.  As long as they are fulfilled and are not feeling lonely, to each his/her own. Praise the Lord for blessing you with a devoted wife. 
[+] 2 users Like EvertonDiehard's post

(15-11-2023, 08:49 AM)Blin Wrote:  High maintenance.

Middle-aged women who have enjoyed success in their career would not necessarily be "high maintenance" at their age.  They would be accustomed to "the good life", but should be more interested in love and companionship now. They long to find a soulmate;  someone who shares their hopes and dreams, and can fill that void in their life.

(16-11-2023, 01:16 AM)S I M T A N Wrote:  According to World's Wealthiest Cities Report 2023, S'pore has been named the 5th richest city in the world and the 2nd richest in Asia. SG is home to 240,100 millionaires, 329 centimillionaires and 27 billionaires.
With so many filthy rich people living in this tiny island of so few beauties, it could not have been an affordability issue. Moreover, a real looker like Ann does not come often. There could be other reasons unbeknown to
us.

After attending my various class reunions from secondary, JC and NUS, I notice that some of the most attractive, intelligent and popular girls remain single in their 50s. Did suitors shy away because they felt these women were out of their league or were the ladies too picky waiting for their knight in shining armour to come along? How many of these attractive women actually prefer to remain single?  Only the women can truly answer these questions.   

(17-11-2023, 09:35 AM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  After attending my various class reunions from secondary, JC and NUS, I notice that some of the most attractive, intelligent and popular girls remain single in their 50s. Did suitors shy away because they felt these women were out of their league or were the ladies too picky waiting for their knight in shining armour to come along? How many of these attractive women actually prefer to remain single?  Only the women can truly answer these questions.   

A woman who is successful in career is placed high up in the organisation chart.

It's a pyramid. Most men would be below her. Her choice of eligible bachelors would be small if she does not want to marry down.

(17-11-2023, 09:04 AM)Oyk Wrote:  Where's your sauce?

Wiki says she started acting in  1993 wor.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ann_Kok

Kok started her acting career in 1993 after emerging as a finalist in the local talent-search competition Star Search, where she won a contract to work on Chinese-language TV channel SBC 8 (now MediaCorp Channel 8).

My bad! I gathered this erroneous piece of info from an entertainment site while neglecting to read Bigiron's post(8) which provides more reliable information, courtesy of Wikipedia. That mistake was a beauty. Thanks for the correction.

The hastily-turned sentence in bold is ungrammatical and lacks clarity. "island of so few beauties" is bad grammar. Allow me to rephrase the sentence for clarity and flesh it out with more details.

There are so many filthy rich people but so few available beauties living in this tiny island. Men with money to burn don't have much choice when it comes to snaring the choicest catch. The really good-looking Ann Kok would have been the pick of the bunch, or at least an excellent catch. However, her age may count against her. For the well-heeled, money is no object; they want the best.

(17-11-2023, 09:35 AM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  After attending my various class reunions from secondary, JC and NUS, I notice that some of the most attractive, intelligent and popular girls remain single in their 50s. Did suitors shy away because they felt these women were out of their league or were the ladies too picky waiting for their knight in shining armour to come along? How many of these attractive women actually prefer to remain single?  Only the women can truly answer these questions.   

"Knight in shining armor," "Prince Charming," "Mr Right."  Such cliched phrases are the stuff of dreams. Women know that, and they also know that waiting for the perfect romantic partner to come is a never-ending wait. They can tick all the right boxes, it will likely result in unmet expectations. In the imperfect world we live in, human imperfection calls for some sort of trade-off, one in which women accept some minor failings in their prospective partner. They have to take the good with the bad if there's going to be a flicker of hope of their friendship blossoming into romance.

Marriage is important to women. They're monogamous, and they want a man who will love and treasure them dearly, father their kids and walk with them in the journey through life. I believe many unmarried women have been in relationships that did not work out. Why?

(18-11-2023, 01:24 AM)S I M T A N Wrote:  The hastily-turned sentence in bold is ungrammatical and lacks clarity. "island of so few beauties" is bad grammar. Allow me to rephrase the sentence for clarity and flesh it out with more details.

There are so many filthy rich people but so few available beauties living in this tiny island. Men with money to burn don't have much choice when it comes to snaring the choicest catch. The really good-looking Ann Kok would have been the pick of the bunch, or at least an excellent catch. However, her age may count against her. For the well-heeled, money is no object; they want the best.

Neo, it ish not ungrammatical.  It ish at worst not quite "factual" if you think that the word "available" should be in the sentence. 

Errors of grammar and errors of fact are two different things.

Yours was an error of fact because it should have been written as:  an island of too few local beauties

The average Singaporean chabor is admittedly fugly.

But Singaporeans account for 60% of the population nia, of which half are PGs, MGs, and xoomers.  That leaves only 30% who are somewhere below the age of 45 all the way to 1 day old..

But we have 40% foreigners who are young, and erm...either yandao or chio.  40% young foreigners vs 30% young locals should raise the NLI (National Look Index) right.

So we do not lack beauties, and there really is neo sexcuse why Observer aka KJ (that's not the Reform Party boss) has to surf porn and masturbate while c/p-ing those he fancied here.  He' sick in the mind.  Rolleyes

(18-11-2023, 10:01 AM)Oyk Wrote:   Rolleyes
I AM DEFECTIVE HUMAN BEING sgtalk.net/User-Oyk
FÜCK OYK
FÜCK OYK
FÜCK OYK
FÜCK OYK
FÜCK OYK
FÜCK OYK

(18-11-2023, 10:01 AM)Oyk Wrote:  My granddaughter is any time better than Ann Cock.
What does SIMTAN know about beauty?
He only knows my arse.
I am getting rich soon.  Rolleyes

[Image: jhjNTc0.jpg]

Laughing Laughing

(18-11-2023, 01:33 AM)S I M T A N Wrote:  "Knight in shining armor," "Prince Charming," "Mr Right."  Such cliched phrases are the stuff of dreams. Women know that, and they also know that waiting for the perfect romantic partner to come is a never-ending wait. They can tick all the right boxes, it will likely result in unmet expectations. In the imperfect world we live in, human imperfection calls for some sort of trade-off, one in which women accept some minor failings in their prospective partner. They have to take the good with the bad if there's going to be a flicker of hope of their friendship blossoming into romance. Marriage is important to women. They're monogamous, and they want a man who will love and treasure them dearly, father their kids and walk with them in the journey through life. I believe many unmarried women have been in relationships that did not work out. Why?
I feel that to love perfection is to hate life because life is never perfect. Having said that, I also know of friends/former classmates who "settled" with a suitor whom they weren't really in love with, because they were already pushing 30.    

(17-11-2023, 10:09 PM)Oyk Wrote:  A woman who is successful in career is placed high up in the organisation chart.
It's a pyramid. Most men would be below her. Her choice of eligible bachelors would be small if she does not want to marry down.

The problem could lie with most S'porean men who would be intimidated by women holding high positions at work and possessing higher educational qualifications than them. Would these men be able to muster up enough courage to pursue such ladies to begin with? My guess is that most would consider such highfliers out of their league.

(18-11-2023, 02:12 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  I feel that to love perfection is to hate life because life is never perfect. Having said that, I also know of friends/former classmates who "settled" with a suitor whom they weren't really in love with, because they were already pushing 30.    

Knnbccb love where got perfect one! If your friends not really in love why the fuuck they married? For fuucking only right? " Love At First Fuuck" knnbccb!

Thinking Oyk:Tempt peepur at their Archilles Point: GREED

Maybe this one is EVERLASTING LOVE lah knnbccb!

[Image: Vq8SI96.jpg]

(18-11-2023, 02:22 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  The problem could lie with most S'porean men who would be intimidated by women holding high positions at work and possessing higher educational qualifications than them. Would these men be able to muster up enough courage to pursue such ladies to begin with? My guess is that most would consider such highfliers out of their league.

Not quite wor. The problem lies with the village that entrenches old norms.

As long as the men are brought up to believe they are to be providers, and women are brought up to expect the men to provide, how in hell is a man earning $2000 going to think he can provide for a woman who earns five times as much?

There has to be a seismic mindset change. Are women willing?  Rolleyes

so she likes men means what??
men touching her or
she icecream or what?
common what likes men???

(18-11-2023, 10:37 PM)menghuii Wrote:  so she likes men means what??
men touching her or
she icecream or what?
common what likes men???

You don't seem to understand the female psyche. Unless a woman is a roving nymphomaniac, she won't anyhow jump into bed with any man。 She may like a guy as a friend, but she's not likely to go to bed with him unless she falls in love with him.

If you treat a lady to a candlelight dinner, shower her with gifts or kisses, and whisper sweet nothings in her ear, telling her she's your one true love, I bet my life she'll bonker you out of your mind!

For women, love and sex are intertwined. A woman needs to feel loved or has the feelings of love before she's ready for sex. Why can't you be more romantic?

(18-11-2023, 02:22 PM)starbugstk Wrote:  Knnbccb love where got perfect one! If your friends not really in love why the fuuck they married? For fuucking only right? " Love At First Fuuck" knnbccb!

You can't use words like that in polite discussion. Hehe.

Theirs is a loveless marriage where they may have a purely physical relationship. A physical relationship involving sex is never very good without the emotional closeness. But their physical intimacy, if any, can cause them to fall in love. Don't forget people fall in and out of love, and there are couples who fell out of love with each other after they married.

They may be happy with their current arrangement, a companionship-only arrangement or whatever arrangement they may have. So give them a break and don't be hard on them please.

(18-11-2023, 10:01 AM)Oyk Wrote:  Neo, it ish not ungrammatical.  It ish at worst not quite "factual" if you think that the word "available" should be in the sentence. 

Errors of grammar and errors of fact are two different things.

Yours was an error of fact because it should have been written as:  an island of too few local beauties

The average Singaporean chabor is admittedly fugly.

But Singaporeans account for 60% of the population nia, of which half are PGs, MGs, and xoomers.  That leaves only 30% who are somewhere below the age of 45 all the way to 1 day old..

But we have 40% foreigners who are young, and erm...either yandao or chio.  40% young foreigners vs 30% young locals should raise the NLI (National Look Index) right.

So we do not lack beauties, and there really is neo sexcuse why Observer aka KJ (that's not the Reform Party boss) has to surf porn and masturbate while c/p-ing those he fancied here.  He' sick in the mind.  Rolleyes

1) Island of so few beauties. Can you make sense of this phrase?

2) Island peopled by so few beauties.

3) Island inhabited by so few beauties.

The first one is poor grammar, no doubt about it, and was constructed by yours truly.

NB: Inhabit isn't an appropriate word here. It's mainly used in formal or scientific contexts. In everyday language, peepur usu say
someone lives in a place.

It's factual knowledge that S'pore girls don't do very well in the looks department. The great majority aren't exactly ugly ducklings; they're plain Janes, to put it politely. Even local beauty queens have been described by many observers as just eye candy, nothing to shout about.

Yeah, there's nothing to be proud of, given that SG beauty contestants representing the country in past international beauty pageants almost invariably got knocked out in the early round. The dearth of local beauties can be chalked up to our small population, thanks to our low birthrate.

Fortunately for those in the market for a wife or companion, the prettier aliens along with our locals are available for picks. Someone who's available doesn't have a husband, boyfriend and therefore may want to start a new romantic relationship with someone else. Divorcees, widows and those currently unattached can join the dating game.

NB: 'Alien' is used in official contexts. In everyday English, 'foreigner' is used, but many here have a distrust of foreigners, so it may be better to use the expression 'peepur from other countries.' Big Grin

Knnbccb why this SIMTAN write so much about Ann Kok?
Is it because last time he tried to win her heart but failed? Obviously what, look at his fuuked face! Knnbccb even a CECA maid will also run far far away from him.
Now he become a English teacher in a Market Talk forum knnbccb!
People here can understand each other very well as long as their message gets through with simple English or Singlish and there is no need to split the fuuking hair over one word 'beauty'
If you want to boast go here lah https://www.reddit.com/r/grammar/
Go and read all his posts, he tried to boast about his English by writing long winded story with bombastic words. Knnbccb! Remember this is a market forum not a English Grammar classroom and if you want politeness you are in a wrong classroom move out! Knnbccb!

[+] 1 user Likes starbugstk's post

(18-11-2023, 02:12 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  I feel that to love perfection is to hate life because life is never perfect. Having said that, I also know of friends/former classmates who "settled" with a suitor whom they weren't really in love with, because they were already pushing 30.    

Well, they'd probably love their chewren when they come along.  As long as the man can bring the bacon home, having a spouse they love is no longer a consideration or requirement if that dreaded "3" was on the near horizon.  It was the last call, and if they didn't board the plane, they would miss it, so they reasoned.

Could bring the bacon home
This one should be a prerequisite ba.  It's not a happy thing to be unable to marry the man they like, better still love.  It would be double unhappiness to have to settle for a low ses BBFA like KJ who can't even feed himself.   Rotfl

(19-11-2023, 09:31 AM)Observer Wrote:  Well, they'd probably love their chewren when they come along.  As long as the man can bring the bacon home, having a spouse they love is no longer a consideration or requirement if that dreaded "3" was on the near horizon.  It was the last call, and if they didn't board the plane, they would miss it, so they reasoned.

Could bring the bacon home
I am rejected by women.  Even dinobu hiam me because I cannot even feed myself plus my face really look likes a frog! Laughing

This is why I surf porn every day and masturbate.   Rotfl

(19-11-2023, 02:14 AM)S I M T A N Wrote:  1) Island of so few beauties. Can you make sense of this phrase?

2) Island peopled by so few beauties.

3) Island inhabited by so few beauties.

The first one is poor grammar, no doubt about it, and was constructed by yours truly.

NB: Inhabit isn't an appropriate word here. It's mainly used in formal or scientific contexts. In everyday language, peepur usu say
someone lives in a place.

It's factual knowledge that S'pore girls don't do very well in the looks department. The great majority aren't exactly ugly ducklings; they're plain Janes, to put it politely. Even local beauty queens have been described by many observers as just eye candy, nothing to shout about.

Yeah, there's nothing to be proud of, given that SG beauty contestants representing the country in past international beauty pageants almost invariably got knocked out in the early round. The dearth of local beauties can be chalked up to our small population, thanks to our low birthrate.

Fortunately for those in the market for a wife or companion, the prettier aliens along with our locals are available for picks. Someone who's available doesn't have a husband, boyfriend and therefore may want to start a new romantic relationship with someone else. Divorcees, widows and those currently unattached can join the dating game.

NB: 'Alien' is used in official contexts. In everyday English, 'foreigner' is used, but many here have a distrust of foreigners, so it may be better to use the expression 'peepur from other countries.' Big Grin

An island of so few beauties... acceptable ba.

If Singaporean women aren't eye candies, the same goes for the men who aren't yandaos Same parents, the same gene set, except that they are born with a kkj.  No woncder Fann Wong married a jhk.  

A high TFR would only increase our chances for failure at any beautiy pageant.  It's just reproducing more of the same fugly creatures.  Rolleyes

"Foreigner" is not used in China.  There, they call non-Chinese ----> Aliens.  A Singaporean going there is called an Alien.  It shant help to scream I am Chinese! I am Chinese! as most here would do.  The immigration kor kor will tell them, neo, chiu are a Singaporean, not a Chinese.  Look at the colour of your passport, and if you can read, look what's written on the cover.  Nao, kindly line up over there... those rows for Aliens.   Rolleyes

Imagine everytime an odf queued up at the fast lane meant for chinese nationals always kena dragged away by gongan. He would yell and kick the gongan, scream and show them his pink ic which states he's chinese. Very funny and xia sway right?