CNA : S'pore Living and Dying Alone is now.common

(06-07-2024, 10:43 AM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote:  Dun worry too much lah. Soon there'll be domestic robots which would alert your neighbors when they couldn't detect any of your vital signs and shout 来人啊,救命啊!. Not difficult to build right?

Agree. Robot caregivers will be commercially viable within 10 years as many Chinese tech companies are working on this to tackle the ageing population there.

Like this relative fast and agile household robot:

And prices won't be high (vs employing human helpers) as Unitree had recently launched a humanoid robot for just CNY 99K.
I believe prices should drop to around CNY 50-60K once these robot caregivers are mass produced.

With cloud-based AI, these robots can also help to lower medical care cost for the masses by providing medical diagnosis without the elderly having to venture out.

(06-07-2024, 03:05 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote:  But have to see , another researcher inside the video also highlight now a days young people RIP quite often. Who knows their child already RIP , is back to square one. Unless that family have more than one child. The WORST is the chidren don't even bother .

You are just finding very weak excuse to console yourself for being single and guarantee die alone because you are too sticky to spend 3k or 4k a month to stay in old folks home. 
Lucky your mother din think like you, otherwise she would have dump you in the garbage bin as you might die before her. So better dun keep you and  waste money feeding and schooling you.    Rolleyes

(06-07-2024, 04:26 PM)Huliwang Wrote:  You are just finding very weak excuse to console yourself for being single and guarantee die alone because you are too sticky to spend 3k or 4k a month to stay in old folks home. 
Lucky your mother din think like you, otherwise she would have dump you in the garbage bin as you might die before her. So better dun keep you and  waste money feeding and schooling you.    Rolleyes

Smile single happy go lucky. I'm Gen X thinkings is different. This is why I see come retire , Gen X and current Gen Z or so on the future gen is can't wait to retire as we are computer literate. So many entertainment , so many things can do online even you see come trading , you even can see people selling things online for fun earn extra money even some do full time . You see the future gen thoughts is different from current old gen what scare retire wait become dementia more easily etc.

Look at the Western folks even PRC elderly happy retire. Dementia this thing is Western folks discover first yet they don't feel so worry.

Actually, MOH should start Nation- Wide Data Collection

For those above 65 years old regarding their decision for Hospitals to take

ie CPR or if heart stops, just let go

But we know PAP will Always be 12 YEARS TOO LATE.

Seniors are getting worried because the G is not doing their job.  This is not a good sign.

[+] 1 user Likes Symmetry's post

(06-07-2024, 10:26 AM)moonrab Wrote:  Dying alone is common in modern cities. 
Because old folk has a house, too comfortable to moves into old folks home.
It happens in Japan and Korea commonly too..

You are correct; the trend of singles and gays uplifted the numbers..
This problem is a personal choice of lifestyle issue. And not easy for government's intervention.

Only needs a mother around to look after you.

Why picking both Japan and S Korea with much bigger population than Singapore?

The richest country system failure..

Why no hiccups in compulsory enlistment of 18 yo male to serve NS and years of reservists to defend the country?

Yet, cannot look after them or offer certain basic healthcare services at later age.

(06-07-2024, 09:04 PM)Symmetry Wrote:  Seniors are getting worried because the G is not doing their job.  This is not a good sign.

A taboos, prohibited or afraid to be discussed openly.

The worst is yet to come

Imagine only 4 mio citizens living in 710 km2 : A&E hospitals shortages of beds for sick and elderly patients.
Ambulances cannot handle 750 calls in one day

Any reasons as to Why is Singapore missing from the crowd..?

Top 10 Countries with the Most Educated Population in the world 2024

1.S Korea
2. Canada
3. Japan
4. Ireland
5. Luxembourg
6. United Kingdom
7. Lithuania
8. Netherland
9. Norway
10. Australia..

Top 10 Countries With the Most Educated Population In the World https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/educ...512951.cms

So why now while it wasn't common 30 or 40 years ago?

Should start searching inside the barrel 

Shutup taboos

(06-07-2024, 08:41 AM)sgbuffett Wrote:  

A short history of just over 60 years with a population of 4 mio born citizens facing such problems much too soon.

Very Scary! Only 2 generations

Ask Chatgpt see any solution? AI they nowadays they trust....

(07-07-2024, 05:07 AM)Scythian Wrote:  Only needs a mother around to look after you.

You're still a baby har...🤣
Mummy boy..🤭
No wonder you missed breastfeeding ..🤣

(07-07-2024, 05:07 AM)Scythian Wrote:  Only needs a mother around to look after you.

Almost 22,000 people in Japan died at home alone in the first three months of this year, according to a recent report by the national police agency, about 80% of them aged 65 or older. By the end of the year, the agency estimates that cases of solitary deaths will reach 68,000, compared with about 27,000 in 2011.

About the show: In 2023, there were at least 37 cases of lonely deaths in Singapore reported by the media.

Look at the lonely death case ratio la. .🤣

"Multi million $ politicians spent much time bringing Taylor Swift to sing in Singapore but no time for those poor elderly sick and dying alone in HDBs"

Rubbish

(07-07-2024, 06:19 AM)moonrab Wrote:  Almost 22,000 people in Japan died at home alone in the first three months of this year, according to a recent report by the national police agency, about 80% of them aged 65 or older. By the end of the year, the agency estimates that cases of solitary deaths will reach 68,000, compared with about 27,000 in 2011.

About the show: In 2023, there were at least 37 cases of lonely deaths in Singapore reported by the media.

Look at the lonely death case ratio la. .🤣

So elderly Singaporeans are better off than Japanese and Korean?

Singaporeans highest IQ and richest country in the world cannot look after elderly citizens

Compare with Timbuktu lah

(07-07-2024, 06:23 AM)Scythian Wrote:  So elderly Singaporeans are better off than Japanese and Korean?

Abuthen...🤣

(07-07-2024, 06:20 AM)Scythian Wrote:  "Multi million $ politicians spent much time bringing Taylor Swift to sing in Singapore but no time for those poor elderly sick and dying alone in HDBs"

Rubbish

Japan also invited Taylor hor...🤣

(07-07-2024, 06:25 AM)moonrab Wrote:  Japan also invited Taylor hor...🤣

Taylor also sings in Melbourne and Sydney lah

Nothing to be proud about such silly stuff...no brainer

(07-07-2024, 06:25 AM)moonrab Wrote:  Japan also invited Taylor hor...🤣

Tell us something more relevant , IE how to stop elderly sick Singaporeans dying alone at home in future?

100% zero defects

(07-07-2024, 06:54 AM)Scythian Wrote:  Tell us something more relevant , IE how to stop elderly sick Singaporeans dying alone at home in future?

100% zero defects

You tell us la...
Taylor relevant meh...🤭

(06-07-2024, 02:03 PM)forum456 Wrote:  it is common in Singapore only because PAP assumes people should have children to care for them when they are old and dying so that the govt has no responsibility for such social problem.
PAP does not acknowledge the problem of elderly dying alone and does not provide elderly homes for elderly.

In the western country, the govt does not assume the children should care for elderly people because the children will leave home when they are independent.
The western govt acknowledges the problem of elderly dying alone and will provide elderly homes for elderly.

Overseas Govt are prepared and made plans. However, our Govt only pursues wealth and neglected the aging population in some ways. 

My spouse colleague did not turned up for work only to realise that she had died alone and in her sleep. She is only 55 years old and healthy individual with no records of diabetes or hypertension.

But what could the garment do in this case? If there's any useful idea better bring it up

(07-07-2024, 12:11 PM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote:  But what could the garment do in this case? If there's any useful idea better bring it up

Ask them to convert to Catholicism or Islam.

They will join a family of caring people.

(07-07-2024, 12:11 PM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote:  But what could the garment do in this case? If there's any useful idea better bring it up

Singapore

Tech that detects falls to be offered to all HDB households after pilot at Queenstown Health District

It is just one of many tools and systems being tested at the district, before deciding which can be implemented or installed in housing estates islandwide to improve residents’ quality of life.

An app notifies caregivers with a recording of the moment a resident suddenly falls onto the ground. The technology uses Lidar, which scans for movements with light detection and ranging. It only senses and records the moment of the fall,…

This audio is generated by an AI tool.

SINGAPORE: Technology that detects when a person has fallen at home and notify their family members will soon be offered to all Housing and Development Board (HDB) households.

The pilot for the project was conducted for two months in Queenstown, the site of Singapore’s first Health District co-developed with the National University Health System (NUHS).

It is just one of many tools and systems being tested at the district for potential use in housing estates to improve residents’ quality of life.

HOW THE TECH WORKS
Sensors are able to detect a resident's fall.

If the resident does not get up within one minute, an alarm will sound to alert others nearby.

A device which detects when someone has fallen at home.
Another, more advanced device uses Lidar, which scans for movements with light detection and ranging, and can sense and record the moment a person standing upright suddenly falls onto the ground.

Those living alone can pre-set the device to send instant notifications to caregivers via a mobile app, along with the recording, when such incidents are detected. 

The systems were tested in the Health District from November 2022 to February 2023, and HDB aims to offer such technology to all its households across the nation later this year.

[Image: IMG-20240707-130917.jpg]

Or add some such functions to the existing robots.

Dun think old people like Ah Butt or FA would feel safe with PAP putting monitoring gadgets in their rooms. These gadgets sure collect data of the resident and they will have zero privacy. 
You all remember last time they were very loud and complained everyday when PAP asked them to wear the Trace Together dog tag. So these detection stuff won't work.     Big Grin

yes its common, but its not necessarily lonely.

alone is NOT being lonely...

really bunch of stupid FOOker writers

the badminton player who died....
many peeps around, so he didnt die a "lonely" death?

really laughable this CNA choice of words

(07-07-2024, 01:46 PM)Huliwang Wrote:  Dun think old people like Ah Butt or FA would feel safe with PAP putting monitoring gadgets in their rooms. These gadgets sure collect data of the resident and they will have zero privacy. 
You all remember last time they were very loud and complained everyday when PAP asked them to wear the Trace Together dog tag. So these detection stuff won't work.     Big Grin

True.

Ah butt could be moaning loudly, but when ambulance arrived they may found him masturbating.  😁