Taxi driver who was once MNC manager with master’s degree

The extremely high cost of Ministers' salaries means S'poreans have to: 

[Image: qFZpXpaJyJ1Ymx5gc6b4BJyDPjZYMDHgbdpfmB0O...HY4rFdndxT]

Nowadays having a Master is nothing lah .... corporate world, most expect a master

He already declared he is very happy to be a driver,  what's wrong with that?
His earnings is enough for his family, who are we to decide what he should do?

A Carefree life is also another luxury besides making more $$$$$$$👍😊

There are some master degree holders after years of working decided to be swimming instructor, hawker, insurance agent, monk and pastor...

Are you going to fault them or Singapore? 🤣

(21-05-2024, 10:57 AM)moonrab Wrote:  He already declared he is very happy to be a driver,  what's wrong with that?
His earnings is enough for his family, who are we to decide what he should do?

A Carefree life is also another luxury besides making more $$$$$$$👍😊

Earn enough for day to day living, yes. But any saving for future retirement ... sadly many NO
In SG, you need to save for retirement, by 55-60 you should have at least 1/2 million is liquid asset minimum excluding CPF & your home which must be fully paid.
If not, many will end up like many SGtalker whining, beaching, compainig, KPKB about everything

To each his/her own: this S'porean ex-lawyer quit her job at 29 and retired at 38 in Bali with her Russian husband

[Image: vitalyjean2.jpeg]

(21-05-2024, 11:03 AM)Tangsen Wrote:  Earn enough for day to day living, yes. But any saving for future retirement ... sadly many NO
In SG, you need to save for retirement, by 55-60 you should have at least 1/2 million is liquid asset minimum excluding CPF & your home which must be fully paid.
If not, many will end up like many SGtalker whining, beaching, compainig, KPKB about everything

Fingers also have long and short. 
Humans are all different in perceptions. Yearning for different living experience. 

But you are right, one must accept the consequences of their action.

(21-05-2024, 11:05 AM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  To each his/her own: this S'porean ex-lawyer quit her job at 29 and retired at 38 in Bali with her Russian husband

[Image: vitalyjean2.jpeg]

38 ... road still bery long ahead ..... when 58 or 68, then revisit

(21-05-2024, 11:08 AM)moonrab Wrote:  Fingers also have long and short. 
Humans are all different in perceptions. Yearning for different living experience. 

But you are right, one must accept the consequences of their action.

unfortunately many are not mature enough to take responsibility about their own action instead blame everyone and everything except themselves

a master's degree is quite easy to get, even from the top universities

By research normally will take longer, 2yrs or more depending on yr luck

By coursework and a small project normally can be done in 8 months

So while it's gd to hv but not really a big deal lah.

PAP gov paying mainstream media to tell sinkies to suck thumb be happy, be taxi driver, importing FTs for MNC jobs is the right way?

Taxi driver not easy one lah. He claims to earn 4 to 8k is not easily done. Easily everyday 15hours of driving and provided got customers lah. You die your own biz in Singapore lah.

(21-05-2024, 11:17 AM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote:  a master's degree is quite easy to get, even from the top universities

By research normally will take longer, 2yrs or more depending on yr luck

By coursework and a small project normally can be done in 8 months

So while it's gd to hv but not really a big deal lah.

Thats why having a master, minimum is becoming a norm. If you are competing for a job .... every little thing counts

(21-05-2024, 11:27 AM)Sticw Wrote:  Taxi driver not easy one lah. He claims to earn 4 to 8k is not easily done. Easily everyday 15hours of driving and provided got customers lah. You die your own biz in Singapore lah.

And your health will effected

(21-05-2024, 11:17 AM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote:  a master's degree is quite easy to get, even from the top universities.  By research normally will take longer, 2yrs or more depending on yr luck. By coursework and a small project normally can be done in 8 months. So while it's gd to hv but not really a big deal lah.

Postgraduate qualifications may get you a foot in the door, but after that, it depends on your ability to perform well, but not too well that you are perceived to be a threat to your boss. 

(21-05-2024, 11:28 AM)Tangsen Wrote:  And your health will effected

The long hours behind the wheel, stress, fatigue, lack of exercise, irregular meals and toilet breaks will exact a toll on that cabby's health.

(21-05-2024, 11:27 AM)Sticw Wrote:  Taxi driver not easy one lah. He claims to earn 4 to 8k is not easily done. Easily everyday 15hours of driving and provided got customers lah. You die your own biz in Singapore lah.

My former colleague claims to be happier as a Grab driver because he is his own boss and nobody tells him what to do. Just then, I had to interrupt by telling him: "Turn left ahead and stop driving so fast while talking to me."  LOL!

Many years ago, on TV,  one professor turned taxi driver

(21-05-2024, 11:43 AM)Scythian Wrote:  Many years ago, on TV,  one professor turned taxi driver

Just because one professional made a decision that defies logic, it doesn't mean we should follow suit. 

(21-05-2024, 11:19 AM)ODA TETSURO Wrote:  PAP gov paying mainstream media to tell sinkies to suck thumb be happy, be taxi driver, importing FTs for MNC jobs is the right way?

Amy Khor also suggested that our well educated youngsters become hawkers. Why doesn't she send her own children for the same "hawkerpreneurship" program? 

We heard of local PMEs ditching their careers for the simple life of less pay, less stress, more leisure/family time etc. However, how long before their loved ones grew weary from downgrading and giving up on the comforts that their parents' previous steady income provided for? Is the road less travelled truly a happier one for the ex-PME? 

Here work work work can only buy a 5 HDB flat at most a shoebox condo. While foreigners come here to work can buy big land, own big cars n feed a whole village! Come age 40ish kenna replace by foreign talent. This is the only country who promote foreigners as first class.

(21-05-2024, 01:03 PM)A2Z Wrote:  Here work work work can only buy a 5 HDB flat at most a shoebox condo. While foreigners come here to work can buy big land, own big cars n feed a whole village! Come age 40ish kenna replace by foreign talent. This is the only country who promote foreigners as first class.

Our govt actively tries to attract foreign investments from MNCs and the ultra wealthy to set up family offices under a cloak of secrecy. This is a godsend to money launderers. These rich foreigners buy up freehold land which is scarce in S'pore, sending prices skyrocketing beyond the reach of the average S'porean. Rents are up as a result too, so everything becomes expensive here.    

He's more qualified than Lawrence Wong.

(21-05-2024, 03:40 PM)Alice Alicia Wrote:  He's more qualified than Lawrence Wong.

When you see a turtle on the fence post you know 3 things - He knows he didn't get there (promoted) by himself; he's wondering what he's doing there (he didn't get promoted on merit); he's wondering how the hell he'll get down (he has no clue how to function at his level).

[Image: postturtle.jpg]

Studying too much could sometimes render a person useless, 正所谓百无一用是书生 difficult to survive

(22-05-2024, 11:23 AM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote:  Studying too much could sometimes render a person useless, 正所谓百无一用是书生 difficult to survive

That is the problem with most of our Ministers. Few have real world experience. Scholars from privileged backgrounds have absolutely no idea about the struggles of the masses. 

(21-05-2024, 11:28 AM)Tangsen Wrote:  Thats why having a master, minimum is becoming a norm. If you are competing for a job .... every little thing counts

Having a master degree is competing for those office job. Those who cannot study must acquire a skill. With a skill one can still make a living but of course not as seng nan as office job

(20-05-2024, 04:48 PM)Bigiron Wrote:  Taxi driver who was once MNC manager with master’s degree says he’s now happier being a cabby

https://theindependent.sg/taxi-driver-wh...g-a-cabby/

Sounds like yet another driver reporting revenue as profit. Short of driving crazy hours everyday, there is no way earn $8k under normal circumstances.

This isn't about looking down on drivers, but there needs to be a realistic picture of actual earnings and hours involved. There's too much BS floating around making driving a taxi / PHV sound much better than it really is.

If it's that great people would be rushing to sign up as drivers, not wait for retrenchment and extended unemployment before considering.

(22-05-2024, 11:50 AM)maxsanic Wrote:  Sounds like yet another driver reporting revenue as profit. Short of driving crazy hours everyday, there is no way earn $8k under normal circumstances.

Gig workers like PHV drivers and deliverymen seem to only refer to their revenue showing: the total amount of money earned from their blood, sweat and tears. They seem oblivious to the profit margin i.e. what portion of their takings contribute to earnings after their rental, petrol and other operating costs have been deducted.

Correct. Revenue less costs shd be their incomes, not profit