my 4 days penang trip

(11-02-2023, 03:03 PM)TalkingRabbit Wrote:  must get a balcony stateroom. then enjoy sea view while taking your room service breakfast. shiok! Big Grin

[Image: 4305-C1-E2-8-E88-42-AD-B5-AB-4-F9914-AEC0-CF.jpg]

this is heaven  Big Grin

(11-02-2023, 06:51 PM)p1acebo Wrote:  Extreme left Big Grin

I am not in photo

(11-02-2023, 02:53 PM)cityhantam Wrote:  It's time for you to move out of your comfort zone and explore the world.

Try this place in Penang :

LOST PARADISE RESORT, Penang - A Balinese Inspired Paradise Hidden in Penang!

Lost Paradise Resort Review, Batu Ferringhi , Penang

Alamak this is the place I stay for 4 days. Owner upgrade my room to seaview. Extra large room!
[+] 1 user Likes Notdumb's post

I park my rental car just below my room.

[Image: 1676117680851.jpg]

Thank you for sharing!

Malaysians are so lucky to have a big country to explore

Jac wants me to say "Thank You, Malaysia"

so many places and you choose go to the a slum country ?

I checked the bus ....its around $60...and 10hrs. 
10hrs is not that bad .

Maybe next week I call my friend to go.

[Image: 1psCaJW.jpg]

So nice...

Cruise is the most boring holidays to take
Eat sleep see sky moon and sun
Movies free and food is buffet
Docking take hours

(12-02-2023, 09:18 AM)Lukongsimi Wrote:  Cruise is the most boring holidays to take
Docking take hours

I never take cruise before but its just a big ship with facilities and food.like floating resort

Might as well stay in a resort..does it matter if float in ocean or not.

(12-02-2023, 09:36 AM)sgbuffett Wrote:  I never take cruise before but its just a big ship with facilities and food.like floating resort

Might as well stay in a resort..does it matter if float in ocean or not.

If on the Antarctic Ocean can see ice berg 
Sea lions sea gulls ok lah

(12-02-2023, 09:02 AM)sgbuffett Wrote:  I checked the bus ....its around $60...and 10hrs. 
10hrs is not that bad .

Return air tickets only $120. 1 hr flight better lah.

Now is durian season
No trip to Penang is complete with tasting it’s best durian variety which are not sold here
The butter milk type cost only RM25 per kg
But do not let them know you are from Singapore
Otherwise the price doubled
Best place to get is near McKenzie Road

Tampines & West Coast GRCs are there for the taking 

(12-02-2023, 09:49 AM)Notdumb Wrote:  Return air tickets only $120. 1 hr flight better lah.

Sgbutt is worried that there may be plane crash!  Laughing

(12-02-2023, 10:09 AM)Bluebull Wrote:  Now is durian season
No trip to Penang is complete with tasting it’s best durian variety which are not sold here
The butter milk type cost only RM25 per kg
But do not let them know you are from Singapore
Otherwise the price doubled
Best place to get is near McKenzie Road

I've tried their durians up in the mountain. Very sweet only. Can't compare to MSW.

[Image: 1676168210673.jpg]

Ag butt better dun take flights. Short distance but the turbulence can be very strong, very scary in stormy weather

(11-02-2023, 11:28 AM)sgbuffett Wrote:  Penang is very far.
My last overseas tour was to Malacca ...very nice.

Please lar is not far some people one year go there many times

(12-02-2023, 09:18 AM)Lukongsimi Wrote:  Cruise is the most boring holidays to take
Docking take hours

Shows you never been to cruise
Meals can be cafe set meal or restaurant type
You can have your restaurant set meal and then go up to have your buffet
Or just go there to have coffee and fruits
You can have up to six meals a day
Then there’s showtime at theatre setting and cinema screenings
Some cruise has circus act or futuristic acrobat acts
There’s various sports like go-karting, rock climbing, Table Tennis, swimming etc
Day time, you can join the line dancing, various activities like cooking and making clay pottery, or have your spa and body massage, or play bingo or go to the games arcade
Nighttime, you can go to pubs or dancing at clubs, or just drinking and listen to live music
When docked at Penang, you can have a quick shopping and your favourite cha keow Teow 
At Phuket, you can enjoy authentic restaurant Thai Ford at half the price you pay here and watch the ah qua shows

And of course there’s the casino

[+] 2 users Like Bluebull's post

(12-02-2023, 09:02 AM)sgbuffett Wrote:  I checked the bus ....its around $60...and 10hrs. 
10hrs is not that bad .

Better take a bus to Sungai Nibong Bus Terminal which is t Penang Island.

If you take one to Butterworth, you need to take a boat to Penang Island.

Quote:These boats take less than 10 minutes to travel over to Swettenham Pier in Georgetown and operate between 07.00 am and 8.30 pm.

Departures are between every 30 minutes (peak hours) to every 60 minutes (off-peak).

TS got a windfall inheritance now spending money like nobody’s business Big Grin

(12-02-2023, 10:23 AM)Bluebull Wrote:  Shows you never been to cruise
Meals can be cafe set meal or restaurant type
You can have your restaurant set meal and then go up to have your buffet
Or just go there to have coffee and fruits
You can have up to six meals a day
Then there’s showtime at theatre setting and cinema screenings
Some cruise has circus act or futuristic acrobat acts
There’s various sports like go-karting, rock climbing, Table Tennis, swimming etc
Day time, you can join the line dancing, various activities like cooking and making clay pottery, or have your spa and body massage, or play bingo or go to the games arcade
Nighttime, you can go to pubs or dancing at clubs, or just drinking and listen to live music
When docked at Penang, you can have a quick shopping and your favourite cha keow Teow 
At Phuket, you can enjoy authentic restaurant Thai Ford at half the price you pay here and watch the ah qua shows

And of course there’s the casino

Lol still damn boring lah. Rotfl

Travel to Malaysia must drive lah. Otherwise u will only be stuck at a few places and just makan only. Worst when it's difficult or impossible to get a taxi.

(12-02-2023, 10:42 AM)Notdumb Wrote:  Travel to Malaysia must drive lah. Otherwise u will only be stuck at a few places and just makan only. Worst when it's difficult or impossible to get a taxi.

Nowadays can call Grab. Not so bad.

(12-02-2023, 10:37 AM)Notdumb Wrote:  Lol still damn boring lah. Rotfl

Own time own target la!

If you join a tour group, it’s everyday wake up 6am.rush here rush there
Go to shops, they try to koyok sell you
Night time, tour guide just send you to hotel to watch television 

If go free and easy
It’s never easy with transport
And the costs that add up is never worth it

[+] 1 user Likes Bluebull's post

(12-02-2023, 10:45 AM)cityhantam Wrote:  Nowadays can call Grab. Not so bad.

U go Cameron or Sabah or some other ulu towns. My worst experience was in Cameron Highlands where I couldn't get a rental car. Got once took taxi to visit tea plantation and no taxi to go back. Hv to wait for bus. Lucky I managed to stop a tour bus going to the hotels. Driver don't want to charge me any fees but I gave him $20.

(12-02-2023, 10:50 AM)Bluebull Wrote:  Own time own target la!

If you join a tour group, it’s everyday wake up 6am.rush here rush there
Go to shops, they try to koyok sell you
Night time, tour guide just send you to hotel to watch television 

If go free and easy
It’s never easy with transport
And the costs that add up is never worth it

I've taken a few cruises lah. To me all same same boring like hell. Stop over got time limit shiok meh?

I don't join tour group since 30yrs ago. Everywhere I go I get my lic convert ready. Just use GPS and go everywhere.

Okay I have booked for 4 days starting on Thursday for Penang.

Thanks for all the tips. After much consideration, I am taking the bus as the small jets flying there pose a real safety issue for me.

I will be staying near Gurney drive area

(12-02-2023, 10:31 AM)p1acebo Wrote:  TS got a windfall inheritance now spending money like nobody’s business Big Grin

Aiya got extra money must spend lah, otherwise the money aso become inheritance or go to charity
[+] 2 users Like WhatDoYouThink!'s post

(13-02-2023, 01:08 PM)sgbuffett Wrote:  Okay I have booked for 4 days starting on Thursday for Penang.

Thanks for all the tips. After much consideration,  I am taking the bus as the small jets flying there pose a real safety issue for me.

I will be staying near Gurney drive area
Many years ago, I took a bus from Singapore to Bangkok with a navy buddy. The bus stopped at Butterworth and from Butterworth to Hat Yai by car, then from Hat Yai to Bangkok by bus again. 

I remember the bus left Singapore from People's Park around 2000 hrs and arrived at Butterworth around 1400 hrs the next day. It was very tiring and miserable to sit in the bus the whole trip and I will never do that again. ... Big Grin

Long distance buses are aso not totally safe. Which rows are safer in case of accidents ha? Front rows can exit faster, but the impact is aso greater