my 4 days penang trip

(13-02-2023, 01:08 PM)sgbuffett Wrote:  Okay I have booked for 4 days starting on Thursday for Penang.

Thanks for all the tips. After much consideration,  I am taking the bus as the small jets flying there pose a real safety issue for me.

I will be staying near Gurney drive area

Bird park,Penang hill main attractions.
Enjoy your trip 😄

Penang hill very ulu place hor. If no drive will miss many places of interest...like the 2 sisters noodles. Got some nice pastries shops there must buy.

(12-02-2023, 10:23 AM)Bluebull Wrote:  Shows you never been to cruise
Meals can be cafe set meal or restaurant type
You can have your restaurant set meal and then go up to have your buffet
Or just go there to have coffee and fruits
You can have up to six meals a day
Then there’s showtime at theatre setting and cinema screenings
Some cruise has circus act or futuristic acrobat acts
There’s various sports like go-karting, rock climbing, Table Tennis, swimming etc
Day time, you can join the line dancing, various activities like cooking and making clay pottery, or have your spa and body massage, or play bingo or go to the games arcade
Nighttime, you can go to pubs or dancing at clubs, or just drinking and listen to live music
When docked at Penang, you can have a quick shopping and your favourite cha keow Teow 
At Phuket, you can enjoy authentic restaurant Thai Ford at half the price you pay here and watch the ah qua shows

And of course there’s the casino
Took cruise once lah
Not big like nowadays can choose eat at restaurants or buffet.
Were given meal tickets for buffet only.

Finally found the Penang Hill pic. Here's the place u take the Choo Choo train up.
Next pic is the 2 sisters location.

[Image: 1676268636786.jpg]

[Image: 1676268669237.jpg]

(13-02-2023, 01:49 PM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote:  Long distance buses are aso not totally safe. Which rows are safer in case of accidents ha? Front rows can exit faster, but the impact is aso greater
Yes, long distance from Singapore to Penang by bus is sure dangerous especially a large portion of the trip is done at night at rather high speed. 
I ever took a bus from Guangzhou to Swatow where the bus passed through quite mountainous, bumpy and rough terrain. Lucky the journey was done during daylight hours leaving Guangzhou around 0600 hrs and arriving Swatow around 2000 hours. Again, I will never do such stunt again...... Big Grin

(13-02-2023, 02:14 PM)Huliwang Wrote:  Yes, long distance from Singapore to Penang by bus is sure dangerous especially a large portion of the trip is done at night at rather high speed. 
I ever took a bus from Guangzhou to Swatow where the bus passed through quite mountainous, bumpy and rough terrain. Lucky the journey was done during daylight hours leaving Guangzhou around 0600 hrs and arriving Swatow around 2000 hours. Again, I will never do such stunt again...... Big Grin

Lol my longest bus ride was Guangzhou to Zhuhai.... can't remember how many hours liao. Rotfl

(13-02-2023, 02:16 PM)Notdumb Wrote:  Lol my longest bus ride was Guangzhou to Zhuhai.... can't remember how many hours liao. Rotfl
I think the road nowadays is better. The time I took was so many years ago before China opens up and Deng Xiaoping not come Singapore yet. The road was really bad. ... Big Grin

My longest bus ride was from nyc to sf. The scarest one was the downhill ride from zjj tms.

[Image: Screenshot-20230213-142537-Chrome.jpg]

(13-02-2023, 02:21 PM)Huliwang Wrote:  I think the road nowadays is better. The time I took was so many years ago before China opens up and Deng Xiaoping not come Singapore yet. The road was really bad. ... Big Grin

Oh my ride was on highway so very good road. Best part was the bus can stop any bus stop if u tell driver once reach Zhuhai.

Guangdong airport is super big...I no chance to see the whole place.

(13-02-2023, 02:27 PM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote:  My longest bus ride was from nyc to sf. The scarest one was the downhill ride from zjj tms.

[Image: Screenshot-20230213-142537-Chrome.jpg]

Lol better than Medan going up Lake Toba. I told driver to stop many times for me to vomit! And the road conditions is one of the worst I ever seen.

(13-02-2023, 02:16 PM)Notdumb Wrote:  Lol my longest bus ride was Guangzhou to Zhuhai.... can't remember how many hours liao. Rotfl

Only two hours needed

(13-02-2023, 02:45 PM)Blasterlord2 Wrote:  Only two hours needed

Not that fast lah. Lucky it pass by my apt. Laughing

(13-02-2023, 02:47 PM)Notdumb Wrote:  Not that fast lah. Lucky it pass by my apt. Laughing

It's that fast. I'm a regular traveller on that route.

(13-02-2023, 02:51 PM)Blasterlord2 Wrote:  It's that fast. I'm a regular traveller on that route.

U go Guangdong airport huh?
So far I only travelled that way 2 or 3 x.
Prefer to go from Macau to Zhuhai.

my 4 days penang cost 400 all in

ex

(13-02-2023, 03:13 PM)Talent Wrote:  my 4 days penang cost 400 all in

ex
Not free meh? Got bank director in your gang. ... Big Grin

(13-02-2023, 02:05 PM)Lukongsimi Wrote:  Bird park,Penang hill main attractions.
Enjoy your trip 😄
I will visit and post some.live pictures

(13-02-2023, 03:13 PM)Talent Wrote:  my 4 days penang cost 400 all in

ex

Thats very kiam. I 4 days there at least bring $2k. Any expensive food just whack!

I will be going to penang tomorrow.

Just want to check Iif TPG free roaming there any issue?

(15-02-2023, 12:28 PM)sgbuffett Wrote:  I will be going to penang tomorrow.

Send us your pictures and comments when you visit Penang, with cost of lunch and dinners...........................it will be much appreciated.............. Clapping Laughing

(13-02-2023, 03:16 PM)Huliwang Wrote:  Not free meh? Got bank director in your gang. ... Big Grin

yes we save 
2 hosts drove us around penang for 2 days

get to see and understand the industrial areas and dev
that u may not see

(15-02-2023, 12:28 PM)sgbuffett Wrote:  I will be going to penang tomorrow.

Try then you will know

why sgbutt follow me
go penang
am I good influncer

My bus just arrived near this place called Komtas tower. Was a long ride since yesterday night. 

I contacted my Airbnb host but he said cannot check in early.
My friend say can just go up to Komtas there is some kind of cafe up there.

[Image: jX9Z6q1.jpg]

I went to the top level cafe at Komtas. Nice view.
[Image: kCPPXUd.jpg]

(15-02-2023, 02:21 PM)Talent Wrote:  why sgbutt follow me
go penang
am I good influncer

Your recent inheritance should last you quite some time.  You don’t spend all want to pass to your nok also har?

(13-02-2023, 02:14 PM)Huliwang Wrote:  I ever took a bus from Guangzhou to Swatow where the bus passed through quite mountainous, bumpy and rough terrain. Lucky the journey was done during daylight hours leaving Guangzhou around 0600 hrs and arriving Swatow around 2000 hours. Again, I will never do such stunt again...... Big Grin

Now it is very different. 

They have completed many tunnels and new highways. Very smooth ride and fast also.

(16-02-2023, 10:17 AM)sgbuffett Wrote:  My bus just arrived near this place called Komtas tower. Was a long ride since yesterday night. 

I contacted my Airbnb host but he said cannot check in early.
My friend say can just go up to Komtas there is some kind of cafe up there.

[Image: jX9Z6q1.jpg]

Got free bus service.

(16-02-2023, 10:42 AM)sgbuffett Wrote:  I went to the top level cafe at Komtas. Nice view.
[Image: kCPPXUd.jpg]

You are finally there after a long bus journey 
How is your TPG auto roam good?

(16-02-2023, 10:50 AM)Lukongsimi Wrote:  You are finally there after a long bus journey 
How is your TPG auto roam good?

Working fine.