Pritam Singh what's wrong with YOU?

(28-02-2023, 10:06 PM)Tangsen Wrote:  I am not pro PAP nor anti WP, but what's wrong with you?

You want cheap poor foreign traxhes to steal and complete with SGers jobs or you want some filthy rich fuggs come SG and throw money?

These filthy rich new citizens, PRs …. buy 10 million properties means 3m stamp duties and they dun even wanna work. Recent PRCunts buy 30m penthouse …. 9million stamp duties …. I get more CDC vouchers.

Dun oppose for the sake of opposing leh … makes you look stupiak

Pritam Singh advocates for English test in Singapore citizenship, PR applications

“Singaporeans do not want new citizens who don’t want to live here but only want the power of the Singapore passport for their convenience, and a safe and secure environment for their assets and wealth.”

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapor...eo-3309261

If MONEY is main consideration, allow for (maybe exists) path to Residency or Citizenship based on how much wealth plough in. Then your tiong actors, actresses, tu hao, fu er dai, all can come under this scheme. Of course, Dyson, Saverin, Rogers, etc also can come....

For NORMAL kinds of citizenship, CRITERIA should be how they fit into SG fabric (need whole set of criteria, not just England). Singh's rationale is correct. “Singaporeans do not want new citizens who don’t want to live here but only want the power of the Singapore passport for their convenience, and a safe and secure environment for their assets and wealth.”

Gam boh ?

(01-03-2023, 11:42 AM)aiptasia Wrote:  61% as well. There was no WP rep in my constituency

But the 61% are not whining.   Rolleyes

(01-03-2023, 11:48 AM)lylcnn Wrote:  If MONEY is main consideration, allow for (maybe exists) path to Residency or Citizenship based on how much wealth plough in. Then your tiong actors, actresses, tu hao, fu er dai, all can come under this scheme. Of course, Dyson, Saverin, Rogers, etc also can come....

For NORMAL kinds of citizenship, CRITERIA should be how they fit into SG fabric (need whole set of criteria, not just England). Singh's rationale is correct. “Singaporeans do not want new citizens who don’t want to live here but only want the power of the Singapore passport for their convenience, and a safe and secure environment for their assets and wealth.”

Gam boh ?

Gong Li and Li Jiawei are new citizens ok? Rolleyes

(01-03-2023, 12:04 PM)Oyk Wrote:  But the 61% are not whining.   Rolleyes

Some of them do regarding FTs but being in the comfort zone of voting for the MIW outweighs all other considerations.

(01-03-2023, 12:06 PM)Oyk Wrote:  Gong Li and Li Jiawei are new citizens ok? Rolleyes

Gong Li okay as she comes in by WEALTH route.
Make it more stringent for normal folks, so they don't get it so easily, such that they will discard it so easily as well........

(01-03-2023, 11:48 AM)lylcnn Wrote:  If MONEY is main consideration, allow for (maybe exists) path to Residency or Citizenship based on how much wealth plough in. Then your tiong actors, actresses, tu hao, fu er dai, all can come under this scheme. Of course, Dyson, Saverin, Rogers, etc also can come....

Gam boh ?

Then the foreign spouses who come from China, Taiwan, Japan and Korea will not be able to get their PRs soon and this will result in couples not getting their BTO flats.

And worst of all, Indians will get increased chances of being citizens/PRs here.

(01-03-2023, 12:13 PM)Blasterlord2 Wrote:  Then the foreign spouses who come from China, Taiwan, Japan and Korea will not be able to get their PRs soon and this will result in couples not getting their BTO flats.

And worst of all, Indians will get increased chances of being citizens/PRs here.

Yeah true...maybe his ideal principle/rationale is supported, but the England criteria needs reconsidering...

(01-03-2023, 12:13 PM)Blasterlord2 Wrote:  Then the foreign spouses who come from China, Taiwan, Japan and Korea will not be able to get their PRs soon and this will result in couples not getting their BTO flats.

It is a neutral comment based on logical analysis that Indians will have a better chance to get PR and citizenship.

But to begin your sentence with "And worst of all", now that shows an obvious racism in you.  Still want to deny you are a stinky racist? Rolleyes

(01-03-2023, 12:16 PM)lylcnn Wrote:  Yeah true...maybe his ideal principle/rationale is supported, but the England criteria needs reconsidering...

We have four official langauges.

If the criterion...........criterion not criteria.......and you need to get it right since we are talking about Speak Good English...............is proficiency in one of the four official languages, the Chinese woulld pass with flying colours because they bring in a standard of putonghua which is better than that of the vast majority of local born sinkies.

But if the criterion is solely "English", then a lot of PGs should be stripped of their citizenship.

(01-03-2023, 12:08 PM)aiptasia Wrote:  Some of them do regarding FTs but being in the comfort zone of voting for the MIW outweighs all other considerations.

Is that an assumption?   Rolleyes

(01-03-2023, 11:38 AM)Blasterlord2 Wrote:  Got. Ah Shan and sissy Vivi.

Otw to retirement liow lah … not 4G leaders

Why Mr LKY never make English is compulsory when applying PR and citizenship?
Who selected RK to stand for G.E?
[+] 1 user Likes Oasis's post

(28-02-2023, 10:07 PM)aiptasia Wrote:  Basically he is advocating for his own kind (read: ethnicity) to flood Singapore regardless if true blue Sinkies have their lunches stolen by CECA scum.

Correct!
WP non stop playing up Racial politics. Identity Politics. Minority Politics. 
Ever since he take over LTK.

Our parents will fail the English test that he advocating for. Shit Him at all cost..
[+] 7 users Like moonrab's post

(01-03-2023, 12:24 PM)Oyk Wrote:  We have four official langauges.

If the criterion...........criterion not criteria.......and you need to get it right since we are talking about Speak Good English...............is proficiency in one of the four official languages, the Chinese woulld pass with flying colours because they bring in a standard of putonghua which is better than that of the vast majority of local born sinkies.

But if the criterion is solely "English", then a lot of PGs should be stripped of their citizenship.

New citizens require higher standards lor...an idea could be minimum spoken or written level of at least x numbers of main languages...of course no test is perfect but garmen to strive for something acceptable lah
[+] 1 user Likes lylcnn's post

In US the news citizens need to toefl test

https://youtu.be/Vjo6CEmZcWo

(01-03-2023, 12:26 PM)Oyk Wrote:  Is that an assumption?   Rolleyes

You can see it for yourself in the forums. And what's with the eyes rolling?

Why Singapore adopted Mandarin, Malay, Tamil and English as official languages since day one.
Because we are make up of difference races to build this island state. 
So must respect all races putting up a stake in Singapore. 
That is our Singaporean spirit. 

English was in favour because of our British colonial government. Many laws, documents already practiced in English. It is also easier to links with the international markets. 

Between the local daily lives, we can use Mandarin, Malay, Tamil and English accordingly to our comfort and practicality. 

That's Singapore. No one disagree until now Mr Pritam comes in Parliament. 

Can we force the Malay and Indian new citizens / PR to use only English in SG. Even the Indian and Bangladesh workers normally speak their own languages. Some cannot even speak English. So must we deport them.

English is selected for communication with a good purpose. To gel all races together locally and internationally. 
Not to use in immigration policy for disqualifying potential new immigrants. That is 100% negative. 

We are not the Anglo-Saxon society. That preaching English language worldwide. 

As a Leader of Opposition, Pritam is throughly disappointing. Plying Identity Politics non stop. 
Very sad for WP.
[+] 9 users Like moonrab's post

(01-03-2023, 12:44 PM)aiptasia Wrote:  You can see it for yourself in the forums. And what's with the eyes rolling?

This forum does not even represent one coffee shop of people, much less a SMC, much much less a GRC, and much much much less Singapore.   Rolleyes

(01-03-2023, 01:23 PM)moonrab Wrote:  Why Singapore adopted Mandarin, Malay, Tamil and English as official languages since day one.
Because we are make up of difference races to build this island state. 
So must respect all races putting up a stake in Singapore. 
That is our Singaporean spirit. 

English was in favour because of our British colonial government. Many laws, documents already practiced in English. It is also easier to links with the international markets. 

Between the local daily lives, we can use Mandarin, Malay, Tamil and English accordingly to our comfort and practicality. 

That's Singapore. No one disagree until now Mr Pritam comes in Parliament. 

Can we force the Malay and Indian new citizens / PR to use only English in SG. Even the Indian and Bangladesh workers normally speak their own languages. Some cannot even speak English. So must we deport them.

English is selected for communication with a good purpose. To gel all races together locally and internationally. 
Not to use in immigration policy for disqualifying potential new immigrants. That is 100% negative. 

We are not the Anglo-Saxon society. That preaching English language worldwide. 

As a Leader of Opposition, Pritam is throughly disappointing. Plying Identity Politics non stop. 
Very sad for WP.

A very rare good post from someone who rarely posts here.  Thumbs_up

(01-03-2023, 07:44 PM)Oyk Wrote:  This forum does not even represent one coffee shop of people, much less a SMC, much much less a GRC, and much much much less Singapore.   Rolleyes

I think this forum is  represented with a good cross section of English speaking individuals, who would advocate the use of English in communication......... Big Grin

(01-03-2023, 07:44 PM)Oyk Wrote:  This forum does not even represent one coffee shop of people, much less a SMC, much much less a GRC, and much much much less Singapore.   Rolleyes
I mentioned forums and not just this particular forum. And if you don’t agree with me then stick your oar elsewhere

(01-03-2023, 12:36 PM)Bigiron Wrote:  In US the news citizens need to toefl test

That is a country where English is spoken by everyone.  Same with UK, Australia...

They do not have four official languages.

In our case, we have, and I would prefer that any applicant for new citizenship be proficient in one of the four official languages.

Therefore:

1.  The Chinese should not be discriminated if their English is cui.  Their excellent command of Chinese more than qualifes them.

2.  As for the Indians....hmmm....we have a lot of Hindi speaking Indians and Deepavali is now also called Diwali wor.   But if they can speak English, which is one of the four official languages, well, they qualify if they are proficient in it.

3.  Nationalities like Vietbu, Siambu......well, if a 50 year old sinkie bbfa married a 20 year old Vietbu, and he sexpects to get PR for her because of "marriage",  Pritam will not be pleased with that.  But do not comprain OK.  You voted for it.  Big Grin

(01-03-2023, 07:55 PM)aiptasia Wrote:  I mentioned forums and not just this particular forum. And if you don’t agree with me then stick your oar elsewhere

So which grandfather forum are you referring to?  Rolleyes

(01-03-2023, 07:55 PM)debono Wrote:  I think this forum is  represented with a good cross section of English speaking individuals, who would advocate the use of English in communication......... Big Grin

Ever heard of statistical bias?  You cannot use a forum where English is the default language, and draw conclusions.  Doing that would be like walking into an AWARE event, and asking the participants:  are men bustards? and you would hear a chorus of yay!

That's statistical bias.

If you are not sure what that term means, you can go ask Jamus.  He enjoys imparting knowledge (he did that in Parliament too), and statistics is one paper taught in the Econs first degree level.   Rolleyes

(01-03-2023, 07:59 PM)Oyk Wrote:  So which grandfather forum are you referring to?  Rolleyes
Check Reddit and edmw, dopey.

(01-03-2023, 08:10 PM)aiptasia Wrote:  Check Reddit and edmw, dopey.

emdw has a lot of jhks there.  You consider their views to be representative?  Rolleyes

Who gives a fugg what language these billionaires new citizens or PRs speaks. They just wanna park their billions here and use our passport to travel. They not gonna stay here, they buy a few GCBs or multiply condos and pay millions in stamp duties and properties tax. Buy a few super cars pay the PARF, GST, road tax to park in their garage. 

They are not here to steal middle income citizen jobs or fight for your BTOs.

They can speak whatever they want as long pay the millions in taxes so I can get my annual CDC vouchers

(01-03-2023, 08:18 PM)Oyk Wrote:  emdw has a lot of jhks there.  You consider their views to be representative?  Rolleyes

How do you know they are jhks?  Have you read reddit forums?  dont agree then buzz off

(28-02-2023, 10:07 PM)aiptasia Wrote:  Basically he is advocating for his own kind (read: ethnicity) to flood Singapore regardless if true blue Sinkies have their lunches stolen by CECA scum.

so you don't mind to import more tiongs or jhk ?

typical wumaos mindset.

own village hire own village.