Tourism minister should be fired for naming bak kut teh as a Malaysia heritage dish

(02-03-2024, 06:08 AM)cheekopekman Wrote:  Got halal pork meh? Thinking

Hindus don't eat beef because they consider the cow to be sacred.

Muslims don't eat pork not because they consider the pig to be sacred but because Muhammad does not like to eat pork, and they follow him.

Buddhists don't eat meat at all - except for those fake Buddhists who find sexcuses to eat it - because killing will only increase their bad karma.

Christians eat everything.  But truth be told, of all the meat, my favourite is pork.  I especially like pork satay.  The Malays learned to make satay from the middle eatern peepur, so they should not call it a Malaysian heritage food.  The Hans use pork to make satay.  No matter what, it is not a true Malaysian food, just like bkt is not a true Malaysian food.

There is no halal pork and there is no cow which is not sacred.  However, there are all kinds of mock meat for eg mock duck, mock chicken...these should be halal but Malays wouldn't eat it not because they aren't halal but because vegetarian food is linked to Buddhism. Forget about Mock Bak Kut Teh, it doesn't taste the same. Even though I am a Han, I also shant eat that. I only eat the bkt with real pig's bone and meat, boiled and simmered until the meat is lum lum.

(01-03-2024, 06:50 PM)CHAOS Wrote:  Saudi Singaporia next

[Image: IMG-0395.jpg]

瞄准清真食品赛道,吉时争鲜以“本土化”攻占快餐时代的年轻人
2023年6月8日吉时争鲜,国内首家做清真速食披萨的品牌 确定创业方向之后,Yusuf与合伙人孙女士开始深入了解供应链情况。2020年,他们用了整整一年时间,自驾八万多公里,在全国范围内拜访并对比了几...
创业邦

Can see that tiong kuo is more tolerant than you.

(02-03-2024, 08:37 AM)Oyk Wrote:  Hindus don't eat beef because they consider the cow to be sacred.

Muslims don't eat pork not because they consider the pig to be sacred but because Muhammad does not like to eat pork, and they follow him.

Buddhists don't eat meat at all - except for those fake Buddhists who find sexcuses to eat it - because killing will only increase their bad karma.

Christians eat everything.  But truth be told, of all the meat, my favourite is pork.  I especially like pork satay.  The Malays learned to make satay from the middle eatern peepur, so they should not call it a Malaysian heritage food.  The Hans use pork to make satay.  No matter what, it is not a true Malaysian food, just like bkt is not a true Malaysian food.

There is no halal pork and there is no cow which is not sacred.  However, there are all kinds of mock meat for eg mock duck, mock chicken...these should be halal but Malays wouldn't eat it not because they aren't halal but because vegetarian food is linked to Buddhism.  Forget about Mock Bak Kut Teh, it doesn't taste the same.  Even though I am a Han, I also shant eat that.  I only eat the bkt with real pig's bone and meat, boiled and simmered until the meat is lum lum.

I thought Jews and Christians cannot eat pork also leh? Thinking

(02-03-2024, 10:41 AM)cheekopekman Wrote:  I thought Jews and Christians cannot eat pork also leh? 

Jews don't consume pork, but Christians do so.

(02-03-2024, 10:45 AM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  Jews don't consume pork, but Christians do so.

You mean they are different meh? Thinking

(02-03-2024, 10:29 AM)watchfirst9 Wrote:  瞄准清真食品赛道,吉时争鲜以“本土化”攻占快餐时代的年轻人
2023年6月8日吉时争鲜,国内首家做清真速食披萨的品牌 确定创业方向之后,Yusuf与合伙人孙女士开始深入了解供应链情况。2020年,他们用了整整一年时间,自驾八万多公里,在全国范围内拜访并对比了几...
创业邦

Can see that tiong kuo is more tolerant than you.

华人在东南亚永远被欺负是因为他们看事情看得太简单, 认为灾难不可能会发生在自己身上

Indonesian mass killings of 1965–66

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Indonesian...of_1965–66

https://researchmgt.monash.edu/ws/portal...113_oa.pdf

Aiya 二毛们逆来顺受,已经习以为常了

(01-03-2024, 11:32 AM)CHAOS Wrote:  Fxxking anti Chinese country

You are a fcuking racist yourself  Rotfl

[+] 1 user Likes ROFLMAO's post

(02-03-2024, 11:43 AM)ROFLMAO Wrote:  You are a fcuking racist yourself  Rotfl

Go home and lick yr American daddy balls pls 😆

(02-03-2024, 11:17 AM)CHAOS Wrote:  华人在东南亚永远被欺负是因为他们看事情看得太简单, 认为灾难不可能会发生在自己身上

Indonesian mass killings of 1965–66

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Indonesian...of_1965–66

https://researchmgt.monash.edu/ws/portal...113_oa.pdf

It is natural for majority to have some advantages. 
How to preserve safety and dignity for minority is IChing or an art.

Afterall I quote from the article
"his Facebook post on Thursday (29 February), Akbal said rather than bak kut teh, which contains pork, other Chinese dishes that can be eaten by everyone in the country, regardless of race or religion, could have been considered instead."

you cannot say he is racist since he offer other choices

(02-03-2024, 12:35 PM)watchfirst9 Wrote:  "his Facebook post on Thursday (29 February), Akbal said rather than bak kut teh, which contains pork, other Chinese dishes that can be eaten by everyone in the country, regardless of race or religion, could have been considered instead."

The FB is wrong. Bak means meat, so bak kut teh means meat bone herbs. The herb is halal, The meat can be chicken, beef, sea food or pork.

So get a life this FB article.

(02-03-2024, 12:35 PM)watchfirst9 Wrote:  It is natural for majority to have some advantages. 
How to preserve safety and dignity for minority is IChing or an art.

Afterall I quote from the article
"his Facebook post on Thursday (29 February), Akbal said rather than bak kut teh, which contains pork, other Chinese dishes that can be eaten by everyone in the country, regardless of race or religion, could have been considered instead."

you cannot say he is racist since he offer other choices

Racism towards the Chinese Minority in Malaysia: Political Islam and Institutional Barriers

https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/full...923X.13145

(02-03-2024, 10:41 AM)cheekopekman Wrote:  I thought Jews and Christians cannot eat pork also leh? Thinking

Jews eat kosher food. 

Roman Catholics used to not eat pork on Friday not because God forbade it but because the pope said so. Later they started eating pork on Friday not because God suddenly had a change of mind but because the pope realised that there was no biblical basis for not allowing it.

I am a Christian but NOT a Roman Catholic. Rolleyes

(02-03-2024, 02:41 PM)CHAOS Wrote:  Racism towards the Chinese Minority in Malaysia: Political Islam and Institutional Barriers

https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/full...923X.13145

They(My Chinese) better focus ask for more job opportunities and U spots
focus what is critical not superficial. 

You got see Th Chinese and Ind Chinese or ABC ask Bak kut teh as heritage dish in their countries?
haoxuanbuxuan, xuankezhu, meishizhaoshizuo.

UNESCO Food Culture: 30 Amazing Culinary Traditions Around the World.

How does culture impact food?

Food culture around the world is influenced by factors such as the local landscape and weather. For this reason, they can even vary even within a single country.

For instance, the food in northern part of Italy is often enriched with butter made from the milk of local dairy herds, while in the olive-growing south of the country, butter is hardly used and there’s a preference for cooking with olive oil instead.

The history of the country also has an impact on the food culture and traditions of the people living there. Taking the United States as an example, you can easily see how layers of food culture have created the melting pot of cuisines that exists in the USA today.

It starts with the rich history of Indigenous food cultures, then between 1492 and 1800, colonisation brought European ingredients and cooking styles to the Americas. Later on, cultural influences on food from 20th century immigration led to an influx of new cooking styles and foods to choose from.

Food is so much more than just fuel, and sharing food with those we love is part of what makes us human. As the world grows smaller, it’s become easier to enjoy food from different countries, and many cultural traditions have developed around the celebration of food at religious holidays and family gatherings.

And yet another different food culture has developed as more people recognise the importance of slowing down and enjoying seasonal ingredients.

Why is food culture important?

Food culture embraces local and seasonal ingredients, using them to create distinctive recipes and flavours. It involves sharing food with friends, family, and the wider community and has an impact on all of these:

FOOD AND IDENTITY

At the individual level, food plays an important role in each person’s own identity. Preparing, sharing, and eating cultural foods is both a physical act and also a symbolic act that links the individual intrinsically with their personal family history.

For many people, eating the food that we enjoyed as a young person transports us back in time to our childhood. It might be the soup that your mother cooked when you were feeling ill or the special dessert you shared on a religious holiday, but food can evoke a bitter-sweet sense of nostalgia alongside warm feelings of comfort and belonging.

This is why food traditions are so important for immigrants as they are an easily transportable piece of the homeland they left behind.

FOOD AND COMMUNITY

People also use food as a way to connect to their community and its cultural practices.

It is not about the Originate of the food. 
It is all about the Culture of a country whereby, the food was largely celebrated, enjoyed, shared commonly, customised and developed into a Heritage of the Malaysian or the people in a nation. 

Bak ku teh, pork serving, cannot be not consumed by about 70% of Malaysia Malay Muslims. 
Therefore the Muslim leaders raised objection it to be a common Food Culture of Malaysian. Widely enjoyed as a Heritage. 

(02-03-2024, 05:11 PM)watchfirst9 Wrote:  They(My Chinese) better focus ask for more job opportunities and U spots

You got see Th Chinese and Ind Chinese or ABC ask Bak kut teh as heritage dish in their countries?

Thats means you agree that Chinese and Indian Malaysian are deserve to treat like third class citizen there forever by Malay only because their ancestors are came from China and India right?

(01-03-2024, 01:30 PM)singaporean1964 Wrote:  BAK kut teh got barbi pork lah,,,how can

Why not promote 3 types .
Nasi lemak,Roti prata and bak kut teh .

(02-03-2024, 05:11 PM)watchfirst9 Wrote:  They(My Chinese) better focus ask for more job opportunities and U spots

I am trying to figure out what you want to say with those pinyin.

Let me try, with a bit of correction if I may 

好选不选,选一头大肥猪,没事找事做。 Rotfl

(02-03-2024, 06:53 PM)CHAOS Wrote:  Thats means you agree that Chinese and Indian Malaysian are deserve to treat like third class citizen there forever by Malay only because their ancestors are came from China and India right?

So other place they are treated as first citizen, name the places. 
Who to follow then. 

I ask them to push for the basic and not to be go for confrontation.

(02-03-2024, 09:51 PM)watchfirst9 Wrote:  So other place they are treated as first citizen, name the places. 
Who to follow then. 

I ask them to push for the basic and not to be go for confrontation.

Singapore law! 🤣🤣🤣

Firstly you look at what your geographical area is endowed with. Then, you cook whatever you have around you. These are determined by the climate, and the soil you have, and whatever animals you can find in your country.

A whole menu of food will be created as ancient man experimented using this conbined with that, boiled, fried, BBQ, steamed...all sorts of ways until he came up with a style or recipe that everybody said jin ho jiak.

That's heritage.

And that's before Man could travel far and wide, so in the case of Malaysia, there was no satay yet, no wantan mee, no meat kut teh, all of which are the foods of other countries which Malaysia has no right to claim are theirs, much less as heritage foods of Malaysia.

As an esteemed member wrote upthread, even chendol is not Malaysian. Rather, it's Indonesian.

Boomers will remember the good old days when they could chomp down all kinds of tasty food without having to worry about their cholesterol level or GI.

What are those? Roti prata, oil zha ghost aka 油炸鬼 (known as 油条 in China) and yes, tau huay chwee (known as 豆浆 in China). Can we claim these to be Singapore's heritage food? No way. They belong to India and China...

The only food we can claim are ours are yu sang 鱼生,chicken rice, chilli crab and laksa. Malaysians love eating these too and you can find many hawkers selling these there...

(02-03-2024, 06:08 AM)cheekopekman Wrote:  Got halal pork meh? Thinking
Me also "Forget about Mock Bak Kut Teh," it doesn't taste the same isit, or it look Ok or not?.
[+] 1 user Likes Tee tiong huat's post

(01-03-2024, 11:49 AM)*天哥* Wrote:  UMNO is right what, Malaysia is a Muslim country. One should b careful naming the food as heritage.

Then melayu cannot name beef rendang as a Malaysia heritage dish, coz the Indian will get offended. Seriously, the more melayu do this, the better. If boleh land become united and strong one day, sinkie land will be in trouble.

[+] 1 user Likes ArielCasper's post

(03-03-2024, 04:40 PM)Oyk Wrote:  Boomers will remember the good old days when they could chomp down all kinds of tasty food without having to worry about their cholesterol level or GI.

What are those? Roti prata, oil zha ghost aka 油炸鬼 (known as 油条 in China) and yes, tau huay chwee (known as 豆浆 in China).  Can we claim these to be Singapore's heritage food? No way. They belong to India and China...

The only food we can claim are ours are yu sang 鱼生,chicken rice, chilli crab and laksa. Malaysians love eating these too and you can find many hawkers selling these there...

It is about the common food culture of a nation. Whereby every citizen has a fond memories, history with the particular food. Past down for generations. 

Example China's moon cake, has a folk tale about the overthrow of the Yuan dynasty facilitated by messages smuggled in moon cakes. 
Mooncakes were used by revolutionaries in their effort to overthrow the Mongol-led Yuan dynasty, eventually resulting in the establishment of the Ming dynasty.

Eversince, all Chinese in China will eat moon cake celebrating the Annual festival. So it can be a distinctive Heritage of China's food culture.

UNESCO Food Culture is not about who is the original creator of the food but the common  shared culture of a nation citizens. 
Getting to know the local food scene and joining in with culinary traditions.

These food-related rituals will be recognise on UNESCO’s Intangible Cultural Heritage of Humanity list.

(04-03-2024, 05:18 PM)moonrab Wrote:  It is about the common food culture of a nation. Whereby every citizen has a fond memories, history with the particular food. Past down for generations. 

Example China's moon cake, has a folk tale about the overthrow of the Yuan dynasty facilitated by messages smuggled in moon cakes. 
Mooncakes were used by revolutionaries in their effort to overthrow the Mongol-led Yuan dynasty, eventually resulting in the establishment of the Ming dynasty.

Eversince, all Chinese in China will eat moon cake celebrating the Annual festival. So it can be a distinctive Heritage of China's food culture.

UNESCO Food Culture is not about who is the original creator of the food but the common  shared culture of a nation citizens. 
Getting to know the local food scene and joining in with culinary traditions.

These food-related rituals will be recognise on UNESCO’s Intangible Cultural Heritage of Humanity list.

More and more, and this could be due to Singaporeans having the money to travel to various cities of Thailand, Thai food stalls are sprouting up. It's either a moo something or a soi something.

So after a few generations, we say Tom Yam soup and Pineapple rice or Mango rice is our heritage food? And for good measure, the grandchildren of new citizens from China even add mala to the list? 

Nice one.

(04-03-2024, 04:38 PM)Tee tiong huat Wrote:  Me also "Forget about Mock Bak Kut Teh," it doesn't taste the same isit, or it look Ok or not?.

Now also got lab made artificial pork liao lah! Big Grin

(04-03-2024, 05:29 PM)Oyk Wrote:  More and more, and this could be due to Singaporeans having the money to travel to various cities of Thailand, Thai food stalls are sprouting up. It's either a moo something or a soi something.

So after a few generations, we say Tom Yam soup and Pineapple rice or Mango rice is our heritage food? And for good measure, the grandchildren of new citizens from China even add mala to the list? 

Nice one.

Singapore successfully joined into UNESCO Food Culture 30 countries list.
Under Hawker Food Center Culture. In which represented our history of local foods enjoyed by all Singaporean from all Races.

Nothing says Southeast Asia like a bustling food market. In 2020, UNESCO recognised the cultural importance of Singapore’s unique hawker food centres when it added them to the list of Intangible Cultural Heritage.

Singapore is an extremely multicultural nation, and no where is that more obvious than at the city’s hawker markets. These large undercover centres house a range of small restaurants where chefs whip up a menu of diverse meals that showcase Malay, Nyonya, Indian and Chinese flavours. Many cooks specialise in just one or two dishes – over time, they’ve truly refined their craft.

Hawker culture dates back to the 1960s and although the centres have changed over time, becoming more regulated and organised, they’ve been a fixture of Singapore’s culinary landscape for generations.

Apart from being a great place to grab an affordable meal, hawker centres are ‘community dining rooms’ – spaces carved out of the city’s modern urban landscape where people from varied backgrounds come together to socialise. UNESCO recognises these markets as being critical to social cohesion.

Try it for yourself: Singapore’s hawker markets are the place to go for an immersive dining experience. They’re a window onto diverse Singaporean culture and offer an opportunity to try all the country’s specialty dishes under one roof (including famous chilli crab!). Here are the top five hawker centres to visit in Singapore.

LAU PA SAT:...

The former Telok Ayer Market (now known as Lau Pa Sat, meaning “old market”) at Raffles Quay was completed in 1894 to replace a market that had been demolished for the Telok Ayer Basin land reclamation. It was gazetted as a national monument on 28 June 1973 and converted into a food and entertainment complex in 1989.1

Description

Its trademark octagonal design was set as early as the 1820s when it was just a timber-and-attap fish market set at the water's edge. It was rebuilt on the reclaimed Telok Ayer Basin at the turn of the century, the new version recapturing the framework design in a Victorian style. It was the first market built by the Municipal Commission and one of the first structures in Asia made of prefabricated cast iron. The filigreed cast and wrought iron were imported from Glasgow, Scotland.2

As part of the renovations undertaken in the 1990s by Renaissance Properties of the Scotts Group, the market acquired new features such as chimes ringing out local tunes. The 23 bronze Dutch carillons were rung by a jacquemart, or a mechanical figurine. The 1.25-metre doll, dressed like a Chinese coolie, would simulate the ringing movements activating Chinese, Malay and Indian melodies to be played. At the centre of the market was a sunken fountain with tiled flooring that could serve as a stage for performances. The fountain was reminiscent of a cast-iron fountain that marked the centre of the 1890 market but was relocated in 1902. Rediscovered only in 1989, the fountain stands now in Raffles Hotel’s Palm Garden.

(04-03-2024, 06:16 PM)moonrab Wrote:  Singapore successfully joined into UNESCO Food Culture 30 countries list.
Under Hawker Food Center Culture. In which represented our history of local foods enjoyed by all Singaporean from all Races.

Nothing says Southeast Asia like a bustling food market. In 2020, UNESCO recognised the cultural importance of Singapore’s unique hawker food centres when it added them to the list of Intangible Cultural Heritage.

Singapore is an extremely multicultural nation, and no where is that more obvious than at the city’s hawker markets. These large undercover centres house a range of small restaurants where chefs whip up a menu of diverse meals that showcase Malay, Nyonya, Indian and Chinese flavours. Many cooks specialise in just one or two dishes – over time, they’ve truly refined their craft.

Hawker culture dates back to the 1960s and although the centres have changed over time, becoming more regulated and organised, they’ve been a fixture of Singapore’s culinary landscape for generations.

Apart from being a great place to grab an affordable meal, hawker centres are ‘community dining rooms’ – spaces carved out of the city’s modern urban landscape where people from varied backgrounds come together to socialise. UNESCO recognises these markets as being critical to social cohesion.

Try it for yourself: Singapore’s hawker markets are the place to go for an immersive dining experience. They’re a window onto diverse Singaporean culture and offer an opportunity to try all the country’s specialty dishes under one roof (including famous chilli crab!). Here are the top five hawker centres to visit in Singapore.

LAU PA SAT:...

The former Telok Ayer Market (now known as Lau Pa Sat, meaning “old market”) at Raffles Quay was completed in 1894 to replace a market that had been demolished for the Telok Ayer Basin land reclamation. It was gazetted as a national monument on 28 June 1973 and converted into a food and entertainment complex in 1989.1

Description

Its trademark octagonal design was set as early as the 1820s when it was just a timber-and-attap fish market set at the water's edge. It was rebuilt on the reclaimed Telok Ayer Basin at the turn of the century, the new version recapturing the framework design in a Victorian style. It was the first market built by the Municipal Commission and one of the first structures in Asia made of prefabricated cast iron. The filigreed cast and wrought iron were imported from Glasgow, Scotland.2

As part of the renovations undertaken in the 1990s by Renaissance Properties of the Scotts Group, the market acquired new features such as chimes ringing out local tunes. The 23 bronze Dutch carillons were rung by a jacquemart, or a mechanical figurine. The 1.25-metre doll, dressed like a Chinese coolie, would simulate the ringing movements activating Chinese, Malay and Indian melodies to be played. At the centre of the market was a sunken fountain with tiled flooring that could serve as a stage for performances. The fountain was reminiscent of a cast-iron fountain that marked the centre of the 1890 market but was relocated in 1902. Rediscovered only in 1989, the fountain stands now in Raffles Hotel’s Palm Garden.

Hawker culture and hawker heritage food are two quite different things.. don't conflate them

(04-03-2024, 06:26 PM)Oyk Wrote:  Hawker culture and hawker heritage food are two quite different things.. don't conflate them

https://wander-lush.org/food-culture-unesco/

Read..☝️