Scripture readings for Christmas

https://youtube.com/shorts/1yVYyIC-qcY?s...wEJ-MUEw4H

You know, the Bible talks about angels so much, with many passages referring to angels. Angels seem happy and joyful - never tired, never sad, and they're always doing things; they're always engaged in useful, industrious enterprises. And they're always praising God.

Here are some examples of what the Bible says about angels:

"For He shall give His angels charge over you, to keep you in all your ways. In their hands they shall bear you up, lest you dash your foot against a stone." (Psalm 91:11-12) 

"The Lord, before whom I walk, will send His angel with you and prosper your way." (Gen 24:40)

"Are (angels) not all ministering spirits sent forth to minister for those who will inherit salvation?" (Heb 1:14)

"Likewise, I say to you, there is joy in the presence of the angels of God over one sinner who repents." (Luke 15:10)

Luke 22:43; Rev 10:1; Rev 18:1; Mark 12:25; Rev 5:11; Rev 7:11
[+] 2 users Like S I M T A N's post

(06-04-2025, 01:43 PM)Ali Imran Wrote:  Yes, you have explained to me your stand on Sola Fide and I have explained to you why I reject it. In your defence of Sola Fide, you quoted Paul and in my rejection of the same, I quoted the prophets (including Jesus) and the disciple James. You have only Paul on your side while I have the prophets, including Jesus, sent by almighty God to guide mankind. I see you are now trying to pull Jesus to your side. That will be futile. Go ahead and try.

I asked you if you have to obey God's law and you did not give me a straightforward answer. To me, that is as good as saying no. I know why you cannot answer yes or no. The question puts you in yet another dilemma. If you say no to obedience, that means you're in a state of disobedience to the almighty God. If you say yes, that will put you in a difficult spot because of your faith in Sola Fide and your repudiation of the Law.

My opinions are NOT from my own desires. They are indeed biblical. My arguments are for obedience to God. You said you are now obeying God's law. Tell me more. To start, do you observe the dietary law?

Contrary to what you think, Bible-believing Christians are not on the horns of a dilemma about law and gospel. Obviously, you have trouble distinguishing the difference between the two of them in the context of the Christian faith. Here's a catechism to help gain a clearer understanding of the theological conundrum.

What is sin? : Sin is rejecting or ignoring God in the world He created, rebelling against Him by living without reference to Him, not doing what He requires in His law - resulting in our death and the disintegration of all creation. 1 John 3:4

What does the law of God require? : Personal, perfect, and perpetual obedience; that we love God with all our heart, soul, mind and strength; and love our neighbour as ourselves. What God forbids should never be done and what God commands should always be done. Matt 22:
37-40

Can anyone keep the law of God perfectly? : Since the Fall, no mere human has been able to keep the law of God perfectly, but consistently breaks it in thought, word, and deed. Rom 3:10-12

Did God create us unable to keep His law? : No, but because of the disobedience of our first parents Adam and Eve, all of creation is fallen; we're all born in sin and guilt, corrupt in our nature and unable to keep God's law. Rom 5:12

Since no one can keep the law, what's its purpose? : That we may know the holy nature and will of God, and the sinful nature and disobedience of our hearts; and thus our desperate need of a Savior. The law also teaches and exhorts us to live a life worthy of our Savior. Rom 3:20

Will God allow our disobedience and idolatry to go unpunished? : No, every sin is against the sovereignty, holiness, and goodness of God, and against His righteous law. And God is righteously angry with our sins and will punish them in His just judgement both in this life, and in the life to come. Eph 5:5-6

Is there any way to escape punishment and be brought back into God's favor? : Yes, to satisfy His justice, God Himself, out of mere mercy, reconciles us to Himself and delivers us from sin and from the punishment for sin, by a Redeemer. Isaiah 53:10-11

The differentiation is really quite easy to make out if you keep an open mind, and do not see things from the standpoint of your Islamic doctrine, which tends to blur the boundaries between the gospel and law. Men do not reject the Bible because it contradicts itself, but because it contradicts them.
[+] 1 user Likes S I M T A N's post

(05-04-2025, 12:15 PM)Ali Imran Wrote:  I quoted the verse. And this is eternal life, that they know you, the only true God, and Jesus Christ whom you have sent. - John 17:3

Is that a lie? 

Jesus was saying the Father is the only true God, but He didn't say only the Father is God. See the difference? The Son is also truly God. There are three persons in the one true and living God: the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit. They're the same in substance, equal in power and glory. "The grace of the Lord Jesus and the love of God and the fellowship of the Holy Spirit be with you all (2 Cor 13:14). Men do not reject the Bible because it contradicts itself, but because it contradicts them.

(08-04-2025, 01:04 AM)S I M T A N Wrote:  You know, the Bible talks about angels so much, with many passages referring to angels. Angels seem happy and joyful - never tired, never sad, and they're always doing things; they're always engaged in useful, industrious enterprises. And they're always praising God.

Here are some examples of what the Bible says about angels:

"For He shall give His angels charge over you, to keep you in all your ways. In their hands they shall bear you up, lest you dash your foot against a stone." (Psalm 91:11-12) 

"The Lord, before whom I walk, will send His angel with you and prosper your way." (Gen 24:40)

"Are (angels) not all ministering spirits sent forth to minister for those who will inherit salvation?" (Heb 1:14)

"Likewise, I say to you, there is joy in the presence of the angels of God over one sinner who repents." (Luke 15:10)

Luke 22:43; Rev 10:1; Rev 18:1; Mark 12:25; Rev 5:11; Rev 7:11

Well written about angels lah, bro! Big Grin There are 'guarding angels' too as the Bible says that some have entertained angels without realising it lah!

(08-04-2025, 01:28 AM)S I M T A N Wrote:  Jesus was saying the Father is the only true God, but He didn't say only the Father is God. See the difference? The Son is also truly God. There are three persons in the one true and living God: the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit. They're the same in substance, equal in power and glory. "The grace of the Lord Jesus and the love of God and the fellowship of the Holy Spirit be with you all (2 Cor 13:14). Men do not reject the Bible because it contradicts itself, but because it contradicts them.

You are redefining the meaning of the word "only".

You're a Christian, and there are two or three other Christians here. Would it be right for me to say, "SimTan is the only Christian here"? The answer would be no. It would be wrong for me to say that.

Now, let's apply that to John 17:3. If the Father is NOT the only true God, would it be wrong for Jesus to say the Father is the ONLY true God?

(08-04-2025, 01:22 AM)S I M T A N Wrote:  Contrary to what you think, Bible-believing Christians are not on the horns of a dilemma about law and gospel. Obviously, you have trouble distinguishing the difference between the two of them in the context of the Christian faith. Here's a catechism to help gain a clearer understanding of the theological conundrum.

What is sin? : Sin is rejecting or ignoring God in the world He created, rebelling against Him by living without reference to Him, not doing what He requires in His law - resulting in our death and the disintegration of all creation. 1 John 3:4

What does the law of God require? : Personal, perfect, and perpetual obedience; that we love God with all our heart, soul, mind and strength; and love our neighbour as ourselves. What God forbids should never be done and what God commands should always be done. Matt 22:
37-40

Can anyone keep the law of God perfectly? : Since the Fall, no mere human has been able to keep the law of God perfectly, but consistently breaks it in thought, word, and deed. Rom 3:10-12

Did God create us unable to keep His law? : No, but because of the disobedience of our first parents Adam and Eve, all of creation is fallen; we're all born in sin and guilt, corrupt in our nature and unable to keep God's law. Rom 5:12

Since no one can keep the law, what's its purpose? : That we may know the holy nature and will of God, and the sinful nature and disobedience of our hearts; and thus our desperate need of a Savior. The law also teaches and exhorts us to live a life worthy of our Savior. Rom 3:20

Will God allow our disobedience and idolatry to go unpunished? : No, every sin is against the sovereignty, holiness, and goodness of God, and against His righteous law. And God is righteously angry with our sins and will punish them in His just judgement both in this life, and in the life to come. Eph 5:5-6

Is there any way to escape punishment and be brought back into God's favor? : Yes, to satisfy His justice, God Himself, out of mere mercy, reconciles us to Himself and delivers us from sin and from the punishment for sin, by a Redeemer. Isaiah 53:10-11

The differentiation is really quite easy to make out if you keep an open mind, and do not see things from the standpoint of your Islamic doctrine, which tends to blur the boundaries between the gospel and law. Men do not reject the Bible because it contradicts itself, but because it contradicts them.

The question is; do you have to be obedient to God's law? You're saying yes and no. Why do you complicate a simple matter? Yes, it is a simple matter and for us, we are not confused about this issue. Every Friday, we are reminded to be obedient to God by doing what God commands and refraining from what God forbids. But for you, everything is in the grey area. That is why you are saying yes and no at the same time when I posed that question to you.

(08-04-2025, 01:22 AM)S I M T A N Wrote:  And God is righteously angry with our sins and will punish them in His just judgement both in this life, and in the life to come.

Please clarify. Angry with the sin or the sinner? Punish the sin or the sinner?

What is the purpose of praying five times a day and being obedient to the rules if there is no evidence or testimonials of His existence? It seems irrational and illogical....
[+] 3 users Like pinkpanther's post

[Image: img-1-1744115168418.jpg]

[Image: images.jpg]

Can you negotiate with God?

Romans 11:29 says: “For the gifts and calling of God are without repentance.”

God doesn't change His mind just because we don't feel like fulfilling His plan for our life. We are His workmanship created for an express purpose. God's will for our life is not open to negotiation

Here is the contradiction!

Muhammad initially received a commandment to pray 50 times a day during his journey to the heavens, but through negotiations with God, the number was reduced to five, with the understanding that these five prayers would be equivalent to 50.

What could motivate an all-knowing God to engage in negotiation and ultimately yield to the authority of His creation? Does it make any sense? It is not logical at all ..

(08-04-2025, 07:33 AM)Ali Imran Wrote:  You are redefining the meaning of the word "only".

You're a Christian, and there are two or three other Christians here. Would it be right for me to say, "SimTan is the only Christian here"? The answer would be no. It would be wrong for me to say that.

Now, let's apply that to John 17:3. If the Father is NOT the only true God, would it be wrong for Jesus to say the Father is the ONLY true God?

When you do a headcount of the number of active Christian debaters here, there are of course 3 distinct individuals and not one persona in yours truly. But that's too simplistic an interpretation of the God of the Scripture. When you consider that man's spirit, soul, and body constitute the complete human personality - which correspond to the three components of the Trinity - you get the gist of it.

Despite believers having provided you with more than enough information on the Holy Trinity, you have decidedly rejected it, understandably so because Allah isn't triune. To say that God has a Son, as the Bible does, is an unforgiveable sin known as shirk to Muslims.

You admitted to not being able to grasp the doctrine of the Holy Trinity. The Scripture has an explanation for it. "Thinking ourselves to be wise, we become fools (1 Cor 1:18-27; 3:18; Rom 1:22). This is typical of what Scripture calls "the natural person," also known as the dead one (1 Cor 2:14; Eph 2:15; 4:8). "The natural person does not accept the things of the Spirit of God, for they are folly to him, and he is not able to understand them because they're spiritually discerned" (1 Cor 2:14).

It's not because of ignorance that people will not ask God's forgiveness, but blindness. As the heart is, the mind is too, both darkened and incapable of functioning correctly or behaving righteously (Rom 1:21). The complete deadness of the heart and mind is what makes obedience to God's moral law impossible. God's hatred of sin didn't keep Him from loving us, but He chose on His own accord to rescue us from the wrath to come.
[+] 3 users Like S I M T A N's post

https://youtube.com/shorts/X3n0hgmBWiw?s...O1vOsp7Byo

God hates sin but offers salvation to sinners who repent 
The will of God is all to be saved 
My people is destroyed because of lack of knowledge

[+] 3 users Like Lukongsimi's post

(09-04-2025, 11:13 AM)Lukongsimi Wrote:  God hates sin but offers salvation to sinners who repent 

Yes lah...Salvation is a gift from God, not something earned through good works, but received through faith in Jesus Christ lah
[+] 2 users Like pinkpanther's post

(09-04-2025, 11:32 AM)pinkpanther Wrote:  Yes lah...Salvation is a gift from God, not something earned through good works, but received through faith in Jesus Christ lah
If works can save sinners then Jesus needless to born as man to save the world

[+] 2 users Like Lukongsimi's post

https://youtube.com/shorts/urpuVrimPRw?s...OQxb9SEIZU
Wow! Amazing

(09-04-2025, 11:13 AM)Lukongsimi Wrote:  God hates sin but offers salvation to sinners who repent 

(09-04-2025, 11:32 AM)pinkpanther Wrote:  Yes lah...Salvation is a gift from God, not something earned through good works, but received through faith in Jesus Christ lah

God wants to save sinners but He cannot tolerate sins lah! Big Grin He will not let the sinners go unpunished lah!

(09-04-2025, 12:53 PM)cheekopekman Wrote:  God wants to save sinners but He cannot tolerate sins lah! Big Grin He will not let the sinners go unpunished lah!

What happens after God punishes your sins leh? Big Grin

(09-04-2025, 06:14 PM)pinkpanther Wrote:  What happens after God punishes your sins leh? Big Grin

God had already punished me for my sins and I had already learnt my lessons painfully lah! Big Grin If you have committed any sin now confessed it to the Lord and seek His forgiveness lah! He is "faithful and just to forgive us of our sins and cleanse us from all unrighteousness" (1John1:9) lah!
[+] 2 users Like cheekopekman's post

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gTpeIsr3ED4

(09-04-2025, 07:24 PM)cheekopekman Wrote:  God had already punished me for my sins and I had already learnt my lessons painfully lah! Big Grin If you have committed any sin now confessed it to the Lord and seek His forgiveness lah! He is "faithful and just to forgive us of our sins and cleanse us from all unrighteousness" (1John1:9) lah!

What if Islam is true? Big Grin

(09-04-2025, 07:44 PM)pinkpanther Wrote:  What if Islam is true? Big Grin

Then Christianity is false lah! Big Grin What if Christianity is true leh? Thinking

Is this your prophet?

https://vt.tiktok.com/ZSrPpSha5/

(09-04-2025, 07:50 PM)cheekopekman Wrote:  Then Christianity is false lah! Big Grin What if Christianity is true leh? Thinking

Then Islam is false lah Big Grin 

If Islam is indeed true, the consequences for converting Moslems to Christianity are very severe. Big Grin

You and me will be cooked lah... Big Grin There will be no returning

But don’t worry, we have faith in our Lord, and He has shown us the truth...

(09-04-2025, 12:01 PM)Lukongsimi Wrote:  If works can save sinners then Jesus needless to born as man to save the world

Yes lah...No amount of good deeds can atone for the sins within us.

(09-04-2025, 08:21 PM)pinkpanther Wrote:  Then Islam is false lah Big Grin 

If Islam is indeed true, the consequences for converting Moslems to Christianity are very severe. Big Grin

You and me will be cooked lah... Big Grin There will be no returning

But don’t worry, we have faith in our Lord, and He has shown us the truth...

You mean you have no faith in Lord Jesus Christ meh? Thinking

(09-04-2025, 08:32 PM)cheekopekman Wrote:  You mean you have no faith in Lord Jesus Christ meh? Thinking

Why no faith when I am part of His evidence leh... Big Grin
How do you know that the Lord knows that you are faithful leh Thinking

(09-04-2025, 08:43 PM)pinkpanther Wrote:  Why no faith when I am part of His evidence leh... Big Grin
How do you know that the Lord knows that you are faithful leh Thinking

Just be faithful and you will know lah! Big Grin He will tell you "Well done, good and faithful servant" lah!